We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“You get what you pay for?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Beckley
Stratford, Ontario
1 review
“You get what you pay for?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

While this was a relatively inexpensive hotel I still feel the need to complain after experiencing several other 'discount' hotels. The place was dingy - we had reserved a smoking room (that's right a smoker complaining!) and we got a non-smoking room (though I have no doubt it was previously smoked in). Sheets were pretty sad looking and well beyond their day! I suppose for one night it served its purpose and the general area was good - short walk to restaurants etc. but all in all would not stay again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caffeen7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    105
    90
    62
    50
See reviews for
155
110
29
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston WV
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2007

My husband and I booked a NON-SMOKING room and in most cases you can't tell. We went to bed about 11:30 p.m and the bedding SMELLED of SMOKE it was TERRIBLE the maids did not change the bedding that morning if they had done their job I am sure it would not have bother me. I called down to the desk and no one answered until I used my cell phone I told the guy @ the desk what was going on and he said well mama alls I left is 2 SMOKING rooms witch I can show you now I ask this WHY WOULD I GO FROM A SMOKING ROOM TO A SMOKING ROOM so my husband went down stairs to get some CLEAN bedding. When he got down there the guy @ the desk asked my husband do you have a king or queen bed my husband said king and the guy gave us sheets for a queen. It is now a week later I have tried to get in touch with the owner/gen. MGR for a week now only to be told that he is not there. I am telling you this if you want CLEAN Sheets on your bed DON'T STAY HERE @ this Howard Johnson Express Inn @ 1907 Harper Rd Beckley, WV pay the x-tra $$$$$$$ and stay where it is clean. In my opinion this hotel rates a -100%

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WVsoccermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Beckley hotels

Missouri
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2007

No ice machine, no elevator although two floors so be prepared to lug your luggage. Room smelled.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RestnEasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Toronto
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2007

We stayed for 1 night on our way south to Florida with our 4 kids. Just a typical motel, nothing to make the rating 'above average' but also nothing that I would consider a problem. It was clean and the staff were good.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarrenA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2007

We used AAA to evaluate the property in Beckley and they said it was a 3 star location. We found the room to have been upgraded and it was more than adequate, but the overall facility was very old looking and nowhere near what a 3 star property should be.
There was no elevator and it was very difficult to get luggage up the narrow stairs. The stairs were very old looking and dimly lit.

The hallway on the second floor had new carpet, as did the rooms. The carpet was nice.

The breakfast area was SO SMALL that people could not get around each other to get food. There was minimal seating.

We got a rate over the internet of 63 dollars. The desk person made us feel guilty for not paying the "normal" weekend rate. It sounded like she was going to tell off the new girl that gave it to us over the phone.

Overall, I would rate this a 1 or maybe 2 star property. I would not stay here again, as there are better places in Beckley than this.

  • Liked — room
  • Disliked — accessibility
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erchphs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2006

I stay in Beckley frequently but this was my first stay at HoJo. The facilities were clean but that's about it. The pool is tiny. Our room was at the back of the hotel. If you stay on the back end of the hotel I recommend letting the water run 15 to 20 minutes if you want I HOT shower. I didn't know that and settled for a cool shower. :( I got a room with a king bed and it wasn't nearly as nicely decorated as it is in the photos on this site. The smell that greeted me when I walked in the lobby was of Pine Sol - clean but uninviting. The first thing I saw when I walked in the lobby was the breakfast nook with the chairs piled upside down on the tables - 3:30 in the afternoon.
If you're just looking for someplace clean and inexpensive to sleep - this is the place for you in Beckley. If you're looking for a bit of warmth try someplace else.

  • Liked — It was very clean and the girl at the front desk was friendly and knew her job.
  • Disliked — lack of "atmosphere"
  • Tips/Secrets — Run the water 15 minutes in order to get hot water for your shower or bath.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 1BJ1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashville, OH
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2006

This was an impromptu stop. We were on our way to NC when my husband got sick mid route. So I quickly chose a place to stop for the day. This was around 11am so I was worried there wouldn't be a room available that early in the day. But the very nice clerk, Karen (I believe that was her name), had a ground floor, non -smoking, dbl beds room available and seemed genuinely concerned about our situiation and helped all she could.

By afternoon, and after a long nap, he was doing much better and by morning we were able to continue on to NC.

Our room was nice. Was clean enough (they missed the corners bad). Bed linen was clean and had no bugs.

I didn't realize they had a pool until I got home and see the other reviewers. Would of been too cold anyway.

They do have wireless internet and interior corridors. Several restaurants at this exit. A CVS is within site of this motel. From outside they looked alot cleaner and newer than the Comfort Inn next door which we considered but decided to go to HoJo due to how each place looked.

Breakfast was sort of disappointing. We had stayed at other HoJoX before and they had a larger variety including waffles. But at least at this location, my kids had a donut, OJ and some cereal and were fed so I am glad for that. It was better than nothing.

Would I stay here again? I probably would. Like I said, we were in a pinch and needed a room and they accommodated us. For that we are grateful.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OurAshvilleFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beckley hotels
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Beckley
Travelodge Beckley
#9 of 14 in Beckley
3.5 of 5 stars 296 reviews
3.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beckley East
0.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Beckley
Econo Lodge Beckley
#11 of 14 in Beckley
3.5 of 5 stars 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Beckley
Comfort Inn Beckley
#7 of 14 in Beckley
3.5 of 5 stars 243 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Beckley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley

Property: Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley
Address: 1907 Harper Rd, Beckley, WV 25801-2611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Beckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beckley Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Beckley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing