We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Man's Country Club”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cacapon Resort State Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2009

If you have simple needs and enjoy the outdoors (e.g. hiking, birding, etc.) and relaxing on your porch in the forest with cool summer breeze, CRSP is the perfect place for you. We were pleasantly surprised, however, at the number of amenities at CRSP but were not so pleasantly surprised at our unsavory experience in one of the "standard cabins". Given the amenities and nearby towns, this is an excellent location for families with younger children (ages 5-12). We're definitely going back to this timeless spot.

We hiked a killer (as in it-nearly-killed-us) trail, for which the trail head was 200 feet from our cabin door. Beautiful forest, flowering mountain laurel, small rock outcroppings, and pretty good views. Speaking of views, don't miss the viewpoint (4 mile drive from the lodge area) via a well-kept gravel road. The small Nature Center puts on many kid and adult friendly activities and hikes. Just don't go to the Center expecting it to be open during one of these activities. Since we kept to the great outdoors given the beautiful weather, we didn't get to enjoy the game room's pool table, air hockey table, room-sized shuffle board, and numerous arcade games, though it did look compelling for a rainy afternoon. Nor did we have time to use the really nice looking basketball, volleyball, shuttle cock, and tennis courts or small playground. We did visit the "beach" (free for guests) and snack bar. The sandy area and pond were large enough to accommodate one hundred or so sunbathers and swimming kids and paddle boats (which could be rented).

Nothing here is fancy. Despite all the activities, it didn't feel busy or touristy. Actually, it was very similar to the summer camps I attended as a kid: close to nature, rustic, and loads of outdoorsy things to do. BUT...the standard cabins are a bit too close to nature: ants, cockroaches, spiders, and mice abound INSIDE the cabin. I'm o.k. with all of that EXCEPT the mice feces. Pretty gross, especially with a baby who wanted to crawl on the floor. The CRSP personnel seemed reluctant to remove the couch that clearly served as the mouse house. On a positive note, it was very cool to stay in a 1930s log cabin in the woods, with a large fireplace, free wood, nice linens, comfortable beds, outdoor grill and picnic table, and a well-stocked kitchen. Next time, though, we're considering one of the modern cabins, despite the fact that they aren't as remote, to avoid the mice.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Timotheos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
There are newer reviews for Cacapon Resort State Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 169 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2009

I have been going there ever since i was born. every christmas we go there for the past 26 years. It is a lovely place to see wildlife and walk and hike. the lodge food is really good, and the game room is a delight for kids. i would recomend it for any one wanting to stay in berkely springs wv, very good on prices and the service is wonderful very nice peolpe.

the best vacation spot!!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank capmandoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2008

Cacapon Park is beautiful. Great hiking trails - gorgeous views of the mountains.
Rooms are very small and "rustic" (a bit musty I'd say). Price is good though.
Food was terrible. We had lunch at the restaurant. Ordered a turkey hoagie for 7.50 and got a hot dog roll with a few slices of turkey and melted cheese. My husband ate it in two bites. We'll never eat there again (drive a few miles down the road to Berkeley Springs and have lunch at Tari's -- MUCH better).
So, we'll visit again for the nature. But, really, it's time to upgrade the accomodations and the food.

Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
6  Thank birdwatcherplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2008

Had a great time meeting family. We had 2 connecting rooms. Rooms are small- not much wiggle room with a twin and queen. On site restaurant served an unappealing dinner buffet. Pond swimming was fun and the surroundings were scenic. Kids enjoyed the game room that was not well maintained. (Lights were dim and some games were not working). Indoor shuffle board was used while others were napping/getting ready.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MHN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2008

The park and its amenities were lovely this Memorial Day weekend; the cabin we stayed in (Cabin 1) was not so lovely.

Safety issues:
(1) in our cabin and throughout the park, hot water was set at a scaldingly hot level. The water heater in the cabin was right next to the kitchen sink and the bathroom was on the other side of the wall, which meant the hot water came on instantly -- no warm-up time, which is usually a good thing, but not if the water is 150 degrees. Wed called it the "insta-scald" feature."
(2) the lifeguards at the lake beach think it's acceptable to listen to their MP3 players while on duty. I don't.

Cabin issues:
(1) advertised as 2 bedrooms, but one bedroom didn't have a door, it had an archway to the living room.
(2) back 2 burners on the stove did not work. I can't cook for six with only 2 burners!
(3) door knob on one of the exterior doors did not work properly, and we almost managed to get ourselves locked out
(4) kitchen is supposed to be "fully equipped," but that doesn't include measuring cups, measuring spoons, a big bowl for salads or making batter. What there was, there wasn't enough of -- six forks, six spoons, etc. for six people just doesn't cut it. There weren't really enough glasses either, and the pots and pans were of pretty low quality.
(5) No sofa in the living area -- just an eating table and some hard wooden chairs around it. That was it. I can't really enjoy the nice fireplace if I'm sitting on a hard wooden chair.
At least the beds were comfortable!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
8  Thank Dibble_Dabble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2008

We stayed at the State Park as a weekend away. We got there at night and the roads leading up to the lodge aren't exactly lighted, but the lodge was very nice. They still had Christmas lights up and made the lodge that much more nicer.

When we walked in, there was a cheery old man who checked us in. It was almost out of a story book. The inside of the lodge was charming. They had wood fireplace going and plenty of tables and games set up for their guests.

We booked a golf side room with a queen size bed. The room itself was a little on the old side and small, but again it had its on charm to it. We actually liked it, make it feel homely. And it was clean! The only down side of the room had to be the lack of insulation between the rooms. We could hear our neighbors quite easily, but got lucky when they also went to bed early.

I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a nice, quiet weekend away in the wilderness.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Amita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2007

We stayed at a log cabin near the State Park (two floor cabin all to ourselves). It is listed under B&Bs for the area. I just want to say that the photo for the "lake" as they call it for this park is misleading. They make it look huge and talk about fishing and how it's stocked with fish in the summer. We went there and fished on this little tiny what I would call pond instead of lake and didn't pull up anything but seaweed. We only saw super tiny fish swimming near the shallow ends. And you pay a lot to fish for this seaweed that all grows on the bottom of the lake. Or lake algae or whatvever. Don't go there expecting to enjoy catching fish like we did. If you like to row or paddle around a lake with your kids (and a small lake) than it's the perfect spot, but don't think by the picture they show it's some huge lake with lots of fish. It is not.

Stayed: July 2007
8  Thank ckooij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkeley Springs
9.6 mi away
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs
The Country Inn of Berkeley Spri...
#2 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
187 reviews
8.0 mi away
Best Western Berkeley Springs Inn
Best Western Berkeley Springs In...
#1 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
398 reviews
21.7 mi away
Quality Inn Spring Mills - Martinsburg North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Cumberland
23.6 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
19.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Aikens Center
Comfort Inn Aikens Center
#3 of 14 in Martinsburg
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cacapon Resort State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cacapon Resort State Park

Address: 818 Cacapon Lodge Dr, Berkeley Springs, WV 25411-3300
Location: United States > West Virginia > Berkeley Springs
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Berkeley Springs
Price Range: $81 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cacapon Resort State Park 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cacapon Resort is a mountain lodge located in Cacapon State Park, named after its close proximity to Cacapon Mountain, the highest peak in the eastern panhandle of West Virginia. The four-season lodge provides easy access to outdoor recreation including hiking, beach swimming, fishing and the Robert Trent Jones, Sr. golf course. The lodge provides guests with a relaxing setting among scenic West Virginia landscape. The onsite guest lounge comes equipped with a TV, board games and fireplace, creating a cozy area for all seasons of the year. Cabins, cottages and bungalows rentals are also available. Cacapon Resort State Park Lodge is a nonsmoking facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cacapon Resort State Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cacapon Resort State Park Hotel Berkeley Springs
Cacapon Hotel Berkeley Springs
Cacapon Hotel State Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing