We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"NO ONE IS CHECKING IN UNTIL 3 AND THAT'S JUST THE WAY IT IS"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Plaza Yakima/Near Convention Center
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in Yakima
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

My title of my review is a quote from the "personable" (sarcasm) Howard Johnson front desk when we got into town and tried to check in at 1:30pm.
We had never stayed at HJ, but had a reservation, and despite my wife talking to the front desk at least twice during the week, we were NOT told, although the desk argued they had told us, that "early" check in at Howard Johnson Yakima will NEVER be available, even if rooms are ready. We stay in many hotels each year, often with large groups. We have NEVER been denied early check in or had such a rude welcome/unwelcome.
They got our money this time but it won't happen again.
By the way HJ... we went right across the street to your competition (Holiday Inn) and they were very welcoming and very happy to accommodate us. Yes... this cost us a few extra bucks but I would rather take my business where I feel welcome

Stayed: April 2014
Thank dwhall58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (655)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

462 - 468 of 655 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2014

Facility is getting old and run down but the staff is great and they do make the stay as comfortable as possible

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We travel to the Yakima area around 5 times a year. I am ashamed to say that this is the first time I have ever written a review on this property. We just love it here. OK, it is getting a bit dated, but it is still very nice. Big Rooms!!! GREAT internet and then there is our favorite thing...the Bar/Lounge. If you stay here, you should really stop in and see Tammy (the Bar Tender) She treats us so well and is so much fun that we consider her a friend. ALWAYS have a great tome when we go here.

Room Tip: Visit this site and read reviews. Not just one or two, at least a dozen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank horizontransport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

This was the first time we ever stayed in Yakima and we stayed there only because we were connecting with a member of the cast of "In the Mood Live" and that's where they were booked. It was clean but carpets needed replaced. Staff was friendly but not terribly knowledgeable without "google." There was no in-house restaurant, so no place to get together with our friend other than our room since the bar wasn't open in the morning. There was a baseball tournament of some kind going on because the place was crawling with people which was fine except they ran out of food prior to end of service time. We tried to visit with our friend in the eating area but housekeeping decided to vacuum at least 1/2 hr before the end of service time. We will probably not stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Anita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Cynthia B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yakima hotels
0.6 mi away
Oxford Suites Yakima
Oxford Suites Yakima
#1 of 24 in Yakima
832 reviews
3.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Yakima
Comfort Suites Yakima
#5 of 24 in Yakima
259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Yakima
Holiday Inn Yakima
#9 of 24 in Yakima
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ledgestone Hotel Yakima
Ledgestone Hotel Yakima
#11 of 24 in Yakima
207 reviews
0.1 mi away
GuestHouse Inn Yakima
GuestHouse Inn Yakima
#14 of 24 in Yakima
170 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Yakima
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Yakima/Near Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Yakima/Near Convention Center

Address: 9 N 9th St, Yakima, WA 98901-2522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Yakima
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in Yakima
Price Range: $84 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Yakima/Near Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Yakima/Near Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Yakima Hotel Yakima
Howard Johnson Yakima
Yakima Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing