We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Bring a Cushon” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Star Theater

Star Theater
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Travel back in time to when a night at the movies was still affordable and fun: this 300 seat Depression-era movie house features sofa seating (only 3) and a super tub of popcorn with real butter for $4. A real mom and pop theater. On the West Virginia Historic Theater Trail. In 2013, the Star went digital!
Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bring a Cushon”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

I've been a couple of times and have enjoyed the experience. I especially enjoy the cheap prices. I do not enjoy the hard seats. Bring a cushon!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
popcornempress, Owner at Star Theater, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
You're right. The seats, like most of the theatre, are vintage dating back to the last major renovation in 1949. They are on the list to replace as soon as we pay for the huge investment required to go digital and keep the doors open. There are three couches and a pair of overstuffed chairs for 50 cents extra. They do get reserved fast. Anyone is welcome to bring their own cushion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    17
    3
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley Springs, West Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Blast from the Past”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Seeing a movie at the Star Theater is time traveling into yesteryear. However, the large screen and digitalized movies are modern additions to this vintage theater. The owners have resurrected a nostalgic favorite and do a super job making you feel welcome. A feature you certainly don't expect to find in a theater anywhere are the sofas which you can reserve and rent for 50 cents. The movies are current titles, and the locals look forward to seeing the latest movies right here in Berkeley Springs. The Star Theater is famous for their popcorn, with or without butter, and is touted to be the best in four states.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank GobblersKnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
popcornempress, Owner at Star Theater, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thanks to the folks at Gobblers Knob, one of the many outstanding places to stay when you visit Berkeley Springs. Great log house with spectacular view.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun evening out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We went to see World War Z. While the movie was a bit too scary for me (we had to leave about 40 mins in), the overall experience was fantastic. The popcorn was hot and delicious with real butter. We'll be back next time we're in town for sure!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank B_family_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
popcornempress, Owner at Star Theater, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We try not to scare our guests too much but sometimes.....
Glad you liked the popcorn. Come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
129 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We saw The Lone Ranger for $4.50 per person. The theater is historic with very nice seats, inexpensive popcorn, and a few couches for patrons who want to splurge ($1.00 more). It was obvious that the gentleman and lady working there (the owners) really enjoy their work.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
popcornempress, Owner at Star Theater, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
What better job could we have than making people happy with movies and popcorn? We especially love it when audiences cheer at the end. Thanks for appreciating the Star.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Old Time Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

An old time experience not found many places today. The theatre is well preserved. You pay the ticket man at the entrance a very fair fee considering todays prices. The popcorn machine is an amazing antique that produces amazing popcorn for $1.50 a box. Soda was $1.00
I found the seats to be very comfortable. You can rent a sofa for an additional .50 cents.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travelingtanya2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
popcornempress, Owner at Star Theater, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thanks for coming to the Star. We're happy you enjoyed it. We work hard to keep the Star affordable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Star Theater also viewed

 

Been to Star Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing