We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Price was good.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Beckley
Florida
Level Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Price was good.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The hotel is alright for a one night stay. The price was the reason for staying there.
We arrived early evening and left early the next morning. We probably would stay there again if it was going to be a short night like this trip was.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missjoflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    105
    90
    62
    50
See reviews for
155
110
29
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Olive Hill, Kentucky
Level Contributor
214 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Our room was so dirty !!! The bathroom had not been cleaned, commode had skid marks in it, the wash cloths had not been folded, just waded up and crammed into the metal holders. They gave us our money back without right away and said they had been having trouble. Very bad experience.

Room Tip: Avoid this place at all cost !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patiodadio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Beckley hotels

Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stopped at a rest area and found a hotel coupons magazine and determined that Beckley, WV was a good area to quit after 18 hours of driving with 2 couples and 3 kids. The HoJo was advertised for $65 on Fri/Sat. We called ahead and they said they had rooms available and they knew we had found them in the coupon pamphlet. When we arrived they would not honor the coupon because they said they had a tournament in town. Turns out the tournament "in town" was over 60 miles from there. There were no vacancies in town due to the wind storm and the amount of electric crews from all over that responded. They charged me $142 for a room. We had planned on getting two rooms but at that price I wasn't willing to pay for 2 rooms.
The room was okay, nothing special but fairly clean.
In the morning we went down for breakfast and were greated with an ice tub that had Bed Bug Powder written on it. It was on the table in the breakfast area. We took pictures and removed it from the area before my daughter in law could see it and take it up with the staff. It certainly took us out of the mood for breakfast.
We told every guest we saw about the powder.
I always look for bed bugs when I travel and I did not see any. Just typing this makes me itch though.
When I got home I called HoJo Corporate headquarters and complained. The lady I talked to was very nice and I could tell she was upset and disgusted. I wanted a credit on my account, I wanted them to honor the coupon. They took a report and gave the hotel several days to respond to my complaint which they did not. I then got a call from corporate hq saying they were sorry, they couldn't adjust the rate and they would work with the hotel to improve their management. Yeah well good luck with that. The people in the lobby smoke, the place is run down. I wouldn't recommend this place to a homeless person.

Growing up I loved HoJo's, great memories of their restaurant on Ft. Lauderdale beach, I still cook my hot dogs the way they did. This experience just marred that.

I intend to notifiy the board of health about this and put it all over fb and any other place I can think of. Stay away, sleep in your car, but don't sleep there.

Room Tip: Are you kidding, there are no good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KatheeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ona, West Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We did not get the room we reserved. We booked a king bed non smoking room several months in advance but got put in a smoking room with two double beds. The room was dirty! There were cigarettes in the shower and it smelled strongly of smoke. They had no other rooms they could move us to. There were stains on the lamp shades and the microwave didn't work. The refrigerator was barely cool and smelled awful. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachBum0313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Alabama, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

While traveling from AL to PA to see my family, we were planning to stop in Wythville, VA. When we finally made it there, we found out that no one had any rooms due to almost the whole state of WV being without power. We took a chance and kept going to see how far we could keep traveling. We reached Beckley and stopped a hotel ( I do not remember which one) but they told us that the Howard Johnson had just got it's power back about an hour before and they were renting out rooms. We got there and we had to see if they had any rooms that would fit a wheelchair, They had one left on the 1st floor and we took it. The people working the desk where working so hard to help everyone. They told us that the rooms may not be made up and they were washing and drying sheets right then. Several of us standing there told them that if they'd give us the sheets we'd make the beds. The poor lady looked like she was going to cry. We kept trying to thank them for being so helpful and working so hard to help everyone. Of course you had people in there complaining, but they still handled everything very well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Overall good hotel , clean but spend $120 all tax in.
Could be better but the staff was very good and make up for the rest

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ioampe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I'm not a morning person, but I was so happy to escape this pit that I got myself up and out in the morning. Good riddance!

A pool is advertised, but its a dismal, dirty concrete hole surrounded by old, broken deck furniture and a chainlink fence. Breakfast is advertised, but its the worst of the low-end, prepackaged artificial food on the market. After bad tea in styrofoam cup and inedible instant oatmeal, I gave up. The furniture in the room had been severely abused and looked like it. I wasn't expecting the Ritz, but for $100/night, I expected something less revolting.

Never again!

Room Tip: Find a room in another hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaggfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beckley hotels
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Beckley
Travelodge Beckley
#9 of 14 in Beckley
3.5 of 5 stars 297 reviews
3.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beckley East
0.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Beckley
Econo Lodge Beckley
#11 of 14 in Beckley
3.5 of 5 stars 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Beckley
Comfort Inn Beckley
#7 of 14 in Beckley
3.5 of 5 stars 243 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Beckley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley

Property: Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley
Address: 1907 Harper Rd, Beckley, WV 25801-2611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Beckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beckley Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Beckley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing