We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reminds me of my childhood”
Review of Star Theater

Star Theater
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Travel back in time to when a night at the movies was still affordable and fun: this 300 seat Depression-era movie house features sofa seating (only 3) and a super tub of popcorn with real butter for $4. A real mom and pop theater. On the West Virginia Historic Theater Trail. In 2013, the Star went digital!
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Reminds me of my childhood”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Almost first-run movies at a bargain price. Buttered popcorn with real butter (clogged arteries be damned). The new digital projection and sound system are a great improvement. And, as a regular, you gotta love being able to punch your own card.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bigkabloona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
popcornempress, Owner at Star Theater, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We appreciate all the help we can get, like folks punching their own card. Now that's an inside joke you'll have to ask about folks, next time you come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    17
    3
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley Springs WV
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Love the Upgrades”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We have always loved the Star Theatre, but the new screen and upgraded digital equipment makes such a difference. We usually reserve a sofa but decided too late this time to get one. The seats were very comfortable and as always we enjoyed the popcorn.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank For2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
popcornempress, Owner at Star Theater, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thanks! It's great to be appreciated. We did it for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joppa, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really takes you back in time”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We went to a movie on Friday night. Some of the locals had told us to ask for a couch, which we did. The experience of this old theater is so much fun. The old popcorn machine is still popping and they serve popcorn with real butter! Sitting on the couch was like being at home with a big screen. We loved it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank meagoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
popcornempress, Owner at Star Theater, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Glad you liked the popcorn and couch -- both are what really make the Star special. We like to think it's better than being at home because you get to share the experience with all your new best friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunt Valley, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Throwback 50 years”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Don't leave Berkeley Springs without seeing a movie at the Star Theatre. Family run, classic cinema experience. $4.50 for an adult....$3 popcorn. The seats could use an upgrade, but it works. Reserve the couches in advance for 50 cents. Seriously!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
popcornempress, Owner at Star Theater, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Glad you enjoyed the Star. Seats are next on our list after we absorb some of the phenomenal cost of going digital so we could keep the doors open.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley Springs, West Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Old time movie experience”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

You can't beat the popcorn and candy treats as well as an affordable movie experience.

Only negative aspect is the need for many seats to be repaired or updated because they are well worn.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
popcornempress, Owner at Star Theater, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Always happy when someone enjoys their visit to the Star. Thanks for coming. Once we accumulate some money after spending tens of thousands on going digital so the Star could stay open, we plan to find some improved seats.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Star Theater also viewed

 

Been to Star Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing