We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get away from it all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cacapon Resort State Park
Certificate of Excellence
University Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
336 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Get away from it all”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This is a wonderful place, the cabin that they upgraded us to was perfect. You can hike, eat out, eat in, chill, go out, you name it this is the place. Close enough to the DC area that it should be more crowded during the week but grateful it isn't. I can 't wait to return. If there is a bad review it must be from people who are not used to being outside in nature. My friend and I had a wonderful time and I personally wish there were more insects.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esopus35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    76
    30
    9
    4
See reviews for
60
50
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Family has been going to Cacapon for sixty years. We take a number of cabins for a week, and do very little productive (unless naps, reading, drinking, golfing, siting by the lake, talking, and eating are productive).

The cabins aren't luxury by any means, but they're air conditioned and the bathrooms have been updated (I remember the old concrete showers). There are no dishwashers, and in the newest cabins, the ADA height sink can make the dishwasher's back hurt.


The golf course is top notch, and I always seem to up my game. A not to walkers though, as the course sits at the feet of Cacapon Mountain, it's quite hilly.

I haven't stayed in a lodge room, but my brother and 8-month pregnant sister-in-law did. Their only complaint was that the slope of the ceiling made one side of the bed tight.

All in all, Cacapon is perfect for what we use it for, an opportunity to get away (although cell service now extends into the park) and enjoy some down time.

Helpful?
1 Thank wallyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed 3 mostly quiet days in the woods. The cabin was quite rustic,pretty clean but yes there were some bugs and mice etc. lets try to remember where you are....in the woods. There were deer everywhere, squirrels, chipmunks, frogs...the whole spectrum of wildlife. We hadn't counted on one of our neighboring cabins bringing microphones, amps, electric guitars and Karaoke equipment for a late night party. Most likely a family reunion. If you are planning a big party, you should invite the neighbors....right? The bungalows can sleep up to 6 .....but max should be two adults with small children. With only two of us we were bumping into each other.....and watch your head getting out of the bunk beds. I now have a soft spot.
The park is a treasure with golf, hiking trails, swimming area and friendly staff. Go and enjoy. If you have a problem with bugs...stay at the lodge.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Larry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level Contributor
195 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed over 4th of July. This is a well-run, extremely clean, and extremely well maintained property. We stayed in the lodge. The room was comfortable with nice beds and bedding. This is a mid-century modern style architecture building, so the rooms are smaller than most chains and so are the bathrooms, but well-maintained. The only small issue is waiting for hot water.

The dining is very well done American cuisine with no frill, just hearty substance. They cook the way you do at home plus a deep fryer. The choices are varied enough that there is something for everyone, even a vegetarian. The prices are fair.

The golf course is immaculate. The fees very low, about $35 on a weekend for 18 holes.

We did not avail ourselves of all the activities, such as horseback riding, clay pigeon shooting, or the beach at the pond, other guest were happy enough.

It is a. Budget friendly, family friendly place with very nice staff.

Room Tip: A golf course view near the water heater.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stargatebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
162 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We went to Cacapon State Park as part of our trip to West Virginia this past June. We were given cabin 26 which was supposed to sleep four. First off, the car we were renting was more spacious. Upon entering, the kitchen was on the right and bunk beds were on the left. So much for sitting up in bed! To get to the upper beds which were in a loft, you had to climb on the kitchen table to get to the stairs to climb up. The beds up there were small...like a doll house. The room was dark and musty. We asked if we could upgrade out of the bungalow to something bigger and they gave us another cabin. We arrived to the new room at 11 pm and were greeted by more insects than I could imagine being in a structure. There were stink bugs all over the place including on the beds, in the bathroom, and on the curtains. There were cockroaches, spiders, and other bugs I couldn't identify. We spent 1.5 hours killing bugs so that we could sleep and called the front desk to let them know what we were experiencing. They had room in the lodge for the next night so we had to sleep in the cabin. In the morning, there were larve on the floor that weren't there the night before. The lodge was nice. Wouldn't stay in a cabin ever again, but would stay in the lodge.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Wxgirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

My family spent 2 nights here over the Easter weekend. We stayed in the lodge and got 2 rooms. The lodge itself is very nice with rocking chairs overlooking the golf course, recreation room, a social area with a huge TV and several board games on the table. The rooms are small but clean. However, there was a dated smell in our rooms. The staff were just ok. They were professional enough but not friendly and accommodating. I hardly see anyone smile.

The State Park outside was great. They had the Easter egg hunt while we were there and my niece enjoyed it. We hiked one of the trails using the trail guide. For those who like nature, this is a great place to unwind. The price is very reasonable and it's a great value.

The only thing we did not like here was the restaurant. Their food was ok. When we had our buffet breakfast in our first morning, we came later and the pancake had already gotten stale and tough at that time. We asked for new, freshly cooked ones but the manager and cook refused at first. The servers were great about it and suggested that we order off the menu. One of us did and was brought fresh pancakes. We shared that person's pancake. We just can't understand why they cannot put some fresh pancakes in the buffet table and we told the manager that. However, he just brushed us off. On Easter Sunday, we all went to get the Easter Sunday brunch buffet and when the manager saw us, he started to have an attitude with us. My husband thinks it's because we complained about the pancakes the day before. The manager has a very poor customer service attitude. He is very selective though because it seems like he was nice with others. We were even wondering that he did not like the idea that a majority of the people in our group are minorities. We hate to think that but it seems like it was that way.

As much as we like the rest of our experience at Cacapon, I would stay away from the restaurant because of the manager. Again, the servers were great, efficient and friendly but the management needs to be taught a thing or to about customer service and proper management. That being said, there are restaurants in town that have good food and great customer service. Go there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank littleflower1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, SC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We pulled into the Lodge at the State Park after a day of traveling in the rain. The warm welcome by the staff, the friendly chatter and their wish to please us made our check in (without reservations) very smooth. We went into the great room and truly appreciated the fireplace that was in use! Our room (20) was on the second floor, overlooked the golf course, was perfect for these travel weary people. Unfortunately for us, our cell phone did not work at the Lodge but the in room phone charges for long distance were reasonable. While the accommodations are not cutting edge, they are exactly what you would expect from a well kept state park lodge. The flat screen TV and the in room wifi are nice to haves, although the wifi can use a bit of a boost. By the way, we had tons of HOT water!

We wandered down to dinner on site and had a decent choice of wines and meals. My crab cake was the best I'd had in ages, I thought I was on the Atlantic coastline!

Will be back as soon as possible and will definitely be back after the scheduled updates.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkeley Springs
9.6 mi away
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs
The Country Inn of Berkeley Spri...
#1 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
8.0 mi away
Best Western Berkeley Springs Inn
Best Western Berkeley Springs In...
#2 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
18.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Martinsburg
Hampton Inn Martinsburg
#1 of 14 in Martinsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#2 of 2 in Hancock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
17.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Martinsburg
Holiday Inn Martinsburg
#5 of 14 in Martinsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
22.0 mi away
Motel 6 Martinsburg
Motel 6 Martinsburg
#4 of 14 in Martinsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cacapon Resort State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cacapon Resort State Park

Property: Cacapon Resort State Park
Address: 818 Cacapon Lodge Dr, Berkeley Springs, WV 25411-3300
Location: United States > West Virginia > Berkeley Springs
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Berkeley Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cacapon Resort State Park 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cacapon Resort is a mountain lodge located in Cacapon State Park, named after its close proximity to Cacapon Mountain, the highest peak in the eastern panhandle of West Virginia. The four-season lodge provides easy access to outdoor recreation including hiking, beach swimming, fishing and the Robert Trent Jones, Sr. golf course. The lodge provides guests with a relaxing setting among scenic West Virginia landscape. The onsite guest lounge comes equipped with a TV, board games and fireplace, creating a cozy area for all seasons of the year. Cabins, cottages and bungalows rentals are also available. Cacapon Resort State Park Lodge is a nonsmoking facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cacapon Resort State Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cacapon Resort State Park Hotel Berkeley Springs
Cacapon Hotel Berkeley Springs
Cacapon Hotel State Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing