We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great showcase of WV artists”
Review of Tamarack

Tamarack
Ranked #2 of 13 things to do in Beckley
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A regional showcase of WV made Arts & Craft offers special events, craft demonstrations, a Fine Art gallery, a Theater, and a food court featuring treats created by our master chefs.
Westover, West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
“Great showcase of WV artists”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stopped here on our way to Roanoke, VA. It showcases WV artisans and their crafts. They have many things available for purchase and most of them have been made in WV.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank cleanleper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    445
    218
    92
    34
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beaver, West Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“True Arts and Crafts at it's Best”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Tamarack is a wonder place to see and experience the artistic skills of so many West Virginia Artist under one roof. The Sate of West Virginia has provided a wonderful facility for W V Arts and Craft providers to sell their work. Some have reviewed the food as not so great but I have never had a bad meal at Tamarack and I have met with several business men there and never been disappointed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Wonderful works!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The best of the WV craftsmen, that's for sure! A lovely collection highlighting the talents of a much overlooked state - glass blowing, painting, woodworking, sculpting, ceramics, canning. A great place to stop and shop and relax from the road. It was only one exit up from where we were stopping for the night in Beckley.
The glass section was the hardest for me to control myself in - oh wow and every color and shape. Good thing the car was already full!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JMLMississippi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“If you are stopping for the food....keep on driving”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were really dissapointed with the food at Tamarack. Ten years ago we use to make stoppint at Tamarack a tradition when driving to and from Florida....the food was excellent, it was of high quality and something that would be hard to find while travelling. The facitilies are good and the work displayed by various artists is great.

We recently travelled to South Carolina and were excited to stop in at Tamarack for dinner.....what a disapointment....the food was of poor quality, it was expensive and it was likely eating cafeteria food that had been sitting under a heat lamp for an extended period of time. Lastly, the cashier was miserable. I feel bad as i have actively promoted Tamarack and advised friends to stop for the food, it they experienced what we did it would be unfortunate.
We also stoped on our way back and thought perhaps it was just bad luck on the way down, my wife had the prime rib special which was good however the rest of us had the fish and it had obviously been sitting under a heat lamp for some time...it was dissapointing. The bill for five was $92+......I think better food and value can be found elsewhere

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Unique Place”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stopped off here on our way back to Georgia to see what it had to offer. We got caught up in the lunch rush but it moved along well. Parking was plentiful & the air conditioning felt great. Food was mediocre(rainbow trout for hubby & catfish for me) but the ice cream we had for dessert was delicious. We got to watch the glass blowing for a bit & enjoyed that very much. Many of the hand-crafted items were too expensive for us, but I bought a little glass pig for a gift. It was still interesting to see all of the beautiful handmade things from West Virginia artists, ranging from jewelry to glass to hand painted prints & little statues carved from WV coal. It made for a nice stop along the interstate with cool air, food & clean bathrooms-what more could you ask for? Would happily stop here again if in the area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank stinkytoes10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tamarack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing