We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this Applebee's”
Review of Applebee's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Applebee's
Ranked #25 of 62 Restaurants in Barboursville
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Ona, West Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Avoid this Applebee's”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Everything goes wrong at this Applebee's for about 8 years now. It's near our house and we used to eat here often, but then the mgmt changed and the restaurant has never recovered. The wait staff are rude and unprofessional. They rarely have the food you order and force you to pick something else. They have served us a plastic bag under my sons alfredo noodles. We even had a waiter take our order, then he quit his job and walked-out of the restaurant. We didnt know. We waited for over an hour then asked another waiter to get our waiter and they said he quit. The manager came by our table and took out orders again, then he never came back and neither did our food. We walked out without ever eating. In fact, on at least 2 other occasions we have walked-out after waiting over an hour for our food.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    7
    14
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, West Virginia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Poor quality”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

My partner and I eat out quite frequently. While I like Applebee's restaurants overall, we discontinued going to this one when it became evident that they just couldn't figure out how to cook their steaks. When I ordered it medium rare, it came rare one day and well done the next. We discontinued going to the Huntington Applebee's several years ago as a result.

Helpful?
Thank Gottesfreunde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food for a fair price”
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in here on New Year's Day. Had a great meal. Had the 7oz Sirloin and shrimp with vegetables. Very good meal. Also had the tortilla soup which was not that good but still palatable. Overall a very good resturant and I will eat agin here when visiting the area to shop.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liftenw8ts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamson, West Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Food.”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Food is great and you never have a really long wait and the service is usually great.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Great place to eat if trying to stay on weight watchers, has meals based on point system.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank deb52_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Applebee's also viewed

 
Barboursville, WV
 

Been to Applebee's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing