We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another perspective of Rivers Edge rental”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berkeley Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Berkeley Springs Cottage Rentals
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I was concerned when I read the review of the property from August. We thought the place was down home and very enjoyable. If you are looking for a new, upscale vacation home, then this is not your place. River's Edge is a down to earth older place on the river. It was spotless and the downstairs bed was comfortable. We didn't try upstairs. The sectional does have a couple of hard spots where the cushions have worn and a few chairs need to be tossed outside. For us, this was minor compared to the river, which is very clear and calm, practically out the back door. It is very peaceful. The river bed is quite rocky, so we wore old tennis shoes in which, I think, worked better than water shoes. The yard is level with a nicely placed fire ring, where you can look up at the stars. The road was not well traveled, so the traffic noise was not a problem for us. The musty smell was typical of all places on the river and easily cleared by opening the windows for a bit. We loved our time there and would love to return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srebant, Manager at Berkeley Springs Cottage Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your business and for taking the time to submit a nice review of River's Edge Retreat. This is an older cabin located along the Cacapon River. It has a great fishing area just behind the cabin and the yard is spacious and wonderful for outdoor games and gatherings. The homeowner has upgraded some of the outdoor furniture and we thank you for your valued feedback.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 72 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2012

As an individual who must travel throughout the country for work, I have stayed at multiple places, and can honestly say that Berkeley Springs Cottage Rentals are the most special places I have been. Each cabin is more than a room for the night, it is a home. All rentals have their own charm and own stories. They truly have something for everyone. Whether it’s a fire place and a hot tube, or a gourmet kitchen and a big screen TV, these cabins have it all. One great thing about this rental company is that it is family owned/operated. From the moment I arrived in Berkeley Springs, I was not treated as a customer, but like another member of their family. Their hospitality is top of the line. Upon check-in, I was given their cell phone number to call with any questions/concerns, day or night. Making my stay perfect always seems to be their number one concern. For example, during one of my stays, there was a snow storm on our last night at the cabin. As we were leaving, my small car had gotten stuck in a patch of snow, just outside of town. Mr. Rebant came and got me going again before AAA could even get there! Where else can you get that service and attention to detail!? This is just one example how this company goes above and beyond to make sure we have the best experience ever. Visiting Berkeley Springs Cottage Rentals has become a tradition in my family, which I hope is carried on for many years to come.

Room Tip: All Cottages have amazing views. I can't wait to go back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srebant, Manager at Berkeley Springs Cottage Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your continued business and we are always willing and glad to help someone. This is a mountainous area and when snowfall events do occur some of the access roads to a few of the properties are hilly and can get icy. We try and coordinate snow removal before your arrival, but we are always willing to assist anyone that gets stuck or needs to transfer to another. Usually the roads thaw during the day and can refreeze at night making it a little tricky to access some of the properties.

We appreciate your review and kind feedback. We are a small family business and your input is very important to us. We are glad to hear of your positive experiences and we hope you will continue to return and stay with Berkeley Springs Cottage Rentals.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We could get past the very old photos posted on their website, what we couldn't get past was the musty smell and over all feeling that we were staying in a sponge. It felt wet all the time and having inadequate light in the cabin only adds to the problem (this was mentioned in the comments journal other guests left).
This cabin needs serious updates: new outdoor furniture, gas grill, patio furniture, flooring (felt rotten between the living room and kitchen and who puts carpet in a kitchen?) to mention only a few.
Finally, the cabin is on route 9, 20 feet from route 9 where the road noise is terrible. Go somewhere else for a relaxing time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Honest Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dslough, Owner at Berkeley Springs Cottage Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

Thank you for your opinion and feedback on River's Edge. It is unfortunate that a negative review must be posted to get that feedback, but we will take it I guess. Since this guests stay we have been to the owner who brought in new deck furniture, new kitchen table, and some new lighting. We were unsure about the other comments and tried to reach the guest to clarify with no results.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We've stayed at the Haven a few times (fall) for a girls getaway weekend and we've been really happy with it. It was the perfect size for our group of 3, and the setting was very relaxing. There's not much to the cabin--a nice deck for relaxing/reading a book, a clean kitchen with a stove/oven/microwave, etc. but it's just a short drive to the town that has really cute shops and nice places to eat. We love taking walks around the streets around the cabin, too. We love that it's a quick drive from the DC area.

Room Tip: There isn't much at the Coolfont Resort anymore, but it's just a short drive into the quaint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank chips118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srebant, Manager at Berkeley Springs Cottage Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Thank you for your feedback and for the nice reveiw about Haven. The property has had a number of recent upgrades and the newly remodeled kitchen is delightful. The location is very peaceful and perfect for a summer escape because the property is within walking distance to the coummunity pool and tennis court areas. Thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Five adults and three toddlers stayed at Sanctuary on the Lake during July. The house was spacious and comfortable enough for everyone. However, during our first night there, we were sitting in the living room when a mouse scampered from the kitchen across the room and up the fireplace's stone wall. The next morning we found mouse droppings in the kitchen. When I called as we were leaving on the third day to report the mouse sighting, the individual with whom I spoke, Bobbi, was so unapologetic and rude to me, placing blame on me for not calling sooner (-- not sure what she could have done...catch the mouse?). She acknowledged that there was an ongoing mouse problem. I was sorry to have ended what was otherwise a pleasant weekend with Bobbi's mean demeanor and response.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srebant, Manager at Berkeley Springs Cottage Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

I would like to please inform any potential clients that these guest were given a complimentary early check in and did not report any mice issues during their stay. As they were leaving, they contacted the office and reported seeing a mouse on the first day and hinted that they wanted to receive a discount.

Our staff correctly informed them that the property is under preventative pest treatment, but all they needed to do was contact us during their stay and we could have easily sent a technician to conduct pest treatment. After receiving their notification, we immediately scheduled pest treatment services. I would also like to please point out that it took the housekeeper 8 hours to clean this property after the guest departed and the normal cleaning is 3 hours. We also had to schedule carpet cleaning in addition to the 8 hour cleaning. Due to the food residue left throughout the cabin, it would not have been surprising to have mice issues during their stay. Please also note that Bobbi who is mentioned several times throughout the review did not even work the day the guest contacted the office and our staff strives to ensure your vacation is a wonderful experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Stayed at Cacapon Breeze for a long weekend. The house was a bit old, but functional, the hot tub was also quite old and broke, which we were liable for, but thats in the rental agreement.

The kicker was we found a dead mouse in the house and could smell another dead animal somewhere in one of the closets and the rental company acted like it was no big deal.

Place wasn't bad but the rental company has poor customer service.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mhaiv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srebant, Front Office Manager at Berkeley Springs Cottage Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

Please note that the clients who wrote this review had double the number of guests at the property that were registered, stayed after the check-out time, housekeeping removed 12 bags of trash from the cabin, the guest placed toothpicks in the control panel of the hot tub to keep the hot tub motor continuously running which damaged the hot tub and housekeeping spent over 6 hours cleaning the cabin after their stay.

Shortly after departure, management notified the client of the issues and that they would be responsible for the hot tub damages. After their departure and being notified that they would have to pay for the damage done to the hot tub, the guest reported a mice issue in the cabin and management sent Home Team Pest Defense to rectify the issue the following day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We rented "Almost Heaven" a 4 bedroom, 5 bathroom, cottage in the Coolfont Resort area. It really was almost heaven with 5 bathrooms for a girls getaway weekend. The house was exceptionally clean and the beds were wonderful with pillowtop matresses and featherbeds. The furnishings were very nice, many of them being log type exactly as pictured on the website. With a separate living room and 2 other dens (both dens with Direct Satellite TV) it was great separate space especially if someone wanted a quiet reading area while others watched TV. Great value for the price! The reservations were very easy to complete and the staff I spoke with was very friendly and helpful. We had no issues or problems during our stay. It's a short drive back to town (about 7 miles) and it was a very relaxing location. Would definitely rent tis home again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acmepanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dslough, Manager at Berkeley Springs Cottage Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review. Almost Heaven is one of our premium properties and the house is just lovely. Our housekeeping staff is committed to a high standard and we appreciate your feedback. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs
The Country Inn of Berkeley Spri...
#2 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
199 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Berkeley Springs Inn
Best Western Berkeley Springs In...
#1 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
407 reviews
9.2 mi away
Cacapon Resort State Park
Cacapon Resort State Park
#3 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Highlawn Inn
Highlawn Inn
#3 of 11 in Berkeley Springs
196 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maria's Garden and Inn
Maria's Garden and Inn
#10 of 11 in Berkeley Springs
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley Springs Cottage Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Springs Cottage Rentals

Address: 64 S Green St, Berkeley Springs, WV 25411-1639
Location: United States > West Virginia > Berkeley Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Berkeley Springs
Hotel Class:2 star — Berkeley Springs Cottage Rentals 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Also Known As:
Berkeley Springs Cottage Rentals Hotel Berkeley Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing