We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Old Lodge in the Woods”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cacapon Resort State Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We had a wonderful time. The natural setting is gorgeous! The lodge is old, so the rooms are small. That said, the price was very reasonable and the rooms comfortable. The hearth room, game room and porch with rocking chairs were a big hit for my family. There is a lake with beach for swimming and TONS of activities. There are several good hiking trails with varying levels of challenge. The activity guides were EXCEPTIONAL. We shot sporting clays and rode horses. Both activities were fun and the guides really seemed to care about their activity and making sure the guests have a great time. We really appreciated our visit and believe we have found a great vacation place for future as well.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the golf course have a fabulous view of "Piney Ridge" and passing wild life.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lkpdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 171 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed in the lodge 1 night. Hoping for a cozy, woodsy experience, we were a little disappointed with the lodge. It is very basic and outdated in appearance. White walls, dated paneling, what little decor there is is leftover from the 80's. The back porch is nice to enjoy, lots of rocking chairs. Get a room with a view of the golf course, the "mountain view" is basically parking lot. We went to the beach which was fine, pretty small. You can rent paddle boats, kayaks but the "lake" is tiny. We were planning on hiking but it rained so I can't speak to the quality of the trails. I was glad we stayed here rather than your standard hotel off the highway, but it wasn't quite the experience I was hoping for.

Room Tip: Get a golf course view, mountain view is mostly parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

The lodge is old and outdated. Rooms are small and poorly cooled. The A/C units are all located in the room entry on the ceiling and do NOT provide sufficient cooling for the room. Beds are very small, even in the "suites". The golf course is very well maintained and is located right beside the lodge. The food in the dining room is outstanding! If you are looking for a nice room, you will be dissapointed. However, if you want to spend all your time there on the golf course, then you will be happy. Also, the Internet NEVER worked and the front desk didn't do anything about it. We were there (for 4 days) for my sons wedding. The wedding was fantastic. The lodging was undesirable.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dafacct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed here along with my parents for 2 nights. When we checked in the staff was very helpful in moving our room so that we would be next to my parents. The rooms are clearly older but they were well maintained and clean. For $90 they are what you would expect.

We had planned on staying in the park to do some hiking but unfortunately it rained a lot the whole weekend. We did get to look at the lake and drive around the park, which was nice. There are also horseback riding stables, but they were not open when we were there. We spent some time going to all of the shops in Berkley Springs, which was right down the road.

Both nights that we were there we really enjoyed the game room in the lower level. There was shuffle board and ping pong for free as well as air hockey and arcade games that you could pay to play. We had a blast in the game room. There is also a common room on the lobby level with sofas, books, puzzles, board games, and a computer with internet. We took advantage of this room a lot as well, due to the weather.

The dining room was fine. We ate breakfast their once and dinner once. The food was fine; nothing special. I felt that the prices were a little high for the quality of food.

We had booked a stay here because we have a giftcard to for WV state parks. When we arrived we realized that we had left our giftcard at home. The desk manager was very nice and agreed to let us check out with $100 outstanding on our bill. He said to just call when we got home and give him the gift card number! My parents had somehow forgotten their giftcard as well and he allowed them to do the same thing. The understanding and desire to work with us was much appreciated and often rare these days.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michie2783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We spent only a one night at Cacapon Resort State Park, initially we changed our plans from 2 nights in a rustic cabin there to one night in a main lodge. Reservation agent on the phone was nice to talk to, changed our reservation in a short notice without any fees.
We had a room with 2 beds, room was very small, with a small TV, small bathroom , had a small table and a set of chairs. It was a second room floor room with a view of the mountains. We have a 2 years old son, so it was no space for him to play in a room. I took him to a big lodge room at the first floor, where people could read, browse internet or do puzzles. My son is too small for all those puzzles, but it was a nice touch to have that room. Room had a free coffee and hot water for tea. Lodge has a game room downstairs, with old fashion arcade games and table tennis/billiard.
We had a dinner at the restaurant, my son had a macaroni and cheese, which were cold, and we ordered some sandwiches to go. Restaurant service was pretty slow, but food was OK for that remote location and people was very nice and friendly. My son liked a playground and a picnic area in the park, unfortunately we arrived too late at the day to enjoy a lake swim and a beach.
Next morning we had a take out breakfast, then walked around resort and drove to see an scenic overlook. We didn’t hike any trails that time. Lodge was pretty clean, but had some specific smell, maybe a smell of an old place. Lodge is going to be renovated and will have a pool, which would be a great bonus. We liked the area, it was nice and peaceful around and mountain view from our window was spectacular. We will definitely be back for one of our future weekend getaways. We are from Northern Virginia, so it was a relatively short drive to that place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tatiana I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

A wonderful place to spay with family in a beautiful state park! I only wish we would have been able to stay longer. Due to the 100+ degree weather that suddenly came on us, we left our stuffy, muggy cabin and got a room here - thankfully! We spent most of our time playing in the coo. lake water and on paddle boats but there's a lot more to do that here. The park is incredible and well-maintained: huge areas for picnicking or grilling out as well as game courts, playgrounds, fishing, hiking, horse-riding! The service was extra-friendly and the rooms are small but very clean and VERY comfortable, just the ticket. The restaurant is comfy and down-to-earth. A big plus was the huge game room downstairs - perfect for families with kids. We will come back!

Room Tip: 2 prices for rooms - the golf course side is pricier...but only by 5 dollars!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gerald r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

my brother got married here and it was so pretty.. the staff was wonderful and helpful and everything was perfect,,, if your planning a wedding- Cacapon state park is the place to have it

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carrie25411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkeley Springs
9.6 mi away
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs
The Country Inn of Berkeley Spri...
#2 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
193 reviews
8.0 mi away
Best Western Berkeley Springs Inn
Best Western Berkeley Springs In...
#1 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
401 reviews
21.7 mi away
Quality Inn Spring Mills - Martinsburg North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Cumberland
23.6 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
19.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Aikens Center
Comfort Inn Aikens Center
#3 of 14 in Martinsburg
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cacapon Resort State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cacapon Resort State Park

Address: 818 Cacapon Lodge Dr, Berkeley Springs, WV 25411-3300
Location: United States > West Virginia > Berkeley Springs
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Berkeley Springs
Price Range: $80 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cacapon Resort State Park 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cacapon Resort is a mountain lodge located in Cacapon State Park, named after its close proximity to Cacapon Mountain, the highest peak in the eastern panhandle of West Virginia. The four-season lodge provides easy access to outdoor recreation including hiking, beach swimming, fishing and the Robert Trent Jones, Sr. golf course. The lodge provides guests with a relaxing setting among scenic West Virginia landscape. The onsite guest lounge comes equipped with a TV, board games and fireplace, creating a cozy area for all seasons of the year. Cabins, cottages and bungalows rentals are also available. Cacapon Resort State Park Lodge is a nonsmoking facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Cacapon Resort State Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cacapon Resort State Park Hotel Berkeley Springs
Cacapon Hotel Berkeley Springs
Cacapon Hotel State Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing