We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor drinks.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Second Street Grill

Second Street Grill
Ranked #6 of 242 Restaurants in Yakima
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Poor drinks.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Went there for dinner and ordered a long island ice tea. I was able to drink this down in a matter of seconds because there was not much liquid and little or no alcohol. This was supposed to be a Long Island Ice Tea. It was obvious they filled the glass with ice then added some ice tea. For my wife to complain that she couldn’t taste any alcohol in her drink shows that they are more about making money then delivering a product. Dinner was ok and the place has a nice atmosphere. While walking back to our hotel we stopped by another restaurant to have some drinks.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelfromtacoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    139
    45
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great service good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Great location, parked outside easily both times we visited. Great, friendly service and good food. Nothing special about the menu but some good wines and beers available.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mamakali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Answering "How is your meal?" truthfully”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

You know what it's like, don't you? A server comes back to check on you in the middle of a meal and cheerily asks "How's your meal?" not expecting anything other than " good" " fine" "great". You want to say "just OK" or something more specific, but you know he or she isn't the cook and isn't responsible for the food. Besides, it's embarrassing to create a stir. What do you do?

Usually I let my husband, who is a much nicer person than I am and happy just to be fed, answer for us and I follow the old adage "If you can't say something nice, don't say anything at all." Then I'm not lying or being a people-pleasing phony.

My vegetarian sandwich with a yummy ingredient list including fresh mozzarella, pesto and artichoke hearts tasted fine but it had just one 1/4 inch slice of mozzarella and bread that was sugary sweet. This was on the dinner menu and therefore I was expecting more protein. I was asked twice how I liked the meal and both times I mentioned the skimpy slice of cheese...but what the heck could the server do about it? My husband had his meal in front of him and I was hungry. I wasn't going to delay the meal.

I'd like to hear from others about how they handle this situation and what solutions restaurants come up with when a meal is less than hoped for.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 509traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selah, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, good service, but a bit spendy for what it is.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Second Street Grill is nicely decorated. We loved the brick walls and nostalgic pictures. Hostess and waiter were freindly and attentive. They have a large drink menu and we will definately go again to have drinks there. The food was good, but for the quality of the food the prices are a bit high. Comperable meals can easily be found at Red Robin of Denny's for at least $10.00 less for a couple. The decor of course is better than Denny's. To summarize: Good food, good service, but a bit spendy for what it is.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wes L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Got The Squealer burger. Had bacon INSIDE the burger!!! Good food and reasonably priced. Happy hour has great prices on appetizers.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Second Street Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing