We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great canyon trail”

Cowiche Canyon Trail
Ranked #3 of 53 things to do in Yakima
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great canyon trail”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

This a wonderful trail just out of town near Yakima, WA. The area is beautiful and trail runs along a river making this an excellent place to go running to get away from everything or just a short manageable hike to take the family on as it is flat enough for small children to travel a ways on it. It would even be nice for an evening out as one of the aide trails goes up to a winery tasting room. Very enjoyable.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank DRCRMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    17
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Royal, New Jersey
Level Contributor
159 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Awesome easy to moderate hike”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The default picture for this trail is misleading. It's not really like an open field, its a gravel trail that runs through a canyon with mountains/hills on each side. Some nice cliffs and a river run along the trail.

The standard trail is about 2.5 miles (one way) with minimal elevation gain. For folks looking for a more challenging hike there are two side trails going up the hills to the left and right of the canyon. The views are great, but even if you stay on the main trail it will be a nice scenic walk.

One of the side trails takes you up the hill to a vineyard and tasting room. I highly recommend it. It is about a mile and a half round trip and the views are well worth it. The first half mile is fairly steep so be extra careful on the way down. You can sample wines in the tasting room for a dollar a pour. I was glad they charged because I had no intention of buying any bottles so I would have felt bad taking any free samples.

You can park on either side of the main trail. The side I parked on can be accessed through cowiche canyon road. You have to go about a half mile on a semi paved / dirt road to get to the trail.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank mjlynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenatchee, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“sagebrush walk”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

A small natural area in sagebrush near town and great for a short day hike. There is not a lot to see but just nice to get outdoors in a natural area.

Helpful?
1 Thank jim58820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A little slice of heaven right off scenic drive”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

This is just a great way to get out and feel far away from it all to run, walk, mountain bike (up top) Practically all year around. Watch out for rattlers in the summer.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place for a hike!”
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

We take our 4 kids at least twice a year to the canyon for a hike. This year we saw our first rattle snake! We've also seen rabbits eagles and various types of bugs. What an incredible experience for our kids! They loved climbing the rocks, crossing the bridges, and exploring the trails.

Helpful?
1 Thank MominYakima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cowiche Canyon Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing