We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Yakima
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I stayed at the Red lion for a business conference. Everything was OK. But it merits a few comments.

My room was clean and large. My King size bed was very comfortable. Bathroom towels are lush, not threadbare. The TV is a throwback to the 90's. Come on Red Lion, spend some $ and upgrade to flat screen TV's.

My room was on the first floor and I heard every step the occupant of the room above me took. Really annoying and distracting.

Like my room, the decor of the hotel is very dated and needs a refresh.

The lounge feels like it's in a time warp from the 80's: decor, music. Wait staff are nice but were incapable of being attentive even when not busy. Some training is in order.

Overall, this Red Lion is just OK. I'd probably look elsewhere the next time I come to Yakima.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rukind2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlyakima, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

I am glad you found our guest rooms clean and comfortable. Currently the hotel has plans to purchase new falt screen televisions in 2014. I appreciate your comments and will pass them along to our corporate office regarding the decor and seeing what can be done about refeshing some areas of the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 378 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

Hotel in general was more run down than other Red Lions I've stayed at but the rates were very reasonable. I booked my room 3 months in advance through Expedia and then added a second night about 3 weeks before my arrival through the hotel. Upon Friday check in, I confirmed my two night reservations and all seemed fine. In the morning, they ran my credit card a second time and I checked that my other sister would be staying with us Sat night. At that point, we seemed to have a Sat night reservation confirmed. The lady at the desk was pleasant and gave a number of a taxi we could take to the fair.

When we returned, tired with sore feet from the fair, dragging luggage up to the room around midnight, we found that we were locked out of the room. Tromped down the stairs and across the hotel campus to the front desk and she reactivated our keys. Tromped back across the campus and up the stairs on sore feet, opened the room to find that no housekeeping had been done, towels still on the floor, nothing restocked, beds not made but $5 tip and thank you that I had left was gone. Called for more towels. And dug the morning's coffee cups out of the garbage to have some tea before bed as staff was edgy after our complaining and being thin around midnight on a Sat.

At check out, they told us that we had no reservation for Sat night and they had locked us out - and not cleaned. The manager was nice and gave us $20 off our rate for the night and free continental breakfast.

However, this experience was very embarrassing to me as I was expected to have gotten a nice hotel for this trip. We three sisters have not been together in 30 years. I felt the manager was accusing me of not having a proper reservation and discounted the problem. I stay in hotels frequently and have never had a problem like this. I expect if my husband had been with me, I would have been treated differently. It really did ruin some of our good time.

I would recommend staying at another hotel that has staff that can get their reservations straight and not blame their guests.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Myrna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlyakima, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Thank you for your comments. I will follow up with the front desk to follow up with your reservation request for the second night. I will follow up with our housekeeping Staff. Regardless if you were staying or not the room should have been cleaned why you and your sisters were gone. There is not excuse for the service you received.
On another note I was glad to see that one of our employees were able to adjust the room and offer breakfast as a small means of redresss for the frustrations we caused you and your sisters.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

After a long day driving it was nice to have a large, clean outdoor pool to jump into! The staff was friendly and very helpful. The room was fine albeit tired and in need of attention. Beds were good, breakfast so-so and housekeeping fine. The restaurant and lounge were closed on Sunday and Monday evening during our stay so can't comment on that. Other restaurant choices in the near vicinity were virtually non existent except for burger cafe's. I would stay there again during the hot months if just for the pool.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRoss98004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlyakima, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you for your sincere comments regarding your stay over the Labor Day holidays. I am glad you found our staff helpful and friendly. We all try to help our guests inway we can to make thier stay comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I received excellent service during my 3 day stay.

Excellent location.

Easy walking distance to downtown, to shopping area and to restaurants.

Good area to start runs - either in the morning or afternoon.

Rooms are well designed with easy access to the pool and pool deck.

Breakfasts were well organized and of good qulaity

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smuenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlyakima, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for your nice comments rgarding your stay. Glad the weather was nice so you could enjoy our two swimming pools. I am a runner also and hope you were able to use the near by green way for your morning or afternoon runs, it runs along the Yakima river.

I will pass along you nice comments to our entire hotel team

Thank you

Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Traveling with our dogs was made SO much easier with help from the staff at Red Lion in Yakima, WA. They made sure to have a room that was easily accessible with our pet; ground floor, patio access. And the food at the restaurant was delicious as well. Highly recommended for pet travelers.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlyakima, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

I appreciate yu nice comments regadring your recent visit at our property. I am glad you found our accommodations suitable for you and also your pets. We certainly hope to have you back should your trales bring you back to Yakima.
Sincerely
Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Nice friendly service like all red lions. They bought this one and have done some upgrades to it. Looks like it still has influences from the 70's and doesn't have a flat screen. Comes witha frig. Two pools. Has onsite resturants and lounge. Easy walk to downtown. Taco Bell and bobs burgers nearby. Easy walk to Olive Garden. Target, gas station and other amenities nearby b

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chumsockeyesalmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlyakima, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay in Yakima. We have some new 42" falt screen televisions that will be ordered in September. Hope to see you back again.
Best regards
Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My expectations were not real high after reading previous reviews but I wanted to stay at a hotel with a nice outdoor pool. I was really surprised by how clean and nice our suite was. Sure this place is old but everything was spotlessly clean...and I am very hard to please. Pool was very clean, pool towels were brought out regularly. Housekeeping staff was genuinely friendly. We stayed a Friday and Saturday night. Hotel was very crowded so didn't spend as much time by the pool as I wanted, but we did spend a day traveling to various nearby towns.
My only complaint was the sofa in the room was a bit "sinky" and the front desk staff was just in-different after the initial "hello" ok and the one bottle of water at ck in for two of us was really really cheap. We did have a great stay and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Garden area in "newer" part of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlyakima, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you for your comments. I am glad you gave us a try after reading the reviews about our hotel. Our associates take pride in our property and try hard to take care of our guests. I am sure many of our associates have already ready your nice comments.
Due to our two outdoor pools many people travel each year to spend time relaxing and just catching some sun rays by lounging around the pools.
There are mnay attractions close by and it sounds like you took advantage of some of the local events. I hope you had time to visit the Farmers Market on Sunday before you left.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yakima hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Yakima Hotel
0.7 mi away
Oxford Inn Yakima
Oxford Inn Yakima
#3 of 24 in Yakima
572 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Yakima
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Ahtanum Inn
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Yakima
Holiday Inn Yakima
#9 of 24 in Yakima
191 reviews
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Yakima
Days Inn Yakima
#11 of 24 in Yakima
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center

Address: 607 E Yakima Ave, Yakima, WA 98901-2548
Location: United States > Washington > Yakima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Yakima
Price Range: $85 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center is located in downtown Yakima Washington, next door to the Yakima Convention Center. Located just minutes from Yakima Greenway, Yakima SunDome, Yakima Valley Community College, the Central Washington Fairgrounds, and only 6 miles from the Yakima Air Terminal and offer a free airport shuttle. Red Lion Hotel Yakima guest rooms provide quiet, comfortable accommodations to help you rest and unwind. Hotel amenities include free wi-fi, telephone, in-room coffee and plenty of Yakima sun at our two outdoor pools. Additionally, the Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center boasts easy access to several nearby business locations like the Pacific Northwest University of Health Sciences, Yakima Regional HMA, Yakima Memorial Hospital, GE Aviation, Pacific Power, and Cascade Natural Gas. The Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center, located near I-82 provides easy access to Yakima Valley's award winning Wineries, nestled in the foothills of the lower valley. Located near the Yakima River provides many opportunities to fish the only blue ribbon river in the state of Washington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Yakima Yakima
Red Lion Yakima
Yakima Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing