We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beyond...Bed & Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Birchfield Manor Country Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yakima
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Birchfield Manor Country Inn
Save
You added Birchfield Manor Country Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #4 of 7 Yakima B&B and Inns
Chicago
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beyond...Bed & Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Charming and very comfortable country estate in Washington Wine Country affording quick and easy access to Yakima Valley wineries. The staff could not have been more welcoming or attentive. But my thoughts keep drifting to dining... Should you be fortunate enough to stay at the inn over a weekend, DEFINITELY book a table for dinner - on both Friday and Saturday evenings if possible! The chef provides a truly five-star experience: local food and produce are featured in classic European presentations. From appetizer to home-made chocolates - perfection! And the wine selection is (understandably) quite impressive. Breakfast easily follows suit with an impressive menu . BIrchfield Manor raises the B&B "bar" very high indeed...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DNCGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    12
    5
    10
    2
See reviews for
1
30
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

We just stayed last weekend at Birchfield Manor. What a perfectly delightful weekend. The rooms charming...ours, The Jenny featured not only a spa size bathroom with loads of natural light, jacuzzi tub but also a lovely window seat. ( came in handy to watch a desert rain storm arrive over the mountains). The cuisine each evening and morning was so amazing featuring incredible flavors and stunning presentation. Tim Newbury the perfect host and so knowledgeable about food, wine nd the area. Can't wait to return!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Marc K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The inn has a good location in the Yakima Valley. It's just outside of Yakima and offers a convenient 20-30 minute drive to wineries down the valley as well as a very short trip to downtown Yakima for dinner and drinks. Our room was clean and small, but could use a bit of updating. Overall very comfortable, convenient, and friendly service!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wandering_Chiquita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

What a great place to stay for a visit to WA wine country! I inquired through email about a one night stay at Birchfield and received a response back quickly. I made a follow up call with their concierge who proved very helpful and informative. He took my info over the phone and when I asked him for suggestions as to wineries he would recommend my bf and I visit, he was more than happy to include suggestions in his confirmation email to me. We stayed in the Victoria room in the Main house. Our room was clean and very well kept. Each room, including ours, had its own private bathroom with shower. The next morning's breakfast was filling and delicious! A great way to start the second day of our wine touring. During breakfast, we found the staff very informative as to the history of the Manor. Overall, the hospitality of the staff, the accomodations, and the included breakfast added to an already amazing visit to wine country and made it all that more exceptional! I would highly recommend Birchfield Manor Inn! I know we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KMaeL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

This inn is located in a lovely country setting, perfect for a wine country getaway. The staff and service are wonderful. We stayed in one of the cottage rooms in an adjacent building. There was a nice deck with a view of the pond and grounds and the room was spacious. I like the country charm feel, but I think it might be time for a bit of a refresh. All of the dusty, fake plants and flowers need to go. They could use an upgrade on the linens too.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank forgetthis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, WA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We have stayed here twice while visiting wine country and absolutely love it. The hospitality of the staff is unparalleled. The manager, Tim was a delight...visiting with all the quests and going out of his way to make our stay memorable. We stayed on a busy weekend and unfortunately they were booked for dinner, but upon our return to the inn after a day of wine tasting we really didn't want to go into town. Instead, Tim and his staff set up a table outside for our party to enjoy!!! So nice! We stayed in the Sunset Rose room in the cottage...it was perfect with a nice little deck outside overlooking the pond. The breakfasts are amazing...for those put off by the 8:30 breakfast time note that you have the option to eat breakfast in your room. Also, appetizers are available in the evening as well, although we didn't order any. Also we never had any trouble with hot water and another poster complained about the lack a fridge or ice...yes, a fridge would have been ideal, but all we had to do was ask Tim and he brought us a bucket of ice. Not a big deal at all. We look forward to returning for many years to come!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AppleGrl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
152 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We stayed here Aug 23. The occasion was dinner for a good friend's retirement party. We stayed in the Sunrise room in the annex and was a delight. Breakfast was awesome, a havarti cheese and chive omlett and figs with a balsamic reduction.
The pool area was nice and good balance with sun and shade. It is so quiet there, in a pastoral setting.
Dinner was a whole another matter. 11 on a 1-10 scale.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomgyakima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yakima
3.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Yakima
Oxford Suites Yakima
#1 of 24 in Yakima
4.5 of 5 stars 656 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Yakima
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Yakima
Holiday Inn Yakima
#6 of 24 in Yakima
4.0 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Oxford Inn Yakima
Oxford Inn Yakima
#2 of 24 in Yakima
4.0 of 5 stars 454 reviews
6.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#11 of 24 in Yakima
4.0 of 5 stars 171 reviews
5.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Yakima Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchfield Manor Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchfield Manor Country Inn

Property: Birchfield Manor Country Inn
Address: 2018 Birchfield Rd, Yakima, WA 98901-9580
Location: United States > Washington > Yakima
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Yakima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic 1910 farmhouse ran by chef/owner. Surrounded by hop fields and vineyard two miles East of Yakima. In the heart of wine country. 11 guest rooms to choose from, all with private bath and shower. Most with double Jacuzzi tubs. Multi-course Gourmet dining available on weekends nights. wonderful selection of local wines. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing