We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An update on Southern comfort food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tamarack

Tamarack
Ranked #2 of 109 Restaurants in Beckley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $17
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“An update on Southern comfort food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

I recently was in the area on business. The weather was cold and dreary. I was hungry and wanted a REAL meal, and fast food just wouldn't do. The Tanarack food court was the perfect fit--fast service and exactly what I was craving at a terrific price. I highly recommend the Italian sausage dinner plate--and don't forget the roasted potatoes on the side. Deserts are great, too!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 20runner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    84
    28
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beckley, West Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A taste of the Greenbrier Resort just off the interstate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

The restaurant is great, they boast favorites from the famous Greenbrier Resort. Make sure you try the Fried Green Tomato Sandwichs, yum !!! Pricey, but the food is worth the cost. Atmosphere is not the greatest, but the Tamarack wants you to shop, not sit and eat. The shops are overly expensive, I recommend travel into the town and other local areas to shop, you will have a better selection and get more for your money.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Connie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA, USA
Level Contributor
290 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“We Love the Trout”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We discovered the quality of this food several years ago and always try to eat there on the way through. Our favorite is the trout and the vegetables are great also. We have never had anything bad there. The recipes come from The Greenbrier who manages the food service. The prices are higher than usual cafeterias but the food is not usual and is definitely worth the price. It is great place to shop for West Virginia items with numerous shops adjacent to the food area. We had stopped there to stretch our legs and shop for years before we discovered the quality of the food. It is often our source of unique gifts. This beats Cracker Barrel hands down with better food and better shopping.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank By_His_Grace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
109 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good food in wonderful setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

Anybody who drives by Tamarack, near Beckley, WV, wiil want to stop at this contemporary department store of West Virginia arts, crafts, furniture and other furnishings. Everything is of the best quality. That goes for the food in the cafeteria, which is catered by the Greenbriar resort. The cafeteria is relatively simple, but it is surrounded by glorious quilts and wood carvings and other artwork of every kind. Just as the arts and crafts are a taste of West Virginia's finest, so is the food. You can get Greenbriar peach cobbler or a fried green tomato sandwich. We had cottage cheese soup with cracked pepper and a Greek salad with marinated chicken. We followed that with a huge waffle cone of raspberry cheesecake ice cream. (How could anybody eat more than one scoop?) The service is friendly and efficient. The man who prepared the order insisted on carrying it over to our table because my wife was using a cane. You can see just about all the food before you order it, which is an advantage of a cafeteria. But the folks behind the counter makes sure it looks as good as it tastes whenever they put together your order. My only criticism is that the crew could be a little quicker sweeping up food dropped on the floor.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ernest58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level Contributor
120 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

My wife and I and friends plan our trips to eat lunch here on the way through the area, yes handmade goods are expensive but the problem is we are all used the prices for things made in China. Every meal I have had here has been great including one over the Thanksgiving holidays on the way back home, I had trout, sauteed green beans/mushrooms roasted red potatoes, my wife had breadcrumb encrusted salmon which was as good or better than the trout, broccoli casserole and roasted potatoes, we split a piece of cheesecake/fresh berries and 2 ice teas all for $23.80 What a great tasting meal and with good quantities, I feel it it worth every penny for the quality of food you are getting. Some are complaining on here but you cannot please everyone, I can't wait til we eat there again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank roamer7456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarack also viewed

 

Been to Tamarack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing