We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Liked it very much” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Beckley
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Liked it very much”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

Good hotel. We stayed here for 1 night to split a car journey. Was very pleased with the hotel in general and especially the room. As a goldpoints member we were upgraded to a canopy/whirlpool suite which was very nice. Staff were very helpful. Both the public areas and rooms were clean and tidy and the pool was very nice. Great place to stop and would consider staying here longer next tim.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grotetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    281
    120
    48
    25
See reviews for
460
187
38
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Level Contributor
162 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

Convenient, clean, large suites and pet friendly. Even have a pet walk area. Great staff and breakfast included. Will definitely stay again when we travel back through here.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISBeckleyGM, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, responded to this review, October 7, 2010
Thank you for staying with us in Beckley! We are currently in the process of upgrading and renovating our hotel. This fall we will begin replacing carpet, painting of rooms, introducing our new breakfast program, upgrading our swimming pool, adding a new telephone system, and expanding the wireless internet capabilities. Hopefully on your next visit, you will be able to enjoy some of these exciting changes!

Joe W. - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinnebog, Michigan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

Very nice staff and above average rooms. The best of the three hotels we stayed at in the area. Nice pool and two hot tubs to enjoy. Clean quiet rooms with good amenities. Very reasonable rates for the area. Close to a few different restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robalooey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

We stayed here overnight on our way back to Cleveland from Florida. Great access off the WV Turnpike, several restaurants/gas near by, only one exit down from a travel plaza and Tamarack. The hotel overall is quite clean, friendly staff, nice indoor pool (albeit cold) and hot tub (thankfully not scalding, more like a bath temperature such that my son could "swim" in it since the pool was so cold). There was also an adjoining outdoor pool and hot tub, but we didn't try those. The hot breakfast was very enjoyable and generous, although the small dining room was extremely [over]crowded. The mattress in our room was a little on the old side and was noisy when you moved around/turned over, but we still had a comfortable night's rest.

Our only issues were the rate (we've stayed in nicer places for a fraction of the $130 AAA suite rate) and a pretty serious MOLD issue on our bathroom ceiling and wall. Thankfully the tub and shower surround were spotless, especially since we didn't notice the mold until we were actually in the shower. I cannot imagine how this mold was overlooked by the cleaning staff. We reported it to the front desk upon check-out and the clerk was apologetic and immediately wrote up a maintenance ticket. She also adjusted our bill by $25.

I cannot say that I would stay here again, as I feel more value could be found elsewhere and I'd be willing to drive to a bigger city like Charleston in hopes of finding a more competitive hotel market. However, if you need to stay in Beckley, West Virginia for whatever reason, it would be an ok choice.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank curiousaboutgeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, North Carolina
Level Contributor
353 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

We were greeted warmly by James when we arrived to check in. After we went to our room, I realized it did not have a refrigerator. I asked James whether a room with one was available, and based upon our Goldpoints membership ungraded us to a suite with a refrigerator and microwave.The room was quite large, clean(both bedroom and bathroom) had 2 Tvs, desk for my computer,free wireless internet, cookies when we arrived, and free popcorn in the lobby that night. The pool was clean, plenty of towels, clean mensroom off the pool,2 hottubs(1 in & 1 Outside,and the pool extended outside. They had some rocking lounges which made the day's drive ease way back in my memory. Breakfast, while somewhat crowded,only took a couple of minutes in line and had waffles,cereals,eggs,bacon,sausage,biscuits and gravy juice milk,and coffee. I probably missed a couple of things(hard rolls and bagels), and the area was clean and kept well-stocked during the breakfast rush. For the value received, I would agree with the #1 rating in Beckley that this hotel has received. I would recommend for families,or anyone looking for a clean,quiet stay, with lots of extras included for your travel dollar.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kingfather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIchigan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

This hotel has seen it's better days. When we checked in they were nice enough! The room was outdated and the bath wasn't as clean as I would like to see...everything has a worn look to it. As we headed to the pool we took the big staircase...the handrail was very loose and wobbly...when we got to the pool area there were no towels and we had to request more. My son adored the pool as it is inside/outside...this was the reason we booked this hotel. It would not be enough of a reason to go back though. The indoor hot tub handrail was also...loose and wobbly and the jets did not even work. The outdoor hot tub was working though. Breakfast was mediore. I am thinking that whoever owns this property needs to invest in it.....make the necessary updates so they can stay competitibve....especially as there is a new holiday inn right next door...which had I known was there I would have stayed at.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vintageaprongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

This was my first stay at a Country Inn & Suites. The front desk clerk at check-in was outstanding! He was friendly, helpful, and had huge smile for everyone he greeeted. The rooms were clean, but the furnishings were just average. As one of the other reviewers stated, they are still using bedspreads on the beds, and these were quite dated. Also, the furniture was stained and dated. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was very clean and well stocked. We were only staying one night, and the room met our needs. We were there on a weekend, and the hotel was full. Therefore, trying to get breakfast the next morning was almost impossible. We settled for some coffee and grabbed some fruit from the table outside the breakfast room. I would stay again, but would probably first try the Courtyard or Fairfield Inn which are close by.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenEyedLady518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beckley hotels
4.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beckley East
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Beckley
Hampton Inn Beckley
#2 of 14 in Beckley
4.0 of 5 stars 420 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Beckley
Courtyard Beckley
#3 of 14 in Beckley
4.0 of 5 stars 252 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Beckley
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Beckley
Comfort Inn Beckley
#7 of 14 in Beckley
3.5 of 5 stars 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
Address: 2120 Harper Rd, Beckley, WV 25801-2631
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Beckley
#1 Family Hotel in Beckley
#2 Business Hotel in Beckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Carlson, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley Hotel Beckley
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Beckley
Country Inn Beckley
Beckley Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing