We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy Room”
Review of Super 8 Beckley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Beckley
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Beckley
CLEVELAND
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Filthy Room”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Room 208 was unclean. debris on floor. Pubic hairs on sheets. Went to front desk for clean sheets - she was only one on staff. She said this was unusual, older lady who cleans usually does great job. Next morning saw young, heavily tattooed guy doing cleaning. Do not stay here if you have a choice. Go a little further up the road to decent place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WANDRA E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    57
    70
    58
    69
See reviews for
125
73
30
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Okeechobee, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Stay out of ROOM 206 BEDBUGS. I stayed in this hotel 1 night after checking out by the next night i have bites all over. Wanted me to pay for someone to come in and checck to see if there were bedbugs. Stay away from this hotel!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Beckley hotels

Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

This hotel is nasty. Carpets are filthy. Old and smells of smoke. Do not stay at this place until it has been remodeled.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TDSEH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indian trail
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2011

My family went to W.VA for Labor day weekend. Our cousin reserved our room with his credit card. My husband went inside to check in when we arrived. He paid for the room in cash with a one hundred dollar bill, the clerk said to him "do you want change" how strange. Well the next thing we get a call from our cousin who reserved the room, saying that his credit card was charged for the room. Well we have been on the phone to Super 8 everyday since that. So long story short we have to send our cousin $78.00 for a room that we paid cash for. I guess the clerk decided he needed a tip. Needles to say we will never stay at Super 8 ever again, for that matter in any state. A very unhappy customer

Room Tip: Don't Stay At Super 8 they steal your money
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

I got there at a little past midnight. The lobby was dark, but the TV was going. There was no front desk assistant to be seen. As I walked around calling for someone to check me in (there was no bell or buzzer in sight), I heard a phone ring behind me in the lobby. There, on one of the couches, the front desk assistant was lying, FAST ASLEEP. He woke up and checked me into my room.
After I got unpacked and undressed for the shower, the phone rang. It was our friend at the front desk, informing me that he had checked me into the wrong room, and I needed to switch rooms right away. After a brief "conversation", I got dressed, packed up, and moved to the new room.
After several days, I realized my stay needed to be extended. I got back to the hotel late that night, and went into the lobby to speak to the assistant. As I expected, the lobby was dark, and the assistant was asleep on the couch again. When I woke him to extend my stay, he wouldn't even get up from lying on the couch to make the change on the computer. All he would say was, "Don't worry, man. I'll take care of you."
The next morning, I thought I would double-check to make sure that the extension had actually happened, so I went down to the lobby again. People were milling around, getting their breakfast, and the assistant was nowhere to be found. I leaned over the counter, and (no joke) there he was, lying on the floor, asleep. Unbelievable.
After the 5th night of staying in Room 206, I woke up around 4:30am to go to work. As I rolled over, I saw a reddish-brown bug crawling away from me... Having never seen a bed bug before, I squashed it and discovered that it was full of blood. MY blood. I looked it up on the internet, and sure enough, it was a bed bug. By quickly looking around the bottom corners of the box spring, I was able to easily locate at least a dozen bed bugs. Some of their dried carcasses were on the floor, along with small cookie chunks and other debris. Clearly, housekeeping must not include vacuuming in their normal routine.
Although I immediately transferred to another room on another floor, I had been bitten 65 times just on one arm. I'm sure there were more bed bugs that I didn't see, because the room was infested.
Would I stay here again? Not if I could possibly help it. If I had to, I would bring a plastic sheet to drape over the bed and sleep on top of that. With my clothes on.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Checked in September 14, woke at midnight and discovered the sheets and pillows were crawling with bugs. Freak out! The front desk helped me find another motel but acted like this was an isolated experience. That is not the case. Skip this place and don't bring the bugs back to contaminate YOUR home.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_WV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison WI
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

I've had good experiences with Super 8, so I stopped in Beckley on my way to visit family. The price charged me as a walk-in customer was completely outrageous: 42% more than rates available online! Do they think we don't check?

I was exhausted, so I accepted the ridiculous price, only to be placed in a room whose baseboards hadn't been swept in years. Carpets everywhere were tired, threadbare, and dirty. I was glad to leave the next morning, and I am now very leery of Super 8. This particular motel is NOT helping their brand.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cavlec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beckley hotels
3.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beckley East
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Beckley
Travelodge Beckley
#9 of 14 in Beckley
398 reviews
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Beckley
Econo Lodge Beckley
#13 of 14 in Beckley
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Beckley
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Beckley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Beckley

Property: Super 8 Beckley
Address: 2014 Harper Rd, Beckley, WV 25801-2614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Beckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Beckley 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Beckley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Beckley Hotel Beckley
Beckley Super 8
Beckley Super Eight
Super Eight Beckley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing