We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“People and Pet Friendly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Beckley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Econo Lodge Beckley
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Beckley
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“People and Pet Friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Check in and out is easy. Rooms clean & adequately furnished. Not a dog pound! We had a good nights sleep, a good complimentary breakfast and on our way! It was rainy when I took my dog out so the desk clerk offered up an umbrella. So nice. Great cemetery next to the property to walk through. Pick up after your pet and everyone is happy.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REGINA W, General Manager at Econo Lodge Beckley, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
We are so happy that you found your room clean and comfortable, We look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    55
    53
    22
    30
See reviews for
86
43
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

My family and I stayed at this hotel for one night and we are glad it was just that. First, when we arrived at the hotel, the staff was friendly and helpful, but the lobby smelled of smoke. We got to our rooms (we booked 2) and found wrappers in one room and the mini-fridge not working in the other. Online it lists the beds in the rooms to be queen-sized; however, they are definitely doubles. The beds were felt old and worn. The room itself smelled like pets and smoke (in a nonsmoking). Also, in one of the rooms, the TV would go from OK to static in an instant.

The next morning we tried to use the exercise room. It reeked of mold and/or mildew. It was so bad that I could only be down there for a few minutes.

Another thing to keep in mind is that there is no elevator in the main part of the hotel.

Breakfast was pretty basic with some breads, cereals, and juice. Some of it tasted good, some of it... not so much.

Overall, the staff was friendly enough, but the hotel is just too worn-out and stinky for my tastes. I wouldn't go back and will be avoiding hotels that allow smoking in any part of the hotel from now on.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LT4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REGINA W, General Manager at Econo Lodge Beckley, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
I do apologize for your disappoint with our facility. We will use your comments to help us improve the service we provide our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Beckley hotels

Beckley
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

we have stayed at this hotel before and always had good service. I especially like the fact there is no pet fee. the only problem we had this time that there were no tissues in the room and I had to ask for another roll of toilet tissue.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Leo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REGINA W, General Manager at Econo Lodge Beckley, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
We are glad you and your pet enjoyed your stay. We enjoyed serving you and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
135 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

We have 2 Great Danes and a beagle and finding a hotel let alone an affordable hotel is sometimes next to impossible. This place allowed all 3 for no additional cost and was about $70 for the night. Rooms are dated but clean. Management was every friendly. The included breakfast was also good.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Itravelalot1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REGINA W, General Manager at Econo Lodge Beckley, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
I am glad you and your fur babies enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you in Beckley again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

This hotel was easy to find. The staff was friendly. Check-in was easy. The room was cleanish. There were crumbs on the recliner (it was obvious it hadn't been vacuumed) and behind the toilet needed cleaning but the rest of the room was very clean. The bed was comfortable and the pillows were amazing! The breakfast was below average: cold cereal, instant oatmeal (but no hot water for the oatmeal), bagels, and hard boiled eggs. We could not connect to the internet, despite multiple attempts.

The hotel is old and it shows wear and tear. With that being said, however, we would stay here again. It fit what we were looking for: a clean, quiet place to sleep.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsS08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REGINA W, General Manager at Econo Lodge Beckley, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thank you for staying with us in Beckley. I am sorry you had an issue with the internet. We did have a problem which unfortunately had service down for two days but our tech came in and fixed the system. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We discovered this Econo Lodge a few years ago and have never been disappointed. It's a great place to stay for our little eight-pound Yorkie and two seniors. We travel between South Carolina and Ohio at least trwice a year and have found this to be the perfect place for our over-night stay. The staff is friendly, the rooms are clean, there is ample parking and breakfast is a very nice option. We especially appreciate the fact that our pet can enjoy the stay with us!

Room Tip: Be sure to make your reservation with your room preference ahead of time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REGINA W, General Manager at Econo Lodge Beckley, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
You have always been one of our most loyal customers, plus your Yorkies are adorable. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oscoda, Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

This is a clean well maintained motel. They have friendly helpful staff.The king bed was comfortable. The room was clean and had a good shower. It even had a recliner chair to relax in. It is at a good location off I 64& I77. The breakfast included cold cereal, instant oatmeal, boiled eggs, bagels, pastries, juice, toast. Breakfast was kept stocked and the room was kept clean. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarLea2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REGINA W, General Manager at Econo Lodge Beckley, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you so much for the good review. Hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beckley hotels
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Beckley
Travelodge Beckley
#9 of 14 in Beckley
3.5 of 5 stars 296 reviews
3.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beckley East
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Beckley
Comfort Inn Beckley
#7 of 14 in Beckley
3.5 of 5 stars 243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 14 in Beckley
3.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Beckley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Beckley

Property: Econo Lodge Beckley
Address: 1909 Harper Rd, Beckley, WV 25801-2611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Beckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Beckley 2*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Econo Lodge Beckley is conveniently located near Exit 44, I-64/77 in Southern West Virginia. A variety of quality restaurants, outdoor activities, recreation and shopping are located near the hotel. The hotel offers interior/exterior corridors rooms. 24-Hr Front Desk. Free Continental Breakfast from 6:30-9:30am. Near to Winter Place ski resort. PETS STAY FREE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Econo Lodge Beckley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Beckley Hotel Beckley
Beckley Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing