We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise”

Carousel French Cuisine
Ranked #12 of 254 Restaurants in Yakima
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Carousel Restaurant adds elegance and ambiance to Yakima. Providing traditional French Cuisine and Bistro options, pairings and fine dining. We offer catering and special events as well. Reservations preferred for dining room and event availability.
Yakima, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I have lived in Yakima for six years and thought I had eaten at all the best resturants but this one is a gem. It is very french in both decor and food. Has both Washington and French wines. The food is artistically presented and is very good. It was quite and intimate. If you like a party atmosphere this is probably not your place.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    26
    8
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington State
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“We left without eating”
Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

We enjoy French and based on posted menu we made reservations. When we arrived the restaurant was nearly empty and Mama Cass was playing. Not French! The server was busy flambeeing for another table. Since my wife has many allergies we asked about ingredients. The first reaction was I'm new. Next she checked on one dis and returned saying there was a little of the allergen...but it shouldn't be a problem. Next she said the chef didn't know the ingredients in sauces. True French sauces don't need flour as thickener. We left.,

Helpful?
5 Thank gec718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Not very French”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This is in a charming location. The decor could use some updating. Instead of whimsical french, it is more like visiting your granny. The wine list is great, featuring local wines in small vineyards. I think this restaurant may have potential, BUT it needs some improvement. Like in making the food spicier (use LOTS of garlic) and the sauces genuine. My peppercorn steak had a packaged gravy mix. I am pretty sure it was McCormick's packaged gravy. This is a NEVER in a French restaurant where prices are high. If necessary, simply use great butter, but using packaged gravy ruins the experience. I think this restaurant might need a new chef. How about recruit a great chef from France, and sponsor him or her for a visa. It would increase your business. Otherwise, this restaurant will not make it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gourmetwashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wapato, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Good French food in Yakima”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Surprisingly good French food. Service was what it should have been. an exeptional night out.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Opinionated98951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“First Rate dinner”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Surprising find in Yakima with a real French dinner and decent wine list. Excellent service and really enjoyed a leisurely paced dinner and the food was authentic and declicious. Lovely atmosphere and clearly a local favorite. Price vrey reasonable as well. Would return

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank mom5fay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carousel French Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing