We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful first B&B experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berkeley Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast
Reviewed May 17, 2011

Ellen and Wesley were great. We had a rather odd schedule as we needed a place to stay two consecutive Sundays and they were happy to work with our needs.

After a long drive my mother and I were met at the door with a warm smile, hot tea and fresh made cookies on our first night and then when we returned a week later we were welcomed back with fresh made soy brownies.

Ellen loves to cook and it shows. Her idea of a 'simple' breakfast was 3 courses of fresh gourmet food all made from scratch served on handmade local pottery.

The bedrooms and bathrooms were squeaky clean and beautiful. The house and grounds were lovely and well kept. They have a great location just 2 blocks from the center of town and yes.. we have already booked for next year!

Room Tip: We loved the 2 bedroom suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hawthorne7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 99 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2011

Ellen was extraordinarily friendly and helpful without being instrusive. Stayed in the suite (2 separate bedrooms with sitting room and bath). Renovated old house was very nicely appointed and you can tell a lot of thought and care has been put into this house. Can I say that the breakfasts are the best I've had in years...Ellen was kind enough to keep in mind that my friend and I are both trying to maintain healthy diets and she graciously served fruit salad with papaya, buckwheat waffles made with bananas (with West Virginia maple syrup) and local bacon. Yum. Great stay and I think we will return with more friends... Bravo Ellen and Wesley!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank headwinds01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

As B&B rookies, we were expecting to encounter awkward conversations at the breakfast table and a sign up sheet to reserve time in the bathroom. The proprietors of the Manor Inn, Ellen and Wesley, take great care to make sure these things don't happen.

Ellen is a gracious host and a terrific cook. Her baked oatmeal and pineapple french toast are out of this world. She is a fountain of knowledge in regards to the local eateries and the area in general. Wesley is a skilled conversationalist who has an infectious laugh that can make anybody smile. Together they make quite a pair.

Typically, two of the guest rooms share a bathroom. While a 3rd guest room has an in suite bathroom. On this weekend, the suite was not booked. Ellen arranged for the other couple to use the suite bathroom as to alleviate any required sharing of the bathroom. Thus allowing both couples to have their own bathrooms. THANKS ELLEN!

The Manor Inn is a wonderful old house with boat loads of personality. The 12 foot ceilings, claw footed bath tub, quaint lamps and warm quilts really make the home charming. As expected, the rooms were clean and tidy.

We are very happy that our first experience at a B&B went so well. I would recommend the Manor Inn to anybody and everybody. Ellen and Wesley are very good at what they do. Thanks for a care-free weekend.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 944brandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2010

We enjoyed our stay immensely. Ellen is a kind, friendly, and gracious host who treated us like family. Our room was large and nicely decorated, exactly as pictured and described on their web site. Breakfast, for each morning of our stay, was delicious. Ellen took great pride in mentioning that the ingredients were all local. We also enjoyed relaxing in the parlor where Ellen would build a roaring fire in the fireplace while we listened to records and played board games.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SlamTheDoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2010

I picked this B&B based on the reviews on Tripadvisor so I think I should acknowledge that they were right. The Host and Hostess are gracious. The breakfasts were memorable (and healthy), but still delicious. The room was pleasant. The Hostess offered good information about where to eat and what to do. This was a two day stay to take care of some business in Berkeley Springs on the way to DC. We had never been to Berkeley Springs before but loaded up on some great antique and vintage purchases from the numerous antique stores, including one hidden gem of a place that we learned about from our Hostess.

Because the house is historic it's important to be flexible. There is a long curving stair to the second floor where the guest rooms are. The decor is pleasantly Victorian. Bathrooms may be shared-- adorable claw footed tubs. There is good off street parking but the house is on a hillside so there is another climb to the entrance. That is part of the fun of B&B's though No two are exactly the same!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arachneflash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2010

My husband and I spent 2 nights to celebrate Veterans Day. We had a suite which included a sitting room and jacuzzi tub. Bed was comfortable, everything was clean, and decorated to match the Victorian House. Excellent breakfasts. Ellen and Wesley were the perfect host and hostess. We felt like part of a big happy family and enjoyed talking with them as well as the other guests. We were given great advice as to the best restaurants and spas. Ellen used the fireplace in the living room, played soothing music, and left us to enjoy a quiet romantic evening. We were close to town and certainly enjoyed the ambiance.
We wanted a quiet getaway and that is what we had. Our first stay in Berkelly Springs and am telling our friends about this wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pandj7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2010

This is my second stay. The B&B is two blocks from spas. Service and breakfast is wonderful. Breakfast time is at your convenience. Ellen is very thoughtful and congenial and makes excellent waffles. The room are well decorated and spotless. Whirlpool bath in suite is very relaxing. Be aware that there are stairs to rooms. My girlfriend who really needed a break enjoyed herself tremendously. I will be going back again next year. House is on a hill but its not too difficult walking from restaurants and spas.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swimmer553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs
The Country Inn of Berkeley Spri...
#2 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
204 reviews
9.2 mi away
Cacapon Resort State Park
Cacapon Resort State Park
#3 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Highlawn Inn
Highlawn Inn
#3 of 11 in Berkeley Springs
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Maria's Garden and Inn
Maria's Garden and Inn
#10 of 11 in Berkeley Springs
45 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Berkeley Springs Inn
Best Western Berkeley Springs In...
#1 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 234 Fairfax St, Berkeley Springs, WV 25411-3239
Location: United States > West Virginia > Berkeley Springs
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Berkeley Springs
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Manor Inn Bed And Breakfast
Manor Hotel Berkeley Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing