We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to Unwind”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cacapon Resort State Park
Certificate of Excellence
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice Place to Unwind”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

My family spent 2 nights here over the Easter weekend. We stayed in the lodge and got 2 rooms. The lodge itself is very nice with rocking chairs overlooking the golf course, recreation room, a social area with a huge TV and several board games on the table. The rooms are small but clean. However, there was a dated smell in our rooms. The staff were just ok. They were professional enough but not friendly and accommodating. I hardly see anyone smile.

The State Park outside was great. They had the Easter egg hunt while we were there and my niece enjoyed it. We hiked one of the trails using the trail guide. For those who like nature, this is a great place to unwind. The price is very reasonable and it's a great value.

The only thing we did not like here was the restaurant. Their food was ok. When we had our buffet breakfast in our first morning, we came later and the pancake had already gotten stale and tough at that time. We asked for new, freshly cooked ones but the manager and cook refused at first. The servers were great about it and suggested that we order off the menu. One of us did and was brought fresh pancakes. We shared that person's pancake. We just can't understand why they cannot put some fresh pancakes in the buffet table and we told the manager that. However, he just brushed us off. On Easter Sunday, we all went to get the Easter Sunday brunch buffet and when the manager saw us, he started to have an attitude with us. My husband thinks it's because we complained about the pancakes the day before. The manager has a very poor customer service attitude. He is very selective though because it seems like he was nice with others. We were even wondering that he did not like the idea that a majority of the people in our group are minorities. We hate to think that but it seems like it was that way.

As much as we like the rest of our experience at Cacapon, I would stay away from the restaurant because of the manager. Again, the servers were great, efficient and friendly but the management needs to be taught a thing or to about customer service and proper management. That being said, there are restaurants in town that have good food and great customer service. Go there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank littleflower1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    76
    30
    9
    4
See reviews for
61
50
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, SC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We pulled into the Lodge at the State Park after a day of traveling in the rain. The warm welcome by the staff, the friendly chatter and their wish to please us made our check in (without reservations) very smooth. We went into the great room and truly appreciated the fireplace that was in use! Our room (20) was on the second floor, overlooked the golf course, was perfect for these travel weary people. Unfortunately for us, our cell phone did not work at the Lodge but the in room phone charges for long distance were reasonable. While the accommodations are not cutting edge, they are exactly what you would expect from a well kept state park lodge. The flat screen TV and the in room wifi are nice to haves, although the wifi can use a bit of a boost. By the way, we had tons of HOT water!

We wandered down to dinner on site and had a decent choice of wines and meals. My crab cake was the best I'd had in ages, I thought I was on the Atlantic coastline!

Will be back as soon as possible and will definitely be back after the scheduled updates.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Fresh mountain air, good country food, well-marked hiking trails... the Cacapon Mountain lodge has lots to offer. Rocking chairs overlooking the golf course, a rec room with video games, foosball, air hockey and pool, a library, a fireplace reading room.... Something for everyone. The rooms in the lodge are a bit dated, but it's like stepping back in time and enjoying a simpler time. They have cabins as well but must book far in advance.

Room Tip: Choose from Mountain View or Golf Course view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed in the lodge. This is a state park venue - so don't expect the Ritz - but the staff was terrific. Very friendly and responsive, open to suggesting places to eat etc. Rooms were tight but clean. The hot water issue is for real - ask for a room nearest the hot water heater, and you'll be fine. The rooms at the end of the bldg are farther away and you can wait fifteen minutes or opt for a cold shower. The restaurant is a tough sell, even for a state run facility. There are places in town with excellent food. Golf was outstanding, hiking trails lovely, mountains lovely, fishing was great in the swimming lake down the road. Low key operation with well-maintained grounds. People couldn't have been nicer. Storm knocked out the internet in the whole valley, which allowed us to relax and enjoy the scenery. Kick back, slow down, and you'll have a nice time here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I traveled in mid week in April. There were very few cars in the parking lot and few people in the hotel. I was surprised that I was given a room with a view of a roof (with the mountains behind it). I had asked for mountain view and to be fair you could see the mountain.
Room 7 had a queen and single bed. It was very small with only a few feet around the beds. The queen was pushed under a roof over hang so that you could not get out on that side of the bed without crawling to the bottom of the bed.
The hotel is older but well maintained and very clean.
The web site said that horse back riding was available during the week by arrangement and for some reason they pointed out where the stables were when I checked in. When I asked about making arrangements they told riding was only available on weekends. There was no information about the hotel in the room or provided.
I was told the restaurant was open from 8-10 for breakfast and 5-8 for dinner. It was open on Thursday for lunch as well. I ordered crab cake dinner for $20. The crab cakes were good and well cooked - crispy on the outside and moist on inside. The Spanish rice was gooy. There were no onion or bell peppers in the rice. The corn and beans mix was covered with some kind of oil - I couldn't decide if it was butter or not.
It is a beautiful setting a lot of creeks, falls and lakes. There are a number of hiking trails, fishing, and golfing. There is a lovely back porch complete with rocking chairs running along the back of the lodge.

Room Tip: avoid rooms 7,5,3
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floppsie256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

we stayed here for Easter weekend as a stopping place to take our son back to WVU. Small, quiet but clean rooms. The resort is geared for outdoor activities- lots to do when it's not raining! the clay pigeon shooting range was open and the teenagers loved it. The ranger was fantastic with the kids and made it alot of fun. The restaurant was not open all the time and local restaurants in Berkely Springs were a bit far away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We enjoyed our one night stay at the lodge. Though the rooms aren't fancy, I was expecting old, banged up furniture and was pleased to find decent amenities. There is a very nice flat screen tv and everything is spotlessly clean. Only down sides are the slightly ugly bed spreads and the long wait for hot water. The breakfast buffet was decent and it was great to be able to go for a hike immediately after breakfast. We wish the reception desk folks would have known a bit more about the trails, but at least there was a map. Overall nice stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkeley Springs
9.6 mi away
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs
The Country Inn of Berkeley Spri...
#1 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
176 reviews
8.0 mi away
Best Western Berkeley Springs Inn
Best Western Berkeley Springs In...
#2 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
360 reviews
21.7 mi away
Quality Inn Spring Mills - Martinsburg North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#2 of 2 in Hancock
85 reviews
18.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Martinsburg
Hampton Inn Martinsburg
#1 of 14 in Martinsburg
424 reviews
17.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Martinsburg
Holiday Inn Martinsburg
#5 of 14 in Martinsburg
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cacapon Resort State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cacapon Resort State Park

Property: Cacapon Resort State Park
Address: 818 Cacapon Lodge Dr, Berkeley Springs, WV 25411-3300
Location: United States > West Virginia > Berkeley Springs
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Berkeley Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cacapon Resort State Park 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cacapon Resort is a mountain lodge located in Cacapon State Park, named after its close proximity to Cacapon Mountain, the highest peak in the eastern panhandle of West Virginia. The four-season lodge provides easy access to outdoor recreation including hiking, beach swimming, fishing and the Robert Trent Jones, Sr. golf course. The lodge provides guests with a relaxing setting among scenic West Virginia landscape. The onsite guest lounge comes equipped with a TV, board games and fireplace, creating a cozy area for all seasons of the year. Cabins, cottages and bungalows rentals are also available. Cacapon Resort State Park Lodge is a nonsmoking facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Cacapon Resort State Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cacapon Resort State Park Hotel Berkeley Springs
Cacapon Hotel Berkeley Springs
Cacapon Hotel State Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing