We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and wonderful service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Foster's

Foster's
Ranked #38 of 109 Restaurants in Beckley
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food and wonderful service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

I loved the building. It is really neat inside and out. The service was excellent and the food was good.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ruth Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    12
    5
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga
Level Contributor
367 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 577 helpful votes
“There is LIFE in downtown Beckley!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Usually I am blitzing by Beckley on I-77 but was lucky this trip to stay overnight and venture into the town. I would love to see this place in the daytime but managed to find some light on a Sunday night at this little neighbourhood bar on Main Street.
Stepping into the bar from the rain outside was like that scene in WIZARD OF OZ when the film changes from black and white to colour......it was almost an explosion of atmosphere.
The eclectic sports and art memorabilia covering the walls was very inviting and added to this cave.....and I say that in a warm and welcoming way.
A huge long wooden bar with a reasonable draft beer selection (I guess the previous reviewer must be some pretentious city yuppy...it's BECKLEY .....geezzzz....) served up by some friendly barmen (when their noses aren't buried in their cellphones...).
The menu looks plentiful with the usual pub grub of shrimp, ribs, Baked Philly Grillers for $6.95 (..and it looked very good from what I saw next to me...) and personal pizzas for $6.50.
What struck me were these VERY reasonable prices.... $4 pints and 1/2 lb. Black Angus Burgers for $7.25 are $10 PLUS anywhere else along the Interstates I have eaten.
This is a great find and I will be back in the daylight...and hungry!!!
I hope the locals appreciate what they have there!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckley, West Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good food, Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

The atmosphere here is very nice with friendly workers, and the food is excellent with a great variety of menu items.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Csettle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great ribs, spotty service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

My husband raves about the ribs he got there, saying they're the best he's ever had anywhere. I can't speak to that since I don't eat red meat. The shrimp were okay. They were out of the other relatively healthy items on the menu, such as the salmon salad. The beer list was adequate but not great. All in all, though, a nice neighborhood bar with local flavor and music.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Loved Fosters”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2009

Fosters is a nice little restaurant/bar in downtown Beckley. The food was a good value and the service was good. I enjoyed it and would go back if I was in the area again.

Helpful?
1 Thank hooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foster's also viewed

 

Been to Foster's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing