We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BLOWN AWAY,”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Prairie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Prairie Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yelm
Certificate of Excellence
Anchorage, AK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“BLOWN AWAY,”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

This room was in the newer building and had a sloping 20ft vaulted ceiling with ceiling fan, the most comfortable beds and gorgeous furnishings. The room is HUGE, there was room for all of our extra bags and plenty of room to walk around and stretch our legs. The pics on the website don't do the rooms justice, period. The amenities were top notch, good in room coffee, even the towels were extra fluffy. I can't say enough about this hotel, I was literally in shock when we opened the door, easily one of the nicest rooms I've stayed in.

Room Tip: Get a room in the new building, it's the only way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GetOutAndLive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    14
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
26
27
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
McMinnville, Oregon
Level Contributor
110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

My wife and I were really looking forward to the stay here but . . . it's not what the photos portray on the website (it's not new). On the surface it looked okay once we arrived, it's definitely an old remodeled motel, and the very thin walls remain. We could hear our neighbors having a conversation, opening and closing drawers and pushing the buttons on their microwave. The shower leaked badly, which is a minimal issue as it's the hotels expense but they claimed to be a high efficiency facility. The TV froze up. And when we attempted to do our laundry, the hotel didn't have any soap so we were referred across the street to Safeway where we would have to purchase a soap suitable for high efficiency washers and would undoubtedly have to purchase a large box or bottle; certainly more than we needed to do one load of laundry.

The town of Yelm is nice and peaceful location away from the hustle and bustle of Olympia and Tacoma which is lovely. There are VERY few decent places to eat here and all the local attractions we could find were 30+ minutes away.

The rooms are accommodating and the bed was comfortable; if you're just passing through, it's likely your only option in Yelm but if you're looking for a fun and convenient place to bring your family, I wouldn't recommend it.

Room Tip: The small discount for the shower only (no bath) is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeayPay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

The Yelm Prairie Hotel was clean, new & set up nicely with their "go green" amenities. It is located next to a good, reasonable family restaurant for meals as well as other fast food eateries, drivable short distance to WalMart, & close to Ft. Lewis & McChord if you are visiting family in the military. Our nephew stationed there lives in Rainier, only 5 miles from the hotel. Area is clean, fresh, green & quiet. Staff was nice & accommodating.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimmei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

The hotel was great. Nice staff, LARGE room, very clean, quiet, comfortable bed, black out curtains that actually work -perfect.

Finally an affordable, nice hotel that allows dogs. Large area for a game of fetch to help wear them out before another car ride. I will stay here again when I take my dog back down for her herddog training lessons in Roy. It would be nice if there was a continental breakfast, but the rest of the hotel is excellent.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marsupilove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

The Yelm Prarie Hotel is really nice - and pretty much the only option in this area. The rooms are no frills, but with comfortable beds, and everything is really clean.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lillie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Was driving around at 7:30pm without a place to stay for the night, thinking I would have to drive to Olympia to find something decent. Then I saw a couple of fast food places and thought I might as well get something to eat. As I was driving around to see what all was available, I noticed the sign for the Prairie Hotel and decide to check it out. The property seemed nice from the outside and the rate was reasonable, so I checked in without seeing the room. Wow, what a surprise! Fairly large room with a King bed, desk area, and huge shower with two showerheads (one high, one low). Very clean, and very pleasantly decorated. Due to the small town location, it was also very quiet. If I had made it to Olympia, I probably would have had to settle for a hotel/motel just off the freeway. As it was, I had a long but not too unreasonable drive to visit Mt. Rainier the next day.

Unfortunately, I can't think of any reason to Yelm, but I would definitely stay in the Prairie Hotel if I did.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

My family lives in Olympia, WA and picked Yelm, WA as the spot for our family reunion. I was defintely surprised when we showed up at the Prairie Hotel. The lobby was beautiful and the rooms are gorgeous. We used the conference facility to host the reunion and it went off with no problems. The conference room is beautifully designed and modern. The rooms were outstanding with pillowtop beds and 42" flat screen televisions. All the comforts you would get from a big hotel at a fraction of the price. We will never stay anywhere else when visiting our family in Olympia. Great hotel!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RLongview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yelm
11.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Lacey Inn & Suites
15.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Olympia
13.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Olympia Lacey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Ramada Olympia
Ramada Olympia
#2 of 9 in Olympia
1,129 reviews
10.7 mi away
Best Western Liberty Inn DuPont
10.9 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites DuPont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prairie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prairie Hotel

Property: Prairie Hotel
Address: 700 Prairie Park Lane, Yelm, WA 98597
Location: United States > Washington > Yelm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yelm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Prairie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Yelm, WA, Prairie Hotel is perfectly located between Olympia and Mount Rainier. We are centrally located: only 30 minutes from the Olympia State Capital, 15 minutes from Lacey and 1 hour from Mount Rainier. Prairie Hotel guests enjoy the convenience of being close to the city with the amazing views of Mount Rainier in a 100% Smoke Free establishment and dog friendly hotel (restrictions and fees do apply). Offering 67 well-appointed guest rooms and suites, Prairie Hotel features 42" flat screen televisions, microwaves and refrigerators in every room as well as complementary wired or wireless internet and extremely comfortable pillow top beds. For the convenience of our guests, we also offer guest laundry facilities, a fitness center and a computer for guest use in our beautiful lobby. Within walking distance of the UpTown Lounge, Yelm Cinemas and a variety of stores & restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Prairie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing