We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Centrally Located in an Interesting Building” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Yakima

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Yakima
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Yakima
Certificate of Excellence
Birch Bay, Washington
Level Contributor
190 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Centrally Located in an Interesting Building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This property is located in a former downtown department store, and there were a few more interesting turns from the elevator to our room than we'd find in a typical HGI.

The front desk employee was friendly and efficient. There is an outside parking lot, but we took advantage of the free underground parking, accessible with the room key.

The room itself was not too large and generally so-so - some updating might be in order. We chose to consider it "charming," and a little different from the usual chain hotel cookie-cutter mold.

Count us among those who don't really like the Sleep Number beds, and this one marred our night's sleep. That's a matter of individual opinion though and we realize others like them.

Breakfast the next morning was above average for HGI, with friendly coffee service and nicely cooked omelets.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay and would return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank No_Fixed_Address
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisa_vallejo, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Yakima, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share all aspects of your stay while lodging with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Yakima. Your review is very much appreciated and is very helpful to those considering our establishment. I am thrilled that you had such a great experience while visiting.
It is always exciting to share the history of our hotel and how it was built. I am happy to hear that you were able to experience of bit of history in downtown Yakima. I hope that you will be back to visit us again soon.

Warm Regards,

Lisa Vallejo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    167
    43
    15
    11
See reviews for
115
106
20
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel with friendly staff, clean rooms and a fabulous breakfast. The lobby is cozy and a comfortable place to gather for morning coffee or a glass of wine in the evening. It is extremely kids friendly while maintaining a upscale atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank gailb536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisa_vallejo, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Yakima, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful response regarding your experience while staying with us. We thoroughly enjoy hearing such wonderful comments about our staff and hotel. I appreciate you sharing with other viewers and hope to have you come back and stay with us again in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Lisa Vallejo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This was my first visit to Yakima, WA. The Hilton Garden Inn was recommended by both friends and co-workers. They were right. This is a great hotel and they have great staff. The location is great. Right in downtown, and the access to the airport is very convenient. I highly recommend this property!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Thomas A Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisa_vallejo, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Yakima, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for following your friends and coworkers suggestion and staying with us during your very first trip to beautiful Yakima. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and hope that we will get the opportunity to have you as our guest again when your travels bring you back to the area. If you are looking at traveling any time soon, the sun is out and ready for summer!

Have a wonderful day and safe travels!

Warm Regards,

Lisa Vallejo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The inside of the hotel is very nice, the outside parking is limited and not in a good part of town. There is an underground parking that is secure but its very tight parking. The front desk staff was rude, the rest of the staff was very pleasant to talk with.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisa_vallejo, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Yakima, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for bringing your front desk experience to our attention so that I may offer my apologies. We are highly noted for our great customer service so it disappoints me greatly that you experienced this level of service. I have discussed your experience with our Front Office Manager to ensure that we are focusing on providing exceptional customer service. I am happy to hear that all other aspects of your stay were satisfactory. Your patronage is important to us and I am sorry that your stay was less than expected. It is our hope that you will consider staying with us again and remain confident that your next experience will be more enjoyable.

Sincerely,

Lisa Vallejo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This was a very nice hotel. Very clean and smelled fresh. The room was comfortable and breakfast was delicious. The location was convenient to other amenities. The parking was easy. The staff was very helpful and polite. I felt like I was staying in a first class hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisa_vallejo, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Yakima, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
It was so nice to share your wonderful review with our staff here at the Hilton Garden Inn Yakima. We all sincerely appreciate your time in sharing such wonderful comments regarding your stay. Cleanliness and customer service are so important to us so it is great to hear that we accomplished our goal. I hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back when your travels bring you back to Yakima Washington.

Warm Regards,

Lisa Vallejo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, WA, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Clean and comfortable. However the customer service was atrocious. Front desk attendant was arrogant and unwilling to listen to customer concerns. Maybe it had something to do with my disability, as she treated me as an unworthy guest. If service is unimportant and all you w ant is a clean comfortable room then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisa_vallejo, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Yakima, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
I appreciate you choosing to stay at the Hilton Garden Inn when traveling to Yakima and I am pleased to hear that the accommodations and cleanliness were up to your expectations. I want to thank you for reaching out to me regarding your experience with the front desk while staying with us in Yakima. I am very disappointed that you felt that you were being discriminated against due to your disability. The agent that you interacted with has a child with disabilities and feels horrible that you left feeling this way. We strive on great customer service at our hotel and I can assure you that we will utilize this experience as a learning tool to make improvements where needed. I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and hope that we will get the opportunity to have you as our guest again in the future.

Sincerely,

Lisa Vallejo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The room was super clean and very pretty. Of course, my granddaughter loved the pool and hot tub. Plenty of towels. Attendants checked frequently. Very comfy beds. Breakfast was full breakfast. Chef made whatever to order. Loved it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisa_vallejo, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Yakima, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Hilton Garden Inn while staying in Yakima. It sounds like you had a fabulous time while enjoying the company of your granddaughter by the pool. It is always so nice to hear such wonderful reviews of families getting the time to enjoy each others company. We are very fortunate to be able to work in an environment where we can interact with our guests and be a part of this great experience. I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share on Trip Advisor and hope to have you and your family back again in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Lisa Vallejo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yakima hotels
1.0 mi away
Oxford Suites Yakima
Oxford Suites Yakima
#1 of 24 in Yakima
4.5 of 5 stars 654 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Yakima
Holiday Inn Yakima
#6 of 24 in Yakima
4.0 of 5 stars 156 reviews
0.9 mi away
Oxford Inn Yakima
Oxford Inn Yakima
#2 of 24 in Yakima
4.0 of 5 stars 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ledgestone Hotel Yakima
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Yakima
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Yakima Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Yakima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Yakima

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Yakima
Address: 401 E Yakima Ave, Yakima, WA 98901-2723
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Yakima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Yakima
#3 Business Hotel in Yakima
#3 Romantic Hotel in Yakima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Yakima 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Yakima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Yakima Hotel Yakima
Yakima Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Yakima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing