We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Char

The Char
Ranked #2 of 109 Restaurants in Beckley
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

you can valet or self park. Great bar selection. I have never been served a bad meal here. I do wish they would bring bread to the table, you get a basket of assorted crackers instead. Great atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PolishPrincess216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    55
    21
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hinton, West Virginia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“No Reservations Needed.”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Great setting! Plenty of parking (valet or self). Food has been very good, the both times I have been here. Your gorup has to be at least 8 before one can reserve.

Betty and I lucked out when we arrived the last time and got a table at the window, facing the pond and watched the geese play before eating.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tarusbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, N.C.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A perfect place for a date......”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

If you're looking for a special place to take someone REALLY SPECIAL in your life, take them to THE CHAR, valet parking, A+ service, food, staff will make you feel you are the only ones that are important in the whole restaurant. Casual dress, so dress is important. In the spring, they are ducks on their pond, so romantic. GUYS, take advice from this lady, you can't go wrong with this restaurant. It's perfect!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank hammitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckley, West Virginia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“My favorite”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

The Char is my favorite restaurant in Beckley. The view of their pond is nice. Food is excellent, the service is awesome. The wine is tasty.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank MarinaCay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helen,wv
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“local gal.”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Went there for our anniversary a few years ago. Food was good but the surroundings need some updating.

Helpful?
Thank traci l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Char also viewed

 

Been to The Char? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing