We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Not impressed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge Beckley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Econo Lodge Beckley
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Beckley
Sharon, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We chose this hotel based on the good reviews but were disappointed. Room was in poor condition. Sink was stained, tub was either cracked or had lots of hairs in it., I didn't want to look that closely at it. Bathroom door and frame needed painted. Room seemed very small with little room to walk around. There was no closet, instead an armoire that rattled every time someone walked past it. We had a dog but there was no space for her bed in the room.

On the positive side room did have a microwave and refrigerator. They did not charge a pet fee.

We could hear the people next door starting at 5:30 a.m. slamming both their room door and car doors for at least 45 minutes. Finally, at 6:00 a.m. we gave up trying to sleep, packed the car, and left. I would spend a little more money for a better quality hotel. This hotel definitely lived down to the Econo Lodge reputation.

Maybe we were given a room in poor condition because we used a travel coupon for our room and did not pay full price. We travel from Pennsylvania to South Carolina frequently but this was the first time we did not make the 12 hour trip in one day. Next time I would either pick another hotel or keep driving.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SharonMick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REGINA W, General Manager at Econo Lodge Beckley, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for commenting on our facility. I do apologize for your dissatisfaction with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    57
    53
    23
    32
See reviews for
86
45
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Check in and out is easy. Rooms clean & adequately furnished. Not a dog pound! We had a good nights sleep, a good complimentary breakfast and on our way! It was rainy when I took my dog out so the desk clerk offered up an umbrella. So nice. Great cemetery next to the property to walk through. Pick up after your pet and everyone is happy.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REGINA W, General Manager at Econo Lodge Beckley, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
We are so happy that you found your room clean and comfortable, We look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

My family and I stayed at this hotel for one night and we are glad it was just that. First, when we arrived at the hotel, the staff was friendly and helpful, but the lobby smelled of smoke. We got to our rooms (we booked 2) and found wrappers in one room and the mini-fridge not working in the other. Online it lists the beds in the rooms to be queen-sized; however, they are definitely doubles. The beds were felt old and worn. The room itself smelled like pets and smoke (in a nonsmoking). Also, in one of the rooms, the TV would go from OK to static in an instant.

The next morning we tried to use the exercise room. It reeked of mold and/or mildew. It was so bad that I could only be down there for a few minutes.

Another thing to keep in mind is that there is no elevator in the main part of the hotel.

Breakfast was pretty basic with some breads, cereals, and juice. Some of it tasted good, some of it... not so much.

Overall, the staff was friendly enough, but the hotel is just too worn-out and stinky for my tastes. I wouldn't go back and will be avoiding hotels that allow smoking in any part of the hotel from now on.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LT4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REGINA W, General Manager at Econo Lodge Beckley, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
I do apologize for your disappoint with our facility. We will use your comments to help us improve the service we provide our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Beckley hotels

Beckley
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

we have stayed at this hotel before and always had good service. I especially like the fact there is no pet fee. the only problem we had this time that there were no tissues in the room and I had to ask for another roll of toilet tissue.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Leo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REGINA W, General Manager at Econo Lodge Beckley, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
We are glad you and your pet enjoyed your stay. We enjoyed serving you and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
135 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

We have 2 Great Danes and a beagle and finding a hotel let alone an affordable hotel is sometimes next to impossible. This place allowed all 3 for no additional cost and was about $70 for the night. Rooms are dated but clean. Management was every friendly. The included breakfast was also good.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Itravelalot1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REGINA W, General Manager at Econo Lodge Beckley, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
I am glad you and your fur babies enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you in Beckley again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

This hotel was easy to find. The staff was friendly. Check-in was easy. The room was cleanish. There were crumbs on the recliner (it was obvious it hadn't been vacuumed) and behind the toilet needed cleaning but the rest of the room was very clean. The bed was comfortable and the pillows were amazing! The breakfast was below average: cold cereal, instant oatmeal (but no hot water for the oatmeal), bagels, and hard boiled eggs. We could not connect to the internet, despite multiple attempts.

The hotel is old and it shows wear and tear. With that being said, however, we would stay here again. It fit what we were looking for: a clean, quiet place to sleep.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsS08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REGINA W, General Manager at Econo Lodge Beckley, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thank you for staying with us in Beckley. I am sorry you had an issue with the internet. We did have a problem which unfortunately had service down for two days but our tech came in and fixed the system. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

We discovered this Econo Lodge a few years ago and have never been disappointed. It's a great place to stay for our little eight-pound Yorkie and two seniors. We travel between South Carolina and Ohio at least trwice a year and have found this to be the perfect place for our over-night stay. The staff is friendly, the rooms are clean, there is ample parking and breakfast is a very nice option. We especially appreciate the fact that our pet can enjoy the stay with us!

Room Tip: Be sure to make your reservation with your room preference ahead of time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REGINA W, General Manager at Econo Lodge Beckley, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
You have always been one of our most loyal customers, plus your Yorkies are adorable. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beckley hotels
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Beckley
Travelodge Beckley
#8 of 14 in Beckley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
3.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beckley East
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Microtel Inn by Wyndham Beckley
0.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Beckley
Comfort Inn Beckley
#7 of 14 in Beckley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Beckley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Beckley

Property: Econo Lodge Beckley
Address: 1909 Harper Rd, Beckley, WV 25801-2611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Beckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Beckley 2*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Econo Lodge Beckley is conveniently located near Exit 44, I-64/77 in Southern West Virginia. A variety of quality restaurants, outdoor activities, recreation and shopping are located near the hotel. The hotel offers interior/exterior corridors rooms. 24-Hr Front Desk. Free Continental Breakfast from 6:30-9:30am. Near to Winter Place ski resort. PETS STAY FREE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Choice Hotels so you can book your Econo Lodge Beckley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Beckley Hotel Beckley
Beckley Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing