We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Yakima/Near Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Howard Johnson Plaza Yakima/Near Convention Center
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Yakima
Craig, CO.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed here at the last minute on business. Very close to the freeway, and a great value for the price. The room was very clean, the breakfast was adequate, and the customer service was excellent. I have no reservations about recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IndustrialDesigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    111
    157
    99
    65
See reviews for
163
59
18
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Colorado
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We booked the Howard Johnson because the hotel is a stop on the Belair Airporter, a shuttle that runs from the Seattle-Tacoma airport to Yakima. The staff was friendly. The property is well-maintained, but is an older property. It appears that there used to be a restaurant on the site, but it is not open now. The area is a great spot for their complimentary breakfast, though.
We walked to the downtown area, and a nearby Target, a couple of times during our stay.
The pool is seasonal. The only complaint I would have is that the treadmill in the exercise room was only set to go to a fast walk. The front desk did not respond when I brought it to their attention.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dannyandcindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojoyakima, General Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Yakima/Near Convention Center, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for staying with us during your travels! I appreciate your comments and have called the service in for the treadmill, the desk agent did pass it on- sorry that was not relayed to you though. We hope we have the opportunity to have you stay with us again in the future and thank you for choosing our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnation, Washington
Level Contributor
125 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This road weary, tired, exhausted, business traveler just wanted a comfy place to rest and a glass of wine after a 3 hour sales call!
When I booked my stay however (in route to the hotel!) at the Howard Johnson in Downtown Yakima, I had no idea how nice my experience would be!
I noticed on my smart phone the rating was 3 stars, (better than the Red Lyon or Holiday Inn in the same vicinity) but what secured the 'deal' for me was thier mid-week value rate of only $55.00 per night!!
After checking in at the front desk with the very friendly staff..and securing a King room at this great rate..I headed for my room. When I opened the door, I said aloud to myself; "This is every bit as nice as the Hilton Garden Inn"! (where I last stayed when in town.) The room was large, freshly painted, new carpet, king size VERY comfy bed and pillows, "designer" bedding and furnishings...A VERY NICE SURPRISE!!
After putting down my things I went back down stairs; "did you say something about a bar"??!!
I then headed to a very nice intimate bar on the main floor for that glass of wine! (local wines from this 'wine country' area!) The bartender; Tammy could not have been more friendly..nor the other patrons more chatty and pleasant!
I slept very well in my quiet, dark, comfortable room...and will come back again and again when in the area for business. (or fun!)

Room Tip: I don't ever stay on a ground floor room when traveling alone..and I don't like to 'drag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lakejoyjolee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojoyakima, General Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Yakima/Near Convention Center, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
I am glad we exceeded your expectations; and we are thankful that you stayed with us during your stop in Yakima! I appreciate your comments and will pass on to the staff, especially Tammy; she is a great asset to us here! We look forward to welcoming you once again; safe travels to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yakima hotels
0.7 mi away
Oxford Suites Yakima
Oxford Suites Yakima
#1 of 24 in Yakima
4.5 of 5 stars 668 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oxford Inn Yakima
Oxford Inn Yakima
#2 of 24 in Yakima
4.0 of 5 stars 472 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Yakima
Holiday Inn Yakima
#5 of 24 in Yakima
4.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Yakima
Days Inn Yakima
#7 of 24 in Yakima
3.5 of 5 stars 411 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Yakima
0.3 mi away
Ledgestone Hotel Yakima
Ledgestone Hotel Yakima
#10 of 24 in Yakima
4.5 of 5 stars 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Yakima/Near Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Yakima/Near Convention Center

Property: Howard Johnson Plaza Yakima/Near Convention Center
Address: 9 N 9th St, Yakima, WA 98901-2522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Yakima
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Yakima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Yakima/Near Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Yakima/Near Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Yakima Hotel Yakima
Howard Johnson Yakima
Yakima Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing