We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Do not stay here!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Beckley
Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Do not stay here!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

After a long tiring drive we arrived at this Howard Johnson to a room that had mysterious smell that lingered in the hallways and room. After checking in they moved us to a first floor room that had everything you never wanted to see in a hotel room. The sheets were dirty, the towels were VERY thin and the bath mat was ripped in two sections. The air conditioning unit had more lint/rust/mold in it then my clothes dryer has after a load of clothes. The iron board cover was so dirty (to the point that it should of been thrown out) and the dirt on the ironing board was unbelievable. Air dryer was half off the wall and hanging by the cords over the sink. A unique addition to the room was a kleenex doorstopper. There was a hole in the wall and a kleenex had been the filled in the hole. Martha Stewart would be proud!

It is unbelievable that this place is still open but I assume with the travelers going south or returning home it is a convenient place to exit and spend the night. The positive thing to note is that the staff were very friendly and helpful with directions . Other plus was the breakfast, coffee with juice and toast was very helpful but truthfully I will most certainly inform anyone going this way to not stop in here. Sleeping in the car would make much more sense.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madisonCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    101
    88
    62
    49
See reviews for
152
106
29
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
PENETANGUISHENE
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Beckley is a good place to stop on our way to Myrtle Beach. We return to this motel each year. Howard Johnson is strategically located on our trip South to South Carolina.
We liked being able to stay on the first floor as it is more convenient for us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank MARGARET W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naval P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thanks for staying with us and keep coming back to us. We highly appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOGANVILLE
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My trip and stay was great yet the hotel was 1.5 hrs away from where I needed to go each day. I didn't realize that

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank ERICKA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THORNHILL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Beckley is a full day drive fron home on our spring and fall visits to South Carolina. Howard Johnson has been our go-to Motel with a reliable value package that suits our needs. Would be even better with a bit more choice at breakfast but have to give them full marks for the orange juice, cereals and muffins/donuts and coffee. Thornhill. Ontario couple

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank geezer408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beckley hotels
3.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beckley East
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Beckley
Travelodge Beckley
#9 of 14 in Beckley
3.5 of 5 stars 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Beckley
Econo Lodge Beckley
#12 of 14 in Beckley
3.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Beckley
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Beckley
Comfort Inn Beckley
#7 of 14 in Beckley
3.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley

Property: Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley
Address: 1907 Harper Rd, Beckley, WV 25801-2611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Beckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beckley Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Beckley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing