We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Howard Johnson Plaza Yakima/Near Convention Center
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Yakima
SOUTH BEND
2 reviews
“Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

This hotel is an older hotel, but kept clean and is a great location. We were attending the State Volleyball tournament, so it worked out really good staying here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Maureen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojoyakima, General Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Yakima/Near Convention Center, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your comments, and we were appreciative to have so many fans and players here for the Volleyball tournament, thank you for choosing the Howard Johnson. We look forward to having you here again soon.
Best regards, Colette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    116
    164
    101
    72
See reviews for
168
64
19
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SALKUM
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

The exterior of the hotel was run down. the lobby as well. Rooms were clean, staff was fairly helpful. More perks would be good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank CINDY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WALLA WALLA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

The TV channels offered needs more options. the selection was very slim compared to other hotels that I have stayed at. Over all the hotel was and is a nice place to stay close to everything that is needed to do.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank STEVE T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEDFORD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

I cannot believe this happened in a nice hotel like HJ. The mattress was wet underneath a clean pad and clean sheets. Didn't notice until I laid in it for a time to soak through. Nonetheless, the cleaning staff should have noticed as they changed sheets. Incredible. I'm sure it doesn't happen often (that someone urinates) but it should have been caught!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank MANUEL G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojoyakima, General Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Yakima/Near Convention Center, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Manuel, Thank you so much for letting me know what transpired during your stay. My deepest apologies that we may have missed something so crucial to your room. My housekeeping supervisor and I are extremely sorry that we could have overlooked this and have taken immediate steps with all our staff training. Again, I apologize for this and I appreciate you letting me know so we can get a solution in place for all our staff. Sincerely, Colette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Yakima hotels

Vancouver, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

The "HoJo" in Yakima is an OK place to stay.
It's very close to the convention center so that's a plus. But their restaurant/lounge didn't open until 5pm each day.
They did let us arrange a late check out.
Rooms were clean and beds were very comfortable.
Wall are thin though. We heard the couple fighting in the room next to us more than once.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yakima hotels
0.6 mi away
Oxford Inn Yakima
Oxford Inn Yakima
#2 of 24 in Yakima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ledgestone Hotel Yakima
Ledgestone Hotel Yakima
#10 of 24 in Yakima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Yakima
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Oxford Suites Yakima
Oxford Suites Yakima
#1 of 24 in Yakima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Yakima
Days Inn Yakima
#8 of 24 in Yakima
3.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Yakima
Holiday Inn Yakima
#7 of 24 in Yakima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Yakima/Near Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Yakima/Near Convention Center

Property: Howard Johnson Plaza Yakima/Near Convention Center
Address: 9 North 9th Street, Yakima, WA 98901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Yakima
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Yakima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Yakima/Near Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Yakima/Near Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Yakima Hotel Yakima
Howard Johnson Yakima
Yakima Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing