We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Beckley
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Beckley was our halfway point on our way to Chapel Hill, NC on Sunday Jan. 19, 2014
We were given bottled water when we arrived which was nice after driving all day. Check in was fast and easy and we preceded to our room. While in the elevator we were warned that the rooms surrounding us were occupied by a group of teenage skier. We were told not to expect much sleep. When the front desk called to see if everything was alright we mentioned that and Kari (I think that was her name) offered to come and help us move to a quieter room. Few minutes later she showed up at our door and moved our stuff. We had a great nights sleep and a very good breakfast the next day at the in house restaurant.
It was a very pleasant stay and it was due to Kari from the front desk.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 405SanK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (444)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 444 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2014

Called this hotel in advance and made our reservation based on the pool and hot tub. The hot tub was very hot, almost to the point that we could not stay in it, and the pool was very cold, no one in our party could go in it. The staff was fantastic at the front desk and the rooms were clean and roomy. The beds were very comfortable, and clean! Would stay here again if we were in the area, but would consider another hotel as they do not provide a free breakfast as many hotels do these days. We were given a bag with a breakfast bar, a juice, and an apple to take with us, but after reading the reviews about the restaurant glad we took the bag breakfast.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Cbllc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Stayed at Holiday Inn in Beckley on a recent ski trip to nearby Winterplace. This was the result of a Hotwire purchase, so naturally the price was fantastic. Like any other Holiday Inn, this place was very clean, comfortable, and welcoming.

One note, though, is that this is NOT a Holiday Inn Express. As far as I could tell, that only means that there's no breakfast included. They do have a restaurant which appeared to be fairly pricey despite my Holiday Inn Priority Club status ($7 per person excl. tax and tip is what I was told). Considering I'd be paying full price for my 3 small kids, it didn't make sense so we went to IHOP right down the street. That was fine, but I would have liked to have a quick breakfast in the morning so we could head to the slopes faster.

This Holiday Inn is a good place to stay, and I'd recommend it. Just be aware that if you are looking for a quick/cheap breakfast to get your day started, you'll have to look elsewhere.

Happy travels!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SegundoLunadeMiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed here because we had been at Winterplace all day. Needless to say we were exhausted by the time we got there. The room was small to have 2 Queen size beds in them but who cares when you are just there to sleep as long as you have a comfortable bed & hot water - which we did have both! The staff was nice. We ate breakfast the next morning at Kems (the on site restaurant). It seemed to be very busy & the we waited for 10 minutes to just get a table. The buffet was OK & the kids did get to eat free, which was good considering they didn't eat what they had on their plates. Overall, we would stay here again, just not eat at the restaurant.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephanieMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Beckley is the midpoint between where family lives so we have made several trips in the past. This was the second time at this Holiday Inn and will likely be the last at this hotel. The desk and housekeeping staff were pleasant but the rest of the experience was less than expected. We regularly stay at a Holiday Inn as one of our preferred hotels because of the consistent quality of the facilities and service. Nothing was what I would call terrible but more just not what I would expect. There was a lot of snow while we were there but it did not seem that it was well treated by the doors and in the drop off areas. It was difficult to find an open space to park as we arrived late and it appeared the hotel was near capacity. We stayed in a 2 room suite due to having our grandchildren, and needed space for them but the living room area was extremely small although the sleeping area was roomy. We have stayed in other hotels with suites that were more roomy in the living area. One of the reasons that we choose this hotel was for the indoor pool and spa. The pool water was extremely cold which only allowed us to be in the pool for a very short time until we were all too cold to enjoy. The spa did not turn on and had towels floating in it when we went down as well as a layer of foam with a very unattractive color to it so we could not use that either. We went to breakfast each morning and went later on the first morning but it was very busy and the buffet was not well maintained with food. We had to go back for some items when they were finally stocked. The second morning we went early and the waitress we had was different but not very attentive and gave me a coffee caraffe but never brought me a coffee cup. The wait staff seemed very overwhelmed. The food was acceptable but service was a little slow. We were a little disappointed when we talked after checking out and will choose one of the other hotels in the area on our next trip.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rbcottom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear rbcottom,

I would like to thank you for your feedback on our hotel and I am sorry that we didn't measure up to your expectations. The snow storm that we experienced lasted a few days and proved to be very challenging for us. Many of our staff was unable to make it to work and many of them I went and picked up so we would have staff to take care of the property and guests. We all worked very hard during that time with long hours to cover those who couldn't get there. Our pool and spa stay at a constant temperature as per Holiday Inn Standards and spas do tend to get a bit foamy with heavy use.
We were very short staffed for the amount of traffic in the restaurant due to the weather so please forgive us and give us another try. I am very proud of our hotel and staff, we truly care about our guests and our property.

Please contact me personally the next time you head this way and I will guarantee you a great stay!!

jwilliams@hlihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

My husband and I pricelined a room in Beckley as we were traveling through and got the Holiday Inn for $62. We lucked out! We've always been pleased with Holiday Inns and this was no exception. When we checked in the receptionist told us there was a cocktail party for guests from 6-8:00 - just behind the lobby, in a lovely area with fireplace, etc. Trish... (I think) was the Asst Mgr and she greeted us at the reception, introducing herself and introducing us to the other guests. As each new person came in, she rattled off everyone's names in the rooms, making introductions. Quite a talent!... and she accomplished her mission by getting folks to chat. Food was excellent too. Very different for apps. Caprese Salad, Ceviche Salad....good!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UWRF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Stayed there last year and was very impressed. Very friendly and helpful staff. We went back this year and everything was great except for Kems, the on site restaurant. food was not up to the standards of the year before and the meal was not good. This was a disappointment since we paid the more than the average hotel room rate in Beckely We chose the Holiday Inn because of Kems and were unhappy.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sailor14617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beckley hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Beckley
Hampton Inn Beckley
#2 of 14 in Beckley
558 reviews
4.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beckley East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Beckley
Courtyard Beckley
#5 of 14 in Beckley
290 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Beckley
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Beckley
Comfort Inn Beckley
#7 of 14 in Beckley
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley

Address: 114 Dry Hill Rd, Beckley, WV 25801-2604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Beckley
#2 Family Hotel in Beckley
#2 Romantic Hotel in Beckley
Price Range: $122 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Beckley WV Hotel Welcomes you to a WV Vacation Paradise Discover the wild beauty and storied history of southern West Virginia when you stay at the smoke free Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites in Beckley WV. Ideally located off I-77 our Beckley hotel is close to the area's major attractions and businesses. Families enjoy our location because it provides easy access for their WV vacation. The Exhibition Coal Mine and Coal Heritage Trail are both nearby and offer a glimpse of West Virginia's coal mining past. The Tamarack is just a mile from our hotel. West Virginia also boasts the best world-class white-water rafting in the eastern US. After a day on New River's Class III-V rapids you'll be thankful for a Beckley hotel with a hot tub. Our indoor pool features an ADA-accessible lift; just another one of our Beckley hotel's thoughtful amenities. Business guests know that lodging in our Beckley hotel means convenient access to the adjacent Mountaineer Conference Center as well as the I.R.S. and Federal Court. Free high-speed Internet access and a business center make it easy to do business while on the road. We also offer 1150 sq. ft. of meeting space with conference and catering services. When you're looking for lodging in Beckley, think of Holiday Inn. As a family friendly hotel we feature a game room and a full-service restaurant where kids under 12 eat for free. Book your reservations for a WV vacation. Relax it's Holiday Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Beckley
Holiday Inn Beckley
Beckley Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Hotel Beckley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing