We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“iconic, staple of yakima”

Miner's Drive-in Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 250 Restaurants in Yakima
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night
covington
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“iconic, staple of yakima”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Everytime I come to Yakima I get wayyy excited because I know I will be stopping at Miners for sure. This place has the best burgers, especially the miner burger it is my favorite. They are huge burgers and come with a whole tomato on top. The fries are always delicious and you must get the fry sauce. They have a sauce bar where you can choose sauces. They also offer a large menu so you can choose many different items, there is something for the whole family They also have a nice outdoor area when its sunny. You must eat here!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alyssa h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    118
    43
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Covington, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The fry sauce alone is worth a visit”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Great burger place old style dive in. The burger here are amazing sloppy tasty burger just the way a burger should be.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jared G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima
Level Contributor
126 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A local landmark”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I have lived in Yakima for over 20 years, and visit Miner's several times each year, with friends, family and business associates. When entertaining out-of-town business associates I always ask them where they'd like to go to lunch. I give them several options, including one of our local burger hangouts. Invariably, they always pick the burger hangout. They are always amazed by the size of the burger. I'm in the produce industry and they also mention that the burger must have an entire tomato and onion sliced on it. They also always comment on how clean the facility is and that it is bustling with people. I usually just get the Big Miner with cheese and offer to share an onion ring with the group. When my wife and I go, we always split a burger and have them cut it for us, it's plenty of food! Burgers are always the first choice here although one friend always has the shrimp burger and another friend swears by their chicken. They also have a pretty good assortment of sauces. My kids have always loved the fry sauce in particular.
It can get very busy, and at times feels too busy, although even when there is a big line, the food still comes out relatively quickly. If we see a couple of school buses with sport's teams we might pass on by. Pricing is reasonable for the size of the burger but not 'value priced'. If it's your first time in Yakima, I say it's a must stop and is usually memorable. All my business associates always talk about the place for years to come.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ExpeditionMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Grove, Utah
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“One of the best (and biggest) burgers I have ever had!”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I was introduced to Miner's by a local a number of years ago. I loved it so much that I make it a point if travelling in that area to divert myself through Yakima just to eat here. The staff was very friendly and the food is fantastic. I am not sure I could grill a better burger myself. I highly recommend taking the time to stop and visit this fantastic eating establishment!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LuckySpin7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce, Mississippi
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cute and Friendly!!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This was the home of the big hamburger!! Excellent hamburger and sides everytime we ate there!! Could use an Original Miner right about now with a side of chili-cheese fries!!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelTheUSA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miner's Drive-in Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Miner's Drive-in Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing