We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Update River's Edge - PLEASE!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berkeley Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Berkeley Springs Cottage Rentals
Fallston, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Update River's Edge - PLEASE!”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We could get past the very old photos posted on their website, what we couldn't get past was the musty smell and over all feeling that we were staying in a sponge. It felt wet all the time and having inadequate light in the cabin only adds to the problem (this was mentioned in the comments journal other guests left).
This cabin needs serious updates: new outdoor furniture, gas grill, patio furniture, flooring (felt rotten between the living room and kitchen and who puts carpet in a kitchen?) to mention only a few.
Finally, the cabin is on route 9, 20 feet from route 9 where the road noise is terrible. Go somewhere else for a relaxing time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honest P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dslough, Owner at Berkeley Springs Cottage Rentals, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thank you for your opinion and feedback on River's Edge. It is unfortunate that a negative review must be posted to get that feedback, but we will take it I guess. Since this guests stay we have been to the owner who brought in new deck furniture, new kitchen table, and some new lighting. We were unsure about the other comments and tried to reach the guest to clarify with no results.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    12
    3
    4
    9
See reviews for
24
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We've stayed at the Haven a few times (fall) for a girls getaway weekend and we've been really happy with it. It was the perfect size for our group of 3, and the setting was very relaxing. There's not much to the cabin--a nice deck for relaxing/reading a book, a clean kitchen with a stove/oven/microwave, etc. but it's just a short drive to the town that has really cute shops and nice places to eat. We love taking walks around the streets around the cabin, too. We love that it's a quick drive from the DC area.

Room Tip: There isn't much at the Coolfont Resort anymore, but it's just a short drive into the quaint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank chips118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srebant, Manager at Berkeley Springs Cottage Rentals, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and for the nice reveiw about Haven. The property has had a number of recent upgrades and the newly remodeled kitchen is delightful. The location is very peaceful and perfect for a summer escape because the property is within walking distance to the coummunity pool and tennis court areas. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Five adults and three toddlers stayed at Sanctuary on the Lake during July. The house was spacious and comfortable enough for everyone. However, during our first night there, we were sitting in the living room when a mouse scampered from the kitchen across the room and up the fireplace's stone wall. The next morning we found mouse droppings in the kitchen. When I called as we were leaving on the third day to report the mouse sighting, the individual with whom I spoke, Bobbi, was so unapologetic and rude to me, placing blame on me for not calling sooner (-- not sure what she could have done...catch the mouse?). She acknowledged that there was an ongoing mouse problem. I was sorry to have ended what was otherwise a pleasant weekend with Bobbi's mean demeanor and response.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srebant, Manager at Berkeley Springs Cottage Rentals, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
I would like to please inform any potential clients that these guest were given a complimentary early check in and did not report any mice issues during their stay. As they were leaving, they contacted the office and reported seeing a mouse on the first day and hinted that they wanted to receive a discount.

Our staff correctly informed them that the property is under preventative pest treatment, but all they needed to do was contact us during their stay and we could have easily sent a technician to conduct pest treatment. After receiving their notification, we immediately scheduled pest treatment services. I would also like to please point out that it took the housekeeper 8 hours to clean this property after the guest departed and the normal cleaning is 3 hours. We also had to schedule carpet cleaning in addition to the 8 hour cleaning. Due to the food residue left throughout the cabin, it would not have been surprising to have mice issues during their stay. Please also note that Bobbi who is mentioned several times throughout the review did not even work the day the guest contacted the office and our staff strives to ensure your vacation is a wonderful experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Stayed at Cacapon Breeze for a long weekend. The house was a bit old, but functional, the hot tub was also quite old and broke, which we were liable for, but thats in the rental agreement.

The kicker was we found a dead mouse in the house and could smell another dead animal somewhere in one of the closets and the rental company acted like it was no big deal.

Place wasn't bad but the rental company has poor customer service.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mhaiv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srebant, Front Office Manager at Berkeley Springs Cottage Rentals, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Please note that the clients who wrote this review had double the number of guests at the property that were registered, stayed after the check-out time, housekeeping removed 12 bags of trash from the cabin, the guest placed toothpicks in the control panel of the hot tub to keep the hot tub motor continuously running which damaged the hot tub and housekeeping spent over 6 hours cleaning the cabin after their stay.

Shortly after departure, management notified the client of the issues and that they would be responsible for the hot tub damages. After their departure and being notified that they would have to pay for the damage done to the hot tub, the guest reported a mice issue in the cabin and management sent Home Team Pest Defense to rectify the issue the following day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal;PA
Level Contributor
174 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We rented "Almost Heaven" a 4 bedroom, 5 bathroom, cottage in the Coolfont Resort area. It really was almost heaven with 5 bathrooms for a girls getaway weekend. The house was exceptionally clean and the beds were wonderful with pillowtop matresses and featherbeds. The furnishings were very nice, many of them being log type exactly as pictured on the website. With a separate living room and 2 other dens (both dens with Direct Satellite TV) it was great separate space especially if someone wanted a quiet reading area while others watched TV. Great value for the price! The reservations were very easy to complete and the staff I spoke with was very friendly and helpful. We had no issues or problems during our stay. It's a short drive back to town (about 7 miles) and it was a very relaxing location. Would definitely rent tis home again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acmepanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dslough, Manager at Berkeley Springs Cottage Rentals, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review. Almost Heaven is one of our premium properties and the house is just lovely. Our housekeeping staff is committed to a high standard and we appreciate your feedback. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson, Maryland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

My friend and I recently spent the weekend at Mini's Hideaway (one of Berkeley Springs Cottage Rentals). We get together every three months for a relaxing get-away, and therefore, have rented many cottages.

Mini's Hideaway is private and roomy enough for the two of us. All rooms have a window air conditioner, which is nice to have that kind of personal control over climate.

The kitchen was well-stocked. Mini's is a few miles outside of Berkeley Springs (not sure how many miles). Seems like it took about 10 mins to get into town. The roads are pretty well traveled and passable.

Sure, there were bugs outside of the house. Some of them manage to get inside of the house. If you are going away to a woodsy area, you should expect such things. People who want a sanitized experience should go stay in a hotel, not the woods.

The hot tub worked well. The jets were not real strong, but quite nice and relaxing. Who needs to be blown out of a hot tub with turbine jets?!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky_Pultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dslough, Manager at Berkeley Springs Cottage Rentals, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for submitting the review regarding Mini's Hideaway. Berkeley Springs has such clean and crisp mountain air and the environment is very healthy. Unfortunately insects and do come hand in hand with a healthly wooded environment. We appreciate your feedback and realistic view about the insects.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Last October my family and I were fortunate enough to stay at Castle View Cottage while we were visiting Berkeley Springs. We found the house spacious and homey, and it had every thing we needed. Our children loved the game room in the basement and had little tournaments amongst them selves. On the main level the family room was very comfortable, the furniture was great as was the fire place.. We loved that we could walk to everywhere in town, including the spas. We will be back!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkeley Springs
0.1 mi away
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs
The Country Inn of Berkeley Spri...
#1 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
177 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Berkeley Springs Inn
Best Western Berkeley Springs In...
#2 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
362 reviews
9.6 mi away
Cacapon Resort State Park
Cacapon Resort State Park
#3 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#2 of 2 in Hancock
85 reviews
5.8 mi away
Super 8 Hancock MD
Super 8 Hancock MD
#1 of 2 in Hancock
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley Springs Cottage Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Springs Cottage Rentals

Property: Berkeley Springs Cottage Rentals
Address: 64 S Green St, Berkeley Springs, WV 25411-1639
Location: United States > West Virginia > Berkeley Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Berkeley Springs
Hotel Class:2 star — Berkeley Springs Cottage Rentals 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Also Known As:
Berkeley Springs Cottage Rentals Hotel Berkeley Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing