We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“a very special place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Birchfield Manor Country Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Birchfield Manor Country Inn
Ranked #102 of 241 Restaurants in Yakima
Price range: $0 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“a very special place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Birchfield Manor is a very special place in Yakima. It is an old house that has been converted into a very small and intimate dining experience. You are essentially eating in a living room/dinning room/sitting room of an old house. That may sound a bit odd but it is very quaint.

Eating at the Birchfield is considered a very special occasion in Yakima. You MUST make your reservation well in advance. They usually offers two dining times so essentially they serve two groups of people. The menu has about 6-8 items on it and everything is top notch. Wine selection is excellent as well.

The staff couldn't be any better. They are highly experienced, knowledgeable about both the food and the wine and very very polite. It's nice to be served by someone who actually cares!

Above the restaurant is a hotel of sorts. Several rooms that can be rented. It looks interesting but I have never stayed there.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    5
    0
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Selah, WA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

The menu consists of five to six entrees (fish, seafood, beef, lamb) with salad and appetizer included with entree. Food is always great, as is the service. Very friendly and attentive. Only one seating each night, so you need a reservation and must be on time. You don't have distraction of people coming and going during dinner. Usually three or four dessert choices. Great wine list with a lot of local wine. No choice in appetizer and salad, so it helps to like variety and having willingness to try new things.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bjoh461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, Washington
Level Contributor
68 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent food and good service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Very small, very intimate. Very expensive too. The menu doesn't change much and I've always enjoyed it. It's known as the best 'fancy' restaurant in town to eat at and it is. The steaks are very good and the lamb is excellent. The wine list is mostly a winner but avoid (at all costs) the Blackwood Canyon wines.

Helpful?
Thank yakima_foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, Washington
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

My wife and I have been going to Birchfield Manor ever since it opened back in the 70's and it has ALWAYS been our favorite. We have never been disappointed. When we have someone visit whom we want to impress, this is always our first choice. We were thrilled when they started doing special seasonal dinners and are looking forward to the next one.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Armadillo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

Simply the single best experience at a Restraunt ever. This beats Sir Winston's in LA for quality and ambiance and customer service.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Spokanebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Birchfield Manor Country Inn also viewed

 

Been to Birchfield Manor Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing