We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Locals Know About This Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Waffles Cafe

Waffles Cafe
Ranked #31 of 244 Restaurants in Yakima
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Walla Walla, WA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The Locals Know About This Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Easy on and off the freeway makes this the ideal place to eat when going through Yakima. Just get off on the North 1st Street exit from either direction and be prepared to be amazed. Breakfast is out of this world and for lunch...the hamburgers are to die for. I have yet to get a questionable meal here and we stop every time we are in Yakima for breakfast or lunch. We have not tried a dinner yet because we really like the Yakima Outback for that but I am sure that you would not be disappointed. The service is fast, friendly and efficient. Nothing you choose will be a mistake so check out the extensive menu and find out what all the fuss is about. Even when crowded they are very quick to get your order to you.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JesseGriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    22
    3
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lynnwood
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“One of the best breakfasts ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

I have been to Waffles before and loved it. On Easter Sunday we went and had such a great experience. The server was delightful and the food exceptional. I had the Country Benedict and it now one of my favorites. One of the boys decided to have lunch and said it was the best BLT he has ever had - and that is saying something. I promise you won't be disappointed if you have breakfast here!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san mateo CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A very nice place for breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

So I had made a pilgrimage to my mothers home town of Toppinish and had spent the night in Yakima, well she was actually born in Spanaway but Toppinish is where she graduated from High School. I am heading out of town toward Seattle on the old highway and am hungry so I am looking for a place for breakfast, Waffles Cafe well that looks like an idea.

I pull in and there are people waiting outside for a table, that is a good sign. I find a seat at the short counter, maybe 5 stools next to a guy in full leathers with a motorcycle helmet, I make a crack about sitting next to a biker and he announces that he may ride a bike but he was never a biker and he may have driven trucks but he was never a trucker. We hit it off and have an excellent discussion through breakfast. I have a poached (or what was like a poached egg I did not quite understand what the waitress said) egg, toast and corned beef hash, all was very good.

The conversation was enjoyable and the non biker paid for my breakfast. He left before me and I left $15 with the waitress for his breakfast tomorrow morning (he is apparently a regular). Not often that you can run into a place as friendly and as good as this when you are on the road.

When you do you are obligated to honor it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JAHSanAnselmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Ground, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Found By Chance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We sure took the right exit. It led us to a breakfast that we all enjoyed. The menu was so large it was hard to make a choice. The portions were large and the cost was very reasonable. Would eat there often, if we lived in Yakima.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
128 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

I really liked the food. The servings were big ad the food was quality. The coffee was not very good. Service was great and the staff was attentive. I thought tey had a very full menu for both breakfast and lunch. I look forward to giving them a try for lunch. Yakima doesn't have many good places for breakfast so this was a peasant surprise. Highly recommended

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Waffles Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing