We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below average for its class”
Review of Courtyard Beckley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Beckley
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Beckley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2009

My wife and I stay in Beckley and Charleston, WV with our two young children a few times each year, as both are about midway between our home and our parents' homes. We usually stay at the Hampton, Residence Inn, or a similar class hotel. The Hampton was under construction in Beckley, so we chose the Courtyard as an alternative. Overall I can't say that the hotel is horrible, as we were only looking for a safe, clean, inexpensive place to stay for the night after a long day of driving. But the little things added up to make for a disappointing overall experience.

The hotel is convenient to Interstate 77 and not difficult to find. There are plenty of restaurants and gas stations in the area. Check-in late in the evening was smooth and efficient. No problems with the key card, Internet access, or the television.

The room was generally clean, but there were unusual discolorations on one of the bedsheets. The television was a little aged, but there was a good selection of cable channels to choose from. The walls were paper-thin, and we heard other guests screaming at kids running and yelling in the halls all night. The mattress was average. We had plenty of pillows, and other than the strange discoloration, the bedding was clean and comfortable, The property is newer and not run down by any means, but the small things - toilet seat, shower curtain, carpeting, etc. - screamed of cheap materials and shoddy workmanship. The temperature control in the room was not functioning. To be fair, we did not complain to the hotel about any of these issues. Given the late hour, they were mere nuisances.

Breakfast entailed cold cereal and muffins for almost $30 for a family of four, which represented almost a third of the total charge. It was of similar quality to the complimentary breakfasts offered in Holiday Inn Express and similar hotels.

This hotel isn't a bad place to stay if other hotels in the area are booked and you just need a room for the night. However, at this price point there are much better options in the area. The overall experience (other than getting gouged for "breakfast") was typical of a motel six or similar class hotel. I would not recommend this hotel to a friend or family member.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank demonspawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Beckley
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 285 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2008

We stayed at this hotel on two separate occasions in October as it was a mid trip point enroute to Myrtle Beach.
It was clean, comfortable and quiet as well as being convenient to the Interstate.
Staff were very cordial and the price was reasonable considering the quality. We would not hesitate to stay there again if we were to stop in Beckley again.
There is an Outback Steakhouse across the lot from the hotel so one doesn't have to look far for a meal.
The hotel has a breakfast buffet for a fee and it was quite good.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Starsky13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2008

My husband and I stayed four weekday nights in a King room with sofa. A medium-size hotel, 4 floors, 2 elevators, ice & vending on each floor, and FREE washer & dryer on the first floor. Standard TV rather than flat-screen but an enormous variety of channels. Excellent mattress, lots of pillows, 3 sets of towels, a nice adjustable shower head, but not a lot of space on either side of the sink. Small balcony but view is other hotels and restaurants. USA Today, Wall St. Journal, and local newspaper are available, plus two free computers in the lobby (not sure what printing costs). The fitness room is crowded with a stair stepper, bike, 2 treadmills, and a rack of free weights. There's also a small indoor pool. Desk clerks were accessible and pleasant.

Coffee and hot water are available in the lobby all day, but there is a charge for breakfast. We paid $11 for both of us by booking the night before, which covered juice, cold cereal, hot oatmeal, sausage patties, biscuits, gravy, waffle, scrambled eggs, bacon, milk, bagels, pastries. Otherwise, it's about $8 full buffet and $5 continental. I also saw an a la carte menu. This could change, so ask when you book your room. There is also an "Omelet Shoppe" across the street and a pancake house within a block. If you shop at Tamarack close by, you can eat breakfast beginning at 8 am.

This is a congested area with lots of hotels and restaurants plus a Kroger grocery 1/2 mile away. Very convenient to I-77 and I-64. If you plan to drive downtown, get a detailed map and/or very precise directions because the hilly terrain rules out a nice grid street pattern; there are some one-way streets, some name changes, etc.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank DaylilyFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2008

This is a very nice and clean place. All staff was friendly and the complimentary use of the washing machine was key.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank glr30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2008

Room was very very clean and very comfortable. We enjoyed the jacuzzi and heated pool after a long day of snow skiing. Restaurants nearby and Winterplace is about 20 mins away. Please remember if you are going back and forth to Winterplace you will need to pay a toll of $1.25 there and back. I would stay here again and was very pleased with the size of the room. We had a room with 2 queens.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LLH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2008

The hotel was OK and the staff was not friendly but curtious. My experience with this stay was horrible due to the $250 charge placed on my credit card. I smoked on the balcony of a non-smoking room (all are non-smoking) and have been assesed a cleaning charge because they said the room smelled like smoke. I called to contest the charge and have pretty much been blown off. I was not informed of the potential charge but was told it is on the paperwork that I signed. I explained that I didn't smoke in the room but put the cigatette butts in a can that was placed in the garbage and that may have been where the smell was coming from. I was then informed the balcony is part of the room and I couldn't smoke there either. If this charge is not removed from my bill I can't see myself ever staying at a Marriot again.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
18  Thank RockManHuntington_WV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2007

Clean, quiet, and comfortable. Close to Outback Steakhouse, Applebee's, and McDonald's. Enjoyed greatly!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen2152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beckley hotels
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Beckley
Hampton Inn Beckley
#2 of 14 in Beckley
545 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Beckley
3.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beckley East
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Beckley
Comfort Inn Beckley
#7 of 14 in Beckley
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Beckley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Beckley

Address: 124 Hylton Ln, Beckley, WV 25801-2691
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Beckley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Beckley
#4 Business Hotel in Beckley
Price Range: $122 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Beckley 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Courtyard Beckley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Beckley Hotel Beckley
Beckley Marriott
Beckley Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing