We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Customer Service is Job One for this Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Yakima

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Yakima
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Yakima
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Customer Service is Job One for this Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

I am pleased to write a review on behalf of the Holiday Inn Express in Yakima, Washington. I called the hotel direct to see if I could reserve a block of rooms for our soccer team at a discounted price. The gal that worked with me; her name is Brittany. She exceeded my expectations. There was no hesitation in providing a block room discount. The rooms were on the same floor which makes it easy to keep the players corralled at the hotel. She was very helpful to insure I understood my responsibility of cancelling a room if all rooms were not booked.

Upon arrival/check-in, Brittany was working the front desk. She checked us in with ease. She also noted to me; she doubled check my reservation earlier in the day to insure I followed through on canelling the extra rooms that were not booked so I wouldn't have to pay additional room fees. Thank you Brittany!!!

Another bright spot about Brittany that amazed me is her work ethics. The next morning I was having their continental breakfast. The breakfast line was set up by the graveyard shift employee and she did a good job setting up the breakfast line. The line was very eye applealing. Now here's the notewothy part; the graveyard shift employee was laxed about maintaining the line. As Brittany reported to work, she immediately took charge and restocked the breakfast items in a short period of time. She also removed the full garbage cans. She spruced up the breakfast line. At one point during my breakfast, I saw Brittany mopping the floor in their breakfast prep room. By the way, at the same time she still had her front desk responsibilities. To Mr. Luis E. Gutierrez, the General Manager of the hotel and corporate of Holdiay Inn Express; you are blessed to have an excellent individual working for you. Brittany is worthy of your praise and investment.

The hotel itself, the rooms were clean and I saw no issues with the carpet (dirty feet). The beds are beds, my family had no issues with them. My wife liked how the bathroom/shower room was seperate from the wash basin. The apperance of the rooms, lobby, hallways, and general apperance of the hotel inside/outside had clean and modern look. The hotel is somewhat aged, thin walls and floor creaks for the noise factor. But then it's not different from other hotels that I've stayed in.

I am spoiled to a good breakfast. Their continental breakfast is par which is based on similar continental breakfasts at other hotels. The food that needed to be hot was hot and the food that needed to be cold was cold. In addition, the food was fresh. I have no complaints.

The hotel has an indoor pool and hot tub. The pool was comfortably warm and the hot tub was perfectly hot. In addition, they have a little tots pool for little ones. You don't see that often in a hotel. The noteworthy part here, the pool, the tots pool, and the hot tub is well maintained. I say that because I used to run swimming pools for a living. The chlorine levels were good.

Even though it's somewhat expensive to stay here, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rscaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    53
    26
    9
    7
See reviews for
30
25
7
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eastern OR
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

We've spent several nights here over the past four years. The staff is helpful, friendly beyond the very good customer service, with personality. The rooms are clean, the building and grounds are well kept. It is pricy but pretty consistent for the chain.

Room Tip: We've not had a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DirtSifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, WA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

After a very long day of travel and work, it was so wonderful to check in to this great hotel. The last couple of times I've been in Yakima, I stayed at the Oxford Suites and Oxford Inn. I had forgotten how wonderful this Holiday Inn Express is. It's older, but don't let that discourage you! It's clean and the staff are very friendly - which is rare in hotels these days!

During the week, they offer a Crockpot of yummy soup for guests. I think it was Chicken Gumbo the night I stayed...it was good whatever it was! Then, before retiring to my room for the night, the very nice desk clerk put out fresh chocolate chip cookies with milk. I can't remember the last time I went to bed with cookies and milk, but it was certainly when I was still living with my parents...oh the memories...

I wish all the hotels on my travels were this well ran. I'll be back next time I'm in Yakima!

PS - This is a dog-friendly hotel. I stayed here many years back with my medium sized dog and it was a good experience (hotels and dogs can be hit or miss.)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marrissa99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

This is by far one of THE best HIE we have stayed at. The lady at the front desk, Lora, was friendly and exceptionally helpful and friendly. The room was clean, the bedding was fresh and the internet service was excellent. The breakfast was wonderful, warm for those who wanted warm and cold for those who wanted cold and everything was well prepared. We received a small gift on arrival, just some munchies but it made a difference. Lora was kind enough to provide us with a number to order food for delivery as well as a coupon for discount too. This to me is 'going the extra mile'. I do commend Lora on the service she provided - she certainly is an asset to this HIE. We had our small dog with us and this was no problem at all. Overall an excellent experience and I would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MyViews_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

Everything I love about HIE. The outstanding feature was their delightfully warm pool. Fabulous!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L01S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

1st floor is for the pets and room smelled like it! Reassigned room better but the kid checking in does not need to be there! If you live in holiday inn 4 nights a week on average they usually upgrade room, give gifts, and non of this happened so I would choose the Hilton or Fairfield Marriot if I return!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank auditing4you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Nice clean hotel, great bed and a nice breakfast all for a decent price. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yakima hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Yakima
Holiday Inn Yakima
#6 of 24 in Yakima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Yakima
0.2 mi away
Ledgestone Hotel Yakima
Ledgestone Hotel Yakima
#10 of 24 in Yakima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Oxford Inn Yakima
Oxford Inn Yakima
#2 of 24 in Yakima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yakima Hotel
0.6 mi away
Oxford Suites Yakima
Oxford Suites Yakima
#1 of 24 in Yakima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Yakima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Yakima

Property: Holiday Inn Express Yakima
Address: 1001 E Staff Sgt Pendleton Way, Yakima, WA 98901-2585
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Yakima
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Yakima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Yakima 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Yakima Hotel!Ideally located near the heart of downtown Yakima, we are just one block from the Yakima Convention Center, with quick freeway access. The Holiday Inn Express Yakima is your 'Gateway to Wine Country', with numerous local wineries to choose from throughout our Valley.While staying at the Holiday Inn Express Yakima Hotel, you will enjoy our complimentary, expanded deluxe continental breakfast, featuring hot and cold food selections, such as omelets, biscuits and gravy, fresh fruits, cereals, and of course, our famous cinnamon rolls!This Yakima hotel will help maintain your exercise regime in our fitness center. Swim year round in our indoor pool or relax in our hot tub.Whether you are staying with us for business, pleasure, or both, you will find our free, wireless, high-speed Internet access convenient for any situation.Attractions near hotel: Yakima Convention Center, Yakima Valley Wineries, Yakima Sundome, Apple Tree Golf Course and the Seasons Performance Hall.The Holiday Inn Express Yakima. Stay Smart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Yakima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Yakima Hotel Yakima
Holiday Inn Yakima
Yakima Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing