We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair value, better than average beds, good breakfast selection”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Beckley
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fair value, better than average beds, good breakfast selection”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2011

We chose the Country Inn & Suites as the place to break out trip to Orlando from Toronto, both out and back, based on a Toronto Star article and TripAdvisor rating/reviews. It was everything we expected i.e., a good, mid-priced place to break a long trip.

As mentioned by other reviewers, it's close to the highway, the rooms are tidy, the toiletries are *not* cut-rate, the towels are *not* thin sandpaper, it's not the newest place but it feels competently run and the breakfast meets my price point expectations. The biggest disappointment is that the coffee is just a little too blah for my liking.

Things that our family, including the young people, liked were the pool and the free wireless Internet. As well, our kids took advantage of the in room refrigerator for so that they could save what they didn't eat at dinner for the next day. The pool was quite popular as they had a way of working off excess energy at the end of a long day's drive and had fun swimming under the partition to swim outside (in March) as well as messing about in the outdoor hot tub.

Lastly, it's very close to many, many restaurants - including the Cracker Barrel that's just across the parking lot. Plus, there's a Starbucks in the nearby Travel Plaza (1 highway exit away) for those wanting a premium Cuppa Joe for the next leg of their drive.

We'd definitely choose this property the next time we make the drive.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Olde_biL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISBeckleyGM, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, responded to this review, March 28, 2011
I was very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in WV! Our hotel is currently undergoing some renovations - such as new carpet, new paint, etc. We just recently renovated our indoor/outdoor swimming pool. Our new "Be Our Guest" breakfast has been well received. I hope that on your next visit, you will be able to see some more of our completed renovations! Thanks for choosing our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    313
    135
    54
    28
See reviews for
524
209
40
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dalton, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2011

Great place to stay in Beckley, Wv. The rooms are very spacious (suites are exceptional) and clean. The breakfast is one of the best--hot items, cold items, great variety. The pool and hot tub are a wonderful way to relax at the end of the day. The swim under pool is great!!! All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. No complaints at all!!! We stayed at Glade Springs Resort last year but I would much rather stay at Country Inn and Suites for the spacious accomadations and the conveniences of restaurants all around. Highly recommend!!! Even Hot Baked Cookies in the Lobby!!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skicrazy3778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISBeckleyGM, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, responded to this review, March 28, 2011
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip to WV. I was very pleased to see that you enjoyed our hotel and have given us such kind sentiments in your review. Since your visit, we have started to make some changes such as new carpet, new paint, etc. I hope that you will notice these changes next year when you visit us! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banner Elk NC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2011

I booked this place because it was #1 on Trip Advisor. The hotel was newer and clean..Not the nicest place I've ever stayed but considering there is not that many hotels in Beckley the Country Inn and Suites is the best. I have stayed at the Microtel before which was ok too. I would recommend anyone spending a night in Beckley to give the Country Inn and Suites a try...Plus the breakfast offering was good too..hot oatmeal on a cold day...yum.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank admepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2011

We travel to Beckley several times a year and this is the only hotel we will stay in. Have tried "similar" ones in the area and there is no comparison. Rooms are clean and hotel service is excellent. The indoor swimming pool and hot tub area, which is duplicated by going "under" the pool to outside, was very clean and well maintained. Breakfast has hot and cold items available (waffles, eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits and gravy, hot and cold cereal, etc.). Cracker Barrel is literally right next door. Many other restaurants and businesses are also close by, as well as The Tamarack, which showcases beautiful antiques and craft works for sale. The hotel is currently under renovation, but we're usually gone by the time it begins during the day. Classy hotel with much to offer. Looking forward to our next trip to Beckley.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovemydogsillinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eaton, Ohio
Level Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2010

stayed there just one night, but it was an excellent stay. placed me in a quiet room, got a good nights sleep. Used the pool and it was clean and a good temperature. Staff was very helpful in assisting me with driving directions and helping me find a good restaurant. Overall a very good stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel4CEU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2010

Good hotel. We stayed here for 1 night to split a car journey. Was very pleased with the hotel in general and especially the room. As a goldpoints member we were upgraded to a canopy/whirlpool suite which was very nice. Staff were very helpful. Both the public areas and rooms were clean and tidy and the pool was very nice. Great place to stop and would consider staying here longer next tim.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grotetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Level Contributor
171 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2010

Convenient, clean, large suites and pet friendly. Even have a pet walk area. Great staff and breakfast included. Will definitely stay again when we travel back through here.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISBeckleyGM, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, responded to this review, October 7, 2010
Thank you for staying with us in Beckley! We are currently in the process of upgrading and renovating our hotel. This fall we will begin replacing carpet, painting of rooms, introducing our new breakfast program, upgrading our swimming pool, adding a new telephone system, and expanding the wireless internet capabilities. Hopefully on your next visit, you will be able to enjoy some of these exciting changes!

Joe W. - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beckley hotels
3.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beckley East
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Beckley
Hampton Inn Beckley
#3 of 14 in Beckley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Beckley
Courtyard Beckley
#5 of 14 in Beckley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Beckley
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Beckley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
Address: 2120 Harper Road, Beckley, WV 25801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Beckley
#1 Romantic Hotel in Beckley
#2 Business Hotel in Beckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Beckley
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley Hotel Beckley
Country Inn Beckley
Beckley Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing