We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Barboursville
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Barboursville
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2009

I stayed here overnight while driving to DC. The other reviews are accurate. The rooms are very spacious, clean with modern quality furniture. The plasma tv is great. Bathrooms are good sized and modern. True, the water in the sink is mostly a sprinkle but I think that is to conserve water. When I arrived I was greeted very pleasantly by the desk attendant, my reservation pulled and sgned by me, my room key given to me and I was enroute to my room in less than 7 min. I was so impressed that I am writing this on my 2nd visit for my return home. I would definitely return if I am in the area again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinillinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    51
    13
    6
    10
See reviews for
76
24
9
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
104 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2008

All the hotels right next to Marshall University were sold out so I booked in Barboursville. It was a very short easy drive to the university and the Holiday Inn looks pretty brand new. And bonus! it was cheaper than the hotels near Marshall. Everything was very nice and clean.

Only two little complaints....one elevator shook, made you a little nervous that it wasn't safe but I'm sure it was.

And I wouldn't recommend the breakfast. The offered complimentary breakfast is coffee and danish but I had opted to pay the $7 or $8 (can't remember exactly what it cost) for the breakfast buffet which had variety but all the food was cold. There are so many restaurants in the area, I would suggest going out for breakfast instead of eating at the hotel.

But other than that, I'd return with no problem and would recommend it highly.

  • Liked — very clean
  • Disliked — didn't care for the breakfast
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank wizofwoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh PA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2008

New, clean, beautiful room, all a big surprise at a Holiday Inn. had a suite, rooms were quite, and clean. Big shower head, pillow choices were nice, and the bed was very comfortable. Great choice for the area!!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JDP527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, GA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2008

I stayed at this property because it was the only one available in the area. I was quite happy with this decision.

The room was great, with heavy duty furniture and a beautiful couch that I was almost afraid to sit on. Brand new 32" LCD TV, fridge, microwave, big comfy bed, and lots of freebies in the lavatory.

Everything I needed was within 1/4 mile, and was easy to get to. The staff, while young, were as helpful as they could be, and seemed unaccustomed to interacting with guests, but, it's a brand new hotel, and the management will grow into it.

The aquarium in the lobby is gigantic and quite stunning. The bartender was especially friendly and provided great service without playing favorites. I did not, alas, have an opportunity to try the restaurant, but I would be willing to bet that it beats the options in the surrounding area.

Good work guys!

  • Liked — attention to detail and quality
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BizCasFri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2008

We stayed here to be near Blenko Glass on a members tour at the request of the coordinator. I was nicely surprised. The property is very new and the amenities are great. We had a nice quiet stay and found the value to be wonderful.

Our room had a nice fridge, microwave, large TV and great bed with plent of nice soft pillows. We ordered room service because we were tired and it was actually affordable. I was surprised when they delivered it in 20 minutes as they had promised. It was very good too. The fitness and pool area are great.

The staff was extremely helpful, and they did address any of our questions or concerns. Definately worth a stay.

  • Liked — Large Rooms, Refrigerator, and Excellent Bed and Bedding
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Bikerfuntime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2008

As the previous reviewer noted, this is a brand new hotel that just opened this summer. Plenty of parking, spacious rooms and a nice lobby area with a sparkling saltwater fish tank are some of the highlights. This is, indeed, a nice hotel. However, the front desk staff is indifferent (at best) and the water pressure in the sink and toilet is absolutely the worst I have ever encountered. The pressure in the shower is better, however the hot water really never got "hot". Furthermore, I could never get the room temperature regulated. It stayed cool, even for my tastes which run towards the cool side. The pool area did look nice, although I did not partake.

This is in a commercial/retail area with plenty of restaurants and a large mall nearby, which is very conveinent.

Overall, this is a good place that could be much, much better. The problems I encountered were more than "cosmetic" which makes me wonder about build quality. Plumbing and HVAC issues in a building this new makes me skeptical about how this place will age over the years.

  • Liked — Location and amenities were top notch
  • Disliked — Water pressure, temperature, and HVAC were not. Staff were ambivalent.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank brobarus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thefbi
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2008

In my continuing pursuit of a home on I- 64, found me trying the brand new Holiday Inn at Barboursville. Trying to be totally objective, my first impression was very good. The check in was fair and courteous. The lobby with it massive fish tank was impressive. I arrived at the room opened the door and was immediately impressed with the size of the room. Everything was new and had had few if any guest. Nice flat screen TV, refrigerator and microwave. At last, I had found my home on I-64.
Now it was time to get a cold diet and unwind. Oops, sold out on my floor, I go to the lobby and they have a pantry. No diet in the pantry. I ask the desk clerk and I am told there is a Pop machine on every floor. Ok nothing in the lobby, nothing on the second floor (my floor), on to the third floor – sold out. Ok now the fourth floor. Tada …Diet Pepsi. A $1.50 later and I am now the proud owner of a totally unrefrigerated warm pop. Ok .. the ice machine fixed that. Back to my room to rest. Gee sure seems like a lot of noise from the hallway …must be loud guest. Wrong answers, the money spent on the fish tank should have gone into sound proofing. I had never stayed in a bowling alley before. Not only is it loud from the average traveler, I get the little rascal in the hallway. Running, shouting, banging doors and pushing the elevator buttons to hear them go ping pong. By 10:00 P.M. it is time to call the desk to see if they can close down the hockey game in the hallway. Thirty plus minutes later the desk announces half time and the game is called. The team never returned to the ice but noise level from the average traveler never died out.
The last item on my list “the commode”, I believe green, I care about the environment but please provide enough water to flush without three tries. Did I mention the water saver on the bathroom facet? I let the water run until I saw the level in the Ohio River drop and still could not get my hands wet.
Hopefully with time and some constructive criticism most of the issue here can be corrected. But the lack of sound proofing is a real issue for anyone checking in with the intent of sleeping, all other should be fine.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank thefbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barboursville
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Huntington / Barboursville
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Huntington Mall Inn
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Barboursville
Comfort Inn Barboursville
#4 of 4 in Barboursville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Huntington
Red Roof Inn Huntington
#3 of 12 in Huntington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
8.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Huntington
8.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Huntington University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Barboursville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Barboursville

Property: Holiday Inn Barboursville
Address: 3551 Route 60 East, Barboursville, WV 25504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Barboursville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Barboursville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Barboursville 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barboursville hotel is conveniently located between Huntington and Charleston. Welcome to the new Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Barboursville. Our hotel is located right off I-64, just 10 minutes from Huntington and a half-hour from Charleston. Families can enjoy visiting a variety of popular attractions near our hotel. Barboursville, West Virginia offers a charming downtown district with many specialty shops and restaurants, and is home to the largest shopping center in West Virginia, the Huntington Mall. Other attractions within 10 miles of our hotel include the Museum of Radio and Technology, New River Train Excursions, the Big Sandy Superstore Arena and Marshall University.If you're traveling on business to Barboursville, our hotel offers close proximity to area businesses. Within 10 miles of our hotel in Barboursville you'll find St. Mary's Hospital, BASF, CSX and Huntington Steel. Traveling is made easy during your stay because we proudly offer a complimentary shuttle to the HTS Tri-State Airport, located 25 miles away.Corporate travelers enjoy staying at our Barboursville, WV hotel because we offer high-speed Internet access, flexible meeting space and a 24-hour business center to keep guests connected while on the road. Other first-rate amenities include a heated, indoor pool with a hot tub, a fitness center and an on-site restaurant. Discover premium hotel facilities and affordable rates at the Holiday Inn Barboursville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Barboursville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Barboursville Hotel Barboursville
Barboursville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing