We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, but try not to inhale”
Review of Super 8 Beckley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Beckley
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Beckley
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We recently spent a night at the Super 8 in Beckley WV, en route to a week's vacation in Myrtle Beach, South Carolina. If you're driving from southern Ontario or upstate New York, Beckley provides a welcome mid-point in your journey. What's more, the hotel is located just off the West Virginia turnpike. Leave the north early in the morning and you'll be arriving in Beckley right around cocktail hour.
Our first impressions were strong ones, but not good. A heavy odour of cigarette smoke greeted us the moment we entered the lobby. And although we'd booked a non-smoking room, I doubt if one exists at the Super 8, except in name only. Years of cigarettes have made the non-smoking room an animal as endangered as a deer in hunting season.
Next problem: our view. A busy car wash is located within a sud's throw of the rooms at the back of the hotel. Not great to look at, and noisy, too - especially if you want to open your window to clear out some smoke.
On a positive note, the hotel is close to a number of restaurants. We enjoyed a fun Valentine's Day dinner at the local Outback Steak House, and walked home. No drinking and driving to worry about. Breakfast is included in the cost. Nothing fancy, but appreciated. And the Appalachian scenery around Beckley is spectacular.
The room itself was adequate, and the bathroom clean. The room rate was about average, although we found other hotels offering more for the same price - including clean air.
All in all, Super 8 Beckley doesn't compete with the Bates Motel for "Worst Experience". Its location serves snow birds well. And if you're so inclined, just get up in the morning, buy a pack of smokes, wash the car, and head for the hills. It's all there for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front to avoid the sight and sound of the car wash.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank camlev77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
There are newer reviews for Super 8 Beckley
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 311 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

The room was comfortable and quiet. The desk clerk was helpful and polite. The upholstered chairs were a little dingy with stained arms and cushions, and I couldn't get the coffeemaker to work. The only exposed outlets in the entire room/suite were in the bathroom and they didn't seem to work. I was able to get coffee from the lobby though so it worked out. Overall-not impressed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evelyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The room we stayed in was extremely dirty. There was hair in the shower and tub. Also, dirt and hair all around the toilet. The tile around the jacuzzi was filthy as well. There was a coffee maker, but no coffee in the basket. The lamp didn't have a lightbulb in it and anothe of the other lights was blown out. Toilet didnt flush and constantly ran. Air conditioner worked for about 10 minutes at a time and then shut off. I had to go turn it of and then on again to get it working, but again, after 10 minutes or so, it would shut off.
I usually love Super 8 hotels. I've stayed in many of them while traveling, but this one was a HUGE dissapointment. I would not stay there again. Definatley NOT worth $110.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank BARBARA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank JOSEPH L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beckley hotels
3.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beckley East
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Beckley
Econo Lodge Beckley
#13 of 14 in Beckley
246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Beckley
Travelodge Beckley
#6 of 14 in Beckley
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn by Wyndham Beckley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Beckley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Beckley

Address: 2014 Harper Rd, Beckley, WV 25801-2614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Beckley
Price Range: $54 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Beckley 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Beckley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Beckley Hotel Beckley
Beckley Super 8
Beckley Super Eight
Super Eight Beckley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing