We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Just what we were looking for!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ambrosia Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beckley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ambrosia Inn
Save
You added The Ambrosia Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 3 Beckley B&B and Inns
Haymarket
1 review
“Just what we were looking for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My sister and I were wanting to start a new tradition after our mother passed away. We came to The Ambrosia Inn and it was just what we were looking for. Beautiful home, very clean, very comfortable bed. The grounds are beautiful and there are many comfortable rooms to relax in. Sawsan's breakfast was delicious, especially the hash browns and pastries, and she was very gracious and took time to talk with us and answer our questions. We plan to go back next year and make it a new tradition.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
23
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denville, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I was given the task of finding an Inn for the night while we visited our son at the Boy Scout Jamboree at the Bechtel Reserve. Rather an choose a motel for my wife and daughter, I found the Ambrosia Inn online at a very reasonable price. We arrive late to a gorgeous stately mansion that was tastefully decorated. The innkeeper Swasan Galal was very interesting. I would have loved to stay to a cooking class. The beds were very clean and comfortable, breakfast was both nicely prepared and healthy. I would recommend this for those who do not want to totally 'rough it" while enjoying all the activities in the New River/Gauley River which are only minutes away.

Room Tip: Ask the innkeeper about food...she is a great cook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The Ambrosia Inn was perfect for us. Each room has it's own personality, they are all inviting but our favorite was the Sage Blossom. The grounds are beautiful and the kitchen garden and grape arbors piqued our curiosity as we strolled in the morning. Chef Sawsan is a wonderful chef and host, our breakfast was the perfect ending to our short visit.

Room Tip: We loved the Sage Blossom Suite, it was so quiet, the bed was extra comfy and the bathroom had it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southside VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The rooms at the inn are well furnished and comfortable. Innkeeper Sawsan Galal asks about dietary issues soon after arrival. Breakfast was plentiful with fresh seasonal fruit, a variety of breads or pancakes, eggs made to order, special in-house preserves, etc. In addition, a small refrigerator is stocked with bottled water and juice, and there is also a fully stocked coffee/tea station in the upstairs lounge. Have been to many B&Bs over the years. This one is super! Location is ideal because it’s not in the middle of town, but close to shopping and site seeing. Quiet atmosphere was very restful. My husband and I were there this week. He attended Boy Scout Jamboree. Luckily, innkeeper Sawsan is also a chef who offers cooking workshops, and I was able to attend with locals since I am not a scout. Fun time. Overall, I would say that this B&B will prove to be a favorite for those who travel through Beckley. Would I stay there again? Absolutely!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoVAPersonalChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckley, West Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

wonderful B&B with great hospitality and exeptional food. Each room has it own character, beautiful setting in the heart of the city , peaceful and quiet. Chef Sawsan will cater to your culinary needs and her cuisine is remarkable. A great asset in the town of Beckley.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beckley
2.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
1.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beckley East
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Beckley
Courtyard Beckley
#4 of 14 in Beckley
4.0 of 5 stars 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Beckley
Hampton Inn Beckley
#3 of 14 in Beckley
4.0 of 5 stars 394 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Resort at Glade Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ambrosia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ambrosia Inn

Property: The Ambrosia Inn
Address: 611 N. Kanawha Street, Beckley, WV 25801
Location: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Beckley
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing