We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“sub-standard for a hampton inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Beckley
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Beckley
toronto
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“sub-standard for a hampton inn”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

this hotel is conveniently located at the halfway point between toronto and orlando hence this hotel is busy and more expensive than the closest hampton inns north or south on the I-77. the front desk staff is very friendly and you get free parking, wifi and buffet breakfast. with that said the room was below the standard of other hampton inns. the swing lock on the door was broken and hanging on by one screw, the TV remote does not change channels and there is no other way to change channels, there is no fridge or microwave, the coffee maker is in the bathroom, the grab rail in the shower is rusting, the fan in the bathroom does not work and the A/C is old and loud. i could have complained and maybe got switched but i was only staying one night so i didnt bother. never-the-less hampton should not offer this room at regular price. i am a seasoned traveller and a fan of hampton inns and the hilton chain, its just that this hampton was not up to standards. this hotel needs updating and maintenance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    138
    102
    34
    13
See reviews for
187
173
34
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beckley, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

I was treated with courtesy by the uniformed staff. The staff always seemed to be focused on the job at hand. The rooms have dark-stained furnishings, which make them seem like a level up from what I expected. The beds are very comfortable, and the showers have good water pressure and good temperature variation. The staff puts out fresh popcorn and cookies at night, as well as all of the standard Hampton Inn coffees and teas. Breakfast in the morning is well stocked, and there is ample seating in the lobby. There is a TV on in the lobby for regular viewing and a vending machine for snacks / drinks in the lobby, as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Hampton Inn in Beckley is located within walking distance of at least three decent restaurants/fast food. Hotel was very clean; rooms were awesome ... too cold for pool, but pool was very nice as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Robyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snow Hill Nc
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

this hotel was clean and staff very professional and nice. But! Room with 2 beds very very small, no place to put anything. Beds seemed really small, supposed to be 2 queens, but did not seem like it. Bathroom small. 3 of us in room, traveled with 14 year old grandson, and this room did not fill our needs. Breakfast was ok, same as most, but the area to first get the breakfast, very small and crowded. Just one wall with all the foods, and if 3 people were getting food, no room for anyone else! Impossibe to make a waffel. Had to go to lobby beside checkin for coffee. Seating was ok, but crowded . Pool looked great, but to chilly the day we were there.I have same complaint I have had at the last few Hampton Inn's I've been to No Refridgerator, and No microwave, with kids you really need those items!!

Room Tip: Ask the bed size and size of room and if you need refridg and microwave, ask ahead of arrival!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st albans, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

rooms average with floor air-condition that never got the room temp down to desired degree. no fridge. small rooms. breakfast was not very tasteful unless you would have wanted cold cereal or waffles.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandenburg, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stopped in Beckley on our way home from VA. The hotel was great, as usual, even though there is no in-door pool. I do not suggest dining at the steak house in front of the hotel...service was slow and they didn't know how to cook a slider to well done.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank 254ElaineM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

I must stay this hotel is one of the better hotels in this area. The customer service was great, quick check in and out. My only biggest thing was the a/c was a little loud, and made it hard to hear the tv when it came on. The hotel and rooms are a little worn, but very clean. The cleanliness of this hotel will help me choose this hotel again on my next trip to Beckley.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beckley hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
3.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beckley East
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Beckley
Courtyard Beckley
#5 of 14 in Beckley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Beckley
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Beckley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Beckley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Beckley

Property: Hampton Inn Beckley
Address: 110 Harper Park Dr, Beckley, WV 25801-2660
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Beckley
#5 Family Hotel in Beckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Beckley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re looking for an outdoor adventure, but with the comforts of home, the Hampton Inn Beckley is the perfect place to rest your head at night. Just minutes from whitewater rafting, skiing, zip lining and more, this conveniently located hotel near I-77 and I-64 is the perfect base camp for your West Virginia, outdoor excursions. Enjoy a clean and fresh Hampton bed® each night of your stay along with a free, hot breakfast each morning, high-speed internet, fitness center and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Beckley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Beckley Hotel Beckley
Beckley Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing