We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for "on the go" stops...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Beckley
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good for "on the go" stops...”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stopped here while en route and it was pretty average. The room smelled a little musty, but the linens and bathroom were relatively clean. It was pet friendly which was a bonus for us. The hotel is doing some renovations so the breakfast is served in another building which is a short walk away, but we had my 83 year old grandmother with us and going down a set of concrete steps, outside, in the freezing weather for breakfast wasn't ideal. Overall, it's your average interstate hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Dewey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the property. Your review will assist my team in offering the best accommodation while delivering first class service. The staff and I work hard to make the hotel right for the traveler who visits our property, always trying to bring the home while you are away from home. Again, thank you for staying and safe travels where ever the road may bring you,

Jerry Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    330
    145
    61
    30
See reviews for
570
222
43
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
asheville, nc
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Just to note that the building is being renovated now. The room we had was lovely with a hot tub in the room, sitting area with fridge and microwave. It would be nice if there were some utensils in the room so that if you actually did prepare food you could eat it. Because it is under renovation, the breakfast was in a separate building; however, it was still a full breakfast with eggs, sausage, grits, biscuits, and the usual cold stuff. I would return to this hotel. Everything was clean and well kept. We could hear voices and the tv through the wall.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank contradancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Country Inn and Suites, Beckley, WV. We do appreciate your kind thoughts about the property. We are under renovations which is challenging to maintain a level of cleanliness during this process but we are trying very hard to manage during the process. Again thank you for the review, we can't wait to show off the new look of the property and we look forward to serving you again. Safe travels!

Jerry Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is a real bargain for the quality. The beds were super comfortable and the breakfast was very good. The rooms were extremely clean and the hotel staff very friendly. The pool is huge! We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cchike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for making our day! We do appreciate the kind review and would like to say that it truly mean so much to the staff when we receive such a positive review! Thank you so much for staying, we look forward to serving you again! You will see a significant change in the hotel by the end of winter, we are currently renovating several areas of the property, we hope you enjoy the new look! Again, thank you and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keyser, West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is one of the nicest Country Inns we have stayed in. The pool is absolutely huge, and has a swim out to an outdoor pool and hot tub for a four seasons outdoor pool. The breakfast had all we could want and more, and the front desk was on the ball when she noticed that I was assigned to a king bed but noticed we had a family of four, so she fixed that right away. I would highly recommend it andwill stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeshultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful review, it has made my day! We do appreciate when travelers have something nice to say about the hotel we care so deeply for, it brings a feeling of pride in a job well done! Well, wait till you see our upcomming renovations! The refresh will begin in December and should be complete by the end of Spring, all new everything, we are so excited. We hope you will be as well. Thanks you for the positive review I will make sure I share your kind words to the staff for a job well done! Safe travels!

Jerry Smith
General Manager
Country Inn and Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed one night on the way to Florida and we enjoyed our stay.The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and had the best bathroom and shower of our two week trip.The breakfast was excellent and not too crowded even with a bus tour on hand. We were able to walk to dinner nearby. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joeandpeggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you so much for the kind review, it is always great to hear from a happy customer. WE do work hard to make sure our guests feel at home, and we do appreciate your warm comments. Thank you for staying with us, it was our please to serve you and hope to see you again soon.

Jerry Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The hotel is looking a bit tired and could certainly use a facelift, which i think they are going to do next year. But it is still a very clean, tidy and comfortable place to stay. The staff are quite friendly and helpful and check in and out is very smooth and efficient. Coffee and cookies are often available upon evening check in.
The breakfast is both hot and cold and well presented. Thee are several restaurats nearby which makes this a nice simple stop off on a trip. We have stayed here several times over the past few years and would certainly stay again.
Only negative item was we stayed on election night Nov 6th, hotel was very empty, yet they still placed us next door to other travellers and the tv sound certainly travels through the wall. The people next door stayed up until 3 in the morning listening to election returns, given the vacany rate on would have thought they would not have placed people right next to each other.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellers-Ont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
You made my day! Thank you for the kind words, the staff and management works hard to please every guest and it makes our day when we come through with our promise! Again, thank you and we hope to see you again real soon! Safe travels!

Jerry Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed one night here on our way to Myrtle Beach from Niagara Falls, Canada. It was a real pleasure with many unexpected pleasentries, like fresh apples and cookies at the front desk. A great computer center and at first glance, a great outdoor seating area.
The indoor/outdoor pool and hottubs were a pleasure, nice and warm.
The Free Breakfast was a surprize with all the amenities both hot and cold.
The rooms themselves are average, infact bordering on needing renovation, but were fully functional.

Decided to stay at this same place on the way back! Not such a good idea!
This is an animal friendly place, we ended up with a dog across the hall, who's owners left it in the room on it's own. Lots of barking! Upon complaining, we were told it if it continued once the owners returned to let the front desk know. 3 hrs later the barking stopped!
Next the pool. Not so hot anymore, heater broken as well as the jets in the hottub. Again, mentioned it to the front desk staff and I was told the the hottubs don't have jets! REALLY!!

BUT MY BIGGEST COMPLAINT.....the outdoor seating area! Although it appears to be a nice place to sit, the SMOKERS congregate in this location. You have to walk through a cloud of smoke everytime you need to get to your car. God forbid if your room is immediately above the area! It is for this very reason, that I will never return.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room on an upper level, away from the front of the building. This side is away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burnt2acrisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the property. I am sorry that this stay did not meet your expectations. Can you please call me at 304-252-5100 or email me at jsmith@hlihotels.com so we can have a discussion about this stay. Thank you.

Jerry Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beckley hotels
3.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beckley East
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Beckley
Hampton Inn Beckley
#2 of 14 in Beckley
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Beckley
Courtyard Beckley
#5 of 14 in Beckley
278 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Beckley
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Beckley
Comfort Inn Beckley
#6 of 14 in Beckley
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
Address: 2120 Harper Rd, Beckley, WV 25801-2631
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Beckley
#1 Romantic Hotel in Beckley
#2 Business Hotel in Beckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Beckley
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley Hotel Beckley
Country Inn Beckley
Beckley Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing