We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Yakima
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Yakima
Kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good for the price”
Reviewed January 30, 2008

Property was being remodeled during my stay. Even so, I had no problems with noise. Rooms were decent, clean, and safe, and included hairdryer, small frig, and microwave. My only complaint with the room was if you turned the water on full blast at the sink, there was splash-back from the angle of the water hitting the stopper (it went all over the counter). Other than that, I had a great stay. The front desk clerk gave me good directions to restaurants and nearby stores. Even though the front lobby was being remodeled, breakfast was available each day.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 515Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    56
    27
    9
    7
See reviews for
32
25
7
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
now
Level Contributor
134 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2007

You know what you're going to get with a HIE - comfy beds, toiletries that smell kindof like a lemon vanilla cookie and decent rooms with fridges and microwaves. Nice pool at this location. Good location with a Target close by and close access to the bike trail/walking trail that goes along the river. The surprise at this HIE is that even though I booked on line and fully disclosed the number of people in our room, the front desk tacked on a $10 charge because we had 2 adults and 2 kids in a room with 2 queen beds. Huh? And the minion at the front desk acted as if she was completely unempowered to make it right. Book this one by calling the hotel directly.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank lostinthesupermarket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Custer, WA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2007

First of all...we had intended to fly to Portland, but the flights were full, so I called Holdiay Inn Express In Yakima the night before and the hotel clerk was so very helpful....I wanted to use my points, but priority club was not open, but he checked for a room and told me they would have one clean and reay for us in the morning! Most hotels woudl make you wait for a check-in time, but they weren't very full yet, and we got there and we were in our room by 10:00 in the morning. Very professional, courteous staff, and the rooms and the grounds were very clean. Also, we noticed security patroled the hotel area at night. The pool was great and the hotel clerk was helpful gving us directions.
All I can say is that it was a nice experience...there is a Target walking disntace and a liquor store close by and the room had a fridge and microwave.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dobberdoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle WA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2007

It's not the Ritz, but a good solid value. Clean, comfortable, breakfast as expected at HIE. I don't know where many of the others who have written reviews stayed! My only recommendation is to stay away from rooms just over the exit on the 1st floor. It's where the smokers congregate and if cigarette smoke bothers you it will get in your room.

  • Liked — Price, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Smokers
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank alycara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2007

We've been staying at hotels in Yakima frequently this past year, and have always unsatisfied with the hotel experience. Two weeks ago we tried the holiday inn express for the first time and finally felt we had found a great place we can keep coming back to. Everything was of good quality from the wireless service, to the bed (none of those yucky hotel comforters), to the showers, the pool, and breakfast. We even extended our stay another night & usually we're counting the hours until we can be home again. I'd recommend this to a friend.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank ms.coconut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, ID
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2007

My family stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Yakima for 4 days/3 nights. After visiting Yakima, I don't think we would ever stay here again. There seems to be a lot nicer hotels in the area. I had blocked off 10 rooms for the families on my son's basketball team, but each of those families had to call in with their credit card info. It was strange, if the original person I talked to wasn't on duty, none of their other staff could book their room. It was really a hassle to try and catch only her. Also, none of our rooms were together. There were like 5 on our floor and the other 5 were spread throughout the hotel. I agree with the other reviews, the floor squeaked badly. Every morning when I took a shower I woke up my family because of the squeaking tub, it was horrible. The bathroom was very small and with kids this hotel just did not work for us. The breakfast was nice, but it was supposed to on until 9:30 am, but the staff would start cleaning up by 9:00 and if you asked for anything, they acted totally bothered. It was very rude. While we were there the hot tub was taped off for repairs and it was never fixed in 4 days. I am trying to think of something nice about the hotel and the only thing I can think of is the pool is open 24 hours!

  • Liked — Pool was open 24 hours
  • Disliked — Squeaky floors
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Traveler_from_Idaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesManagerYakima, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express Yakima, responded to this review, April 7, 2007
The Holiday Inn Express Yakima greatly appreciates the teams and their families that stay with us at our hotel! While we do all that we can to place team rooms near one another, that may not always be possible, often due to our higher occupancy and the room types requested.

Our breakfast bar is always open from 6:30am – 9:30am, and our staff is happy to accommodate our guests’ needs. As with all hotels, general maintenance on pools and hot tubs must be done periodically to ensure cleanliness and proper functioning. We regret any inconvenience that this guest and his family may have experienced.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont, MN
Level Contributor
83 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2006

We stayed in Yakima to visit relatives and then to start our National Park tour.

I used points for the stay and check-in was a breeze. Everyone was very friendly.

We would stay here again.

  • Liked — Hot cookies
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Allgoodonesgone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yakima hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Yakima
Holiday Inn Yakima
#9 of 24 in Yakima
183 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Yakima
0.6 mi away
Oxford Suites Yakima
Oxford Suites Yakima
#1 of 24 in Yakima
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Oxford Inn Yakima
Oxford Inn Yakima
#2 of 24 in Yakima
532 reviews
3.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Yakima
Comfort Suites Yakima
#6 of 24 in Yakima
225 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Yakima Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Yakima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Yakima

Property: Holiday Inn Express Yakima
Address: 1001 E Staff Sgt Pendleton Way, Yakima, WA 98901-2585
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Yakima
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Yakima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Yakima 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Yakima Hotel! Ideally located near the heart of downtown Yakima, we are just one block from the Yakima Convention Center, with quick freeway access. The Holiday Inn Express Yakima is your 'Gateway to Wine Country', with numerous local wineries to choose from throughout our Valley. While staying at the Holiday Inn Express Yakima Hotel, you will enjoy our complimentary, expanded deluxe continental breakfast, featuring hot and cold food selections, such as omelets, biscuits and gravy, fresh fruits, cereals, and of course, our famous cinnamon rolls! This Yakima hotel will help maintain your exercise regime in our fitness center. Swim year round in our indoor pool or relax in our hot tub. Whether you are staying with us for business, pleasure, or both, you will find our free, wireless, high-speed Internet access convenient for any situation. Attractions near hotel: Yakima Convention Center, Yakima Valley Wineries, Yakima Sundome, Apple Tree Golf Course and the Seasons Performance Hall. The Holiday Inn Express Yakima. Stay Smart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Yakima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Yakima Hotel Yakima
Holiday Inn Yakima
Yakima Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing