We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We really enjoy this hotel, but....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Beckley
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“We really enjoy this hotel, but....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

We really like this place. I would not hesitate to stay here again. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends. But, I think if they don't get on top of some things, they are going to start losing business. We have been staying here since they opened and stay for one night each July on our travel home from visiting family.

PROS: Great location whether you are just stopping over or staying to enjoy the local activities. Clean lobby, halls and room. Large, clean pool. Delicious breakfast with a nice assortment including sausage gravy, biscuits, eggs, sausage, and waffles. Friendly front desk staff. The room is more than spacious enough for our family of 5. Nice large bathroom. Good water pressure in the shower. Nice bathroom amenities. Plenty of towels in our room. Yummy cookies in the lobby if you can snag one. Easy access to plenty of free ice on each floor. Nice TVs in the rooms. Free internet.

CONS: Breakfast room is small in comparison to the size of the hotel, so if it is full, expect to wait in line. The placement of the coffee, juice and milk in the line requires you to wait in what could be a long line just to refill your beverage. Our first room we were sent to was very smoky. Not sure if this could have been avoided, but one would think housekeeping would have taken care of this (the hotel is non-smoking, but I think when it opened they had smoking rooms. So this was either a previous smoking room or the folks before us smoked in the room). The pool door does not require the use of a key to get in, so very small children (not mine!) come and go as they please totally unsupervised. They appeared understaffed as the two guys at the front desk were working their tails off with no back up. They still use the old bedspreads and blankets. Why can't everyone go to the policy of 100% fresh bedding for each customer? Ick! I would even like it if they used a comforter that they wrap with fresh sheets for each new customer (like Wydham in Gettysburg). The biggest issue....the mattress on the sleeper sofa was worse than just sleeping on the floor. I think a gravel road would have felt better, LOL. My son (who can sleep anywhere) had a miserable night's sleep because the mattress was so bad.

So, as you can see, the cons are not earth shattering ones. Just ones that if continue to worsen or add up, could cause them future problems. We will stay here again next July. We still really enjoy this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzibell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    269
    115
    43
    23
See reviews for
422
184
37
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

We've often passed through Beckley and stopped for the night. This is our 3rd stay at this hotel. We liked the great pool and hot tubs. The pool is mostly indoors, but a portion of the pool is outdoors and there is also a 2nd hot tub outside. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The breakfast is terrific and features cold items such as cereal. fruit, juice and bad muffins, along with waffles, biscuits and gravy, eggs both scrambled and hard boiled, bacon and sausage. There are several restaurants within walking distance. This hotel's parking lot connects to a Cracker Barrel parking lot, so we ate there. I normally dislike the Cracker Barrel, but this one was ok.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank corinascot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

If you have children this is the hotel to stay in Beckley. They have an indoor pool and outdoor pool that connect. Their breakfast is very good and has many options, hotel check out is not till noon, so you do not have to rush in the morning. The internet is high speed, so you can even watch movies or shows on the computer without it buffering. Overall I really enjoyed this hotel and would recommend it friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ruth_miller28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

We have come this hotel for years now when we go rafting in West Virginia. It was nice, and was #1 but is getting run down. We had to change rooms due to really loud fans from other rooms, in the walls? even the desk person couldn't figure out what the noise was coming from. Peeling wallpaper, very mediocre breakfast. Not worth the extra this hotel charges over other hotels in the area. We will look elsewhere next year.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mlading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

This was a very clean place to stay with a great staff, everyone from the check in through the hot breakfast staff. The breakfast area was kept neat and organized and well stocked even through the busy time of morning. Would highly recommend this inn for children due to the extra nice indoor/outdoor pool.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OCDtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

We stopped at the Country Inn and Suites (with 5 children) on our way back home to Chicago. We found this hotel hotel to be extremely clean and the staff to be super friendly. My kids enjoyed the pool so much. I was amazed at how clean the pool, pool area and pool bathrooms were - hotel pools and hottubs usually give me the creeps but this one was great! There were towels there on carts for the taking so you did not have to bring the ones from your room and a place to leave them when you were leaving the pool. The pool and huge hottub are huge and there is lots of inside seating. There is also an outside pool and hottub and very comfy longe chairs whre many people were just laying out there reading books and relaxing. The beds were so comfortable and the sheets nice and soft - not polyester scratchy. I asked the hotel if they had a pack and play and they wheeled in a small real crib and even set it up! The breakfast there is amazing - fresh waffles, cereal, yogurt, bagels, fruit ... everything to get you ready for the next leg of you trip!! Great experience!!

Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank southerntravel2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

This hotel is just of the interstate which makes it an ideal location. We used this hotel as a base for visiting the excellent New River Gorge, and it was perfect for that.

The room was large with all the basics (although no fridge), and very clean, but our ground floor room looked right out onto the car park so for any privacy we had to keep the thick curtains closed all the time. Despite our rooms location, it was extremely quiet.

There are some nice swing chairs in the porch outside of the hotel, nice for sitting in mulling the day over and watching the world go by.

Breakfast was good, which a wide choice of hot and cold food, and there are ample places to eat in Beckley itself. It’s impossible to walk anywhere in the outskirts of Beckley, so driving for less than a mile to a Pizza Hut, we passed 14 other food outlets.

There was a good mix of people at the hotel, from single business people to families and older couples.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BloodyHollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beckley hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley
4.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beckley East
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Beckley
Hampton Inn Beckley
#3 of 14 in Beckley
4.0 of 5 stars 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Beckley
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Courtyard Beckley
#4 of 14 in Beckley
4.0 of 5 stars 242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Beckley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
Address: 2120 Harper Road, Beckley, WV 25801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Beckley
#1 Family Hotel in Beckley
#2 Business Hotel in Beckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Beckley
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley Hotel Beckley
Country Inn Beckley
Beckley Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing