We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Beckley
Reviewed November 16, 2012

After a long tiring drive we arrived at this Howard Johnson to a room that had mysterious smell that lingered in the hallways and room. After checking in they moved us to a first floor room that had everything you never wanted to see in a hotel room. The sheets were dirty, the towels were VERY thin and the bath mat was ripped in two sections. The air conditioning unit had more lint/rust/mold in it then my clothes dryer has after a load of clothes. The iron board cover was so dirty (to the point that it should of been thrown out) and the dirt on the ironing board was unbelievable. Air dryer was half off the wall and hanging by the cords over the sink. A unique addition to the room was a kleenex doorstopper. There was a hole in the wall and a kleenex had been the filled in the hole. Martha Stewart would be proud!

It is unbelievable that this place is still open but I assume with the travelers going south or returning home it is a convenient place to exit and spend the night. The positive thing to note is that the staff were very friendly and helpful with directions . Other plus was the breakfast, coffee with juice and toast was very helpful but truthfully I will most certainly inform anyone going this way to not stop in here. Sleeping in the car would make much more sense.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madisonCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (458)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

391 - 397 of 459 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank HotpoolGrantIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Beckley is a good place to stop on our way to Myrtle Beach. We return to this motel each year. Howard Johnson is strategically located on our trip South to South Carolina.
We liked being able to stay on the first floor as it is more convenient for us.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank MARGARET W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naval P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Thanks for staying with us and keep coming back to us. We highly appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My trip and stay was great yet the hotel was 1.5 hrs away from where I needed to go each day. I didn't realize that

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank ERICKA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Beckley is a full day drive fron home on our spring and fall visits to South Carolina. Howard Johnson has been our go-to Motel with a reliable value package that suits our needs. Would be even better with a bit more choice at breakfast but have to give them full marks for the orange juice, cereals and muffins/donuts and coffee. Thornhill. Ontario couple

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank geezer408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Leader L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank JAMES M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beckley hotels
3.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beckley East
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Beckley
Travelodge Beckley
#6 of 14 in Beckley
450 reviews
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Beckley
Econo Lodge Beckley
#13 of 14 in Beckley
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 14 in Beckley
236 reviews
0.9 mi away
Microtel Inn by Wyndham Beckley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley

Address: 1907 Harper Rd, Beckley, WV 25801-2611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Beckley
Price Range: $53 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beckley Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Beckley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing