We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So Yummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of White House Cafe

White House Cafe
Ranked #8 of 243 Restaurants in Yakima
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So Yummy”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The White House Cafe serves yummy and fresh comfort foods. I recently ate there for a birthday lunch with a friend. I had a delicious turkey sandwich with some kind of pineapple relish. Wow! Also, I substituted the soup for a salad at no extra charge. I ended the meal with one of their outstanding frosted sugar cookies. If you don't have room for dessert, take one home. You won't be sorry.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    15
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Breakfast was perfect”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I have to say these were quite simply the scrambled eggs I have had in my life... I have no idea what kind of love must have gone into them, but wow. The breakfast and service were perfect. A bit out of the way, but worth it!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank mdande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great! Very charming”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Loved the atmosphere, perfect for families, couples or friends. Delightful staff and the food was fantastic. Yum! Definitely one of the best places to eat in Yakima.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heidi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, Washington
Level Contributor
76 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Thoughtful preparation, great atmosphere”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My wife and I go here at least once or twice a month. Great food in a nice old Victorian house.

I love the food and the owner is a gem. If we want a good breakfast, this is our spot. A step up from your run-of-the-mill breakfast spots.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yakima_foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“I expected more”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We were there for a bridal luncheon. The place seemed a tad run down. The decorations were quite dusty and some had cobwebs and thick layers of dust. I scooted my wood chair forward and pulled back a hand that had some sort of sticky substance on it.

The meal was okay. I ordered the special, which was chicken salad on croissant with a side salad. My sandwich and salad came covered in powdered sugar. What? I mean - it was covered. Eating it proved difficult because I couldn't seem to keep the powdered sugar off my face and clothes.

The croissant was a bit dry and hard in places. The chicken salad was lacking flavor and quality. I would swear the chicken was canned chicken (ugh). I picked at my salad because 1. it was covered in powdered sugar and 2. my blue cheese dressing, which was served on the side seemed to have a funny yellow color to the top and I was afraid it had sat out too long.

The service was okay and most seemed to enjoy their meals. I think they need to pay attention to some details at this place though.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EricaLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to White House Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing