We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was alright...”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #21 of 24 Hotels in Yakima
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Arrived late after all day of driving, I had reservations and upon arrival check-in was without a hassle. The young lady at the front desk was confused, ironically, there was another guest with the same last name that had reservations and she thought I was them. After I told her again who I was, she checked me in relatively quick and with apologies. No problem.. The bed in the room was alright a pretty good nights sleep and pillows were comfortable. Room appeared to be pretty clean and orderly. The curtains needed put back on the curtain rod, so they would close. I did the best I could considering the hooks were missing. Not bad for the price, but not a Hilton, ok, for a nights stay... The front desk said they offer breakfast, but I didn't get an opportunity to check that out, as I had to leave before it was being served..

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgwds1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 100 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2013

This hotel is very close to shopping and other restaurants near the facility. The rooms are large and very clean. The has a small pool, great for all ages and has a small breakfast area. The hotel staff was very friendly and pleasant. Excellent information from desk clerk when we checked in. Good location from the interstate.

Room Tip: Ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night in May 2013. I have mixed feelings about this motel. It was the most expensive motel in our two-week trip ($76 plus tax, with Choice Privileges senior discount rate.) Being relatively expensive, we had high expectations, which were mostly unfulfilled, as will be explained.
FIRST THE GOOD POINTS: Quality Inn Yakima is easily located. It is located near the freeway exit (# 36??), and it is located directly across from Yakima's largest shopping mall. An excellent seafood restaurant is situated about a block from the motel. The full breakfast was excellent, and there was plenty of seating in the dining room. The pool is medium sized, and is well maintained and clean. The general manager, who has managed the motel for about six months, was VERY HELPFUL in helping me get to an optical shop at the mall, to replace eyeglasses I'd forgotten at home prior to the trip. The ice machine works great, but its location is disguised as a motel room on the second floor.
NOW FOR THE BAD POINTS: It is a relatively old motel, dating back to the 1960s, as judged from fixtures in the room. The room is spatious, especially with one bed. Carpeting should be cleaned. I am certain that this motel did not begin like as a Quality Inn; it has the exterior walkways that were common among motels of the 1960s: Motel 6, the older Days Inn, or the older Holiday Inn chains. This style of walkway means that strangers walk past the room's window, which compromises privacy. There are many signs that maintenance was skimpy in the past: cracked, stained concrete, worn paint on the walkways, no elevator, low-definition older picture-tube TV in the room, cold water in the swimming pool (which had been described as "heated."), no Jacuzzi spa. FULL-DAY ADVANCE FOR CANCELLATION POLICY: Especially annoying was that the hotel requires a full 24-hour advance notice for cancellation of a reservation. This differs strongly from the motel industry standard: "4pm on day of arrival." After making the booking, I worried that, if my car broke down in the 350 mile drive from Boise ID, My $76 + tax advance payment would be totally lost. I discussed this topic directly with the general manager, who replied that, in such an emergency, consideration would be given. That too, is ambiguous; would my deposit then be refunded? He should state clearly what emergencies would lead to a refund, and which would not. The cancellation policy is so important to travelers, that I am certain that this motel loses business by having a restricted policy, even if exceptions can (maybe) be granted.
I regularly watch the travel channel series, HOTEL IMPOSS IBLE, with host Anthony Melcouri. I anticipate that, if Anthony inspected Quality Inn Yakima, he would decree that this motel must be upgraded through remodeling. I disagree about remodeling. QIY's style is certainly old, but the solution is NOT remodeling. Remodeling costs plenty, and it will lead to even higher rates. I suggest instead, that the motel be left as it is, but the rates be reduced by $20 to $25. I criticize the motel because it is too expensive for what it is: At $76, it is overpriced; but if the price were reduced to about $50.00, I would be happy with it. Finally, I suggest that Quality Inn inspectors should visit the motel to judge whether it meets general standards of the Quality Inn chain. This property would be more suitable if rebranded as a Rodeway Inn, an Econo Lodge, a Travel Lodge, or other economy brand, rather than as a Quality Inn. SB

Room Tip: Parking spaces are narrow, so if your car is parked between large trucks your doors could be dented...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I had to sign a waiver for no pets, however whomever stayed before me had a pet and they didn't clean the room. I'm not in the habit of wearing shoes in hotel rooms, but Quality Inn tricked me into thinking I was paying for a room in one. This was a motel, plain and simple. The room smelled awful, and I had to use my travel candle to obliterate some of the smell. Probably against the rules. Oh well. The door didn't latch properly. Shower wasn't clean. Bed was comfortable -- a feature I'd come to expect in Quality Inns (thank goodness one thing wasn't awful!)

As I have animal allergies, I was not pleased to wake up completely congested. I will not be staying here again. I chose not to complain for my one night as I was leaving early the next day, but they will not be getting my business again.

Also, with the roundabouts in town, GPS doesn't understand how to get there, so look at a map before you head.

Room Tip: Don't choose this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank-you for your feedback on the Quality Inn. I would like to inform you that this property is under new management since January 2013. I apologize for the issues that you experienced during your last stay to Yakima and can ensure you that you will not run into any of those issues in the future. Since I've been managing this property, we have done numerous improvements to the property and rooms. I would like a chance to earn back your business the next time you come to Yakima. Just let me know if there is anything I can do and look forward to hearing back from you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Oh come ON!

When I pulled over after a long drive to a clean-looking but nondescript hotel in Yakima, WA, I did not expect fancy. Basic, maybe even beaten down, but with SOME semblance of cleanliness. The bathroom, bathtub/surround shower curtain were positively LITTERED with hairs. The tub drain - it was all but clogged from months, if not years - of hair accumulation. There were chunks of dried, bloody snot on the interior of the shower curtain and tub surround. A bloody spot on the barely painted wall. There was a big hair on the first towel I grabbed, which upon closer inspection, had chunks of god-knows-what on it. The TOWELS weren't clean! A large gap under the door leading to an adjacent room ensured that every grunt, cough wheeze and snort by the loud, tv-loving man next door was a real treat - esp since he stayed up past midnight and woke with the dawn. Oh - and the entire room was in the midst of a major ant infestation. Such things happen, ants gotta live too and all that, however seeing 10 or so of them swarming around the bathroom sink after my horrible shower experience was not what I needed to see. I suppose I should have put more thought into my interpretation of the name of this place - "Quality Inn" - which of course can mean either high or low quality. Now I know.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank GooberPiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank-you for your feedback. I would like to inform you that this property is under new management since January 2013. I apologize for the room cleanliness issues that you experienced in the past and can ensure you that we have made significant strides in overall guest room condition as well as numerous improvements to the entire property. All of are guest rooms are cleaned with the highest standards and inspected daily to make sure we are at those standards. I would like a chance to earn back your business, please let me know when the next time you will be in Yakima and I will take care of your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

While working in Yakima we opted to stay (off and on) for about 6 weeks at this Quality Inn. First off, the staff was extremely pleasant! After spending the first week cleaning the room and settling in - it became cozy. Onsite laundry was a plus. Only serious complaint was the lack of a "pet area", you do not wanna take your little Fido out behind this hotel to do his/her business!! Broken glass everywhere! The restaurants within walking distance (with the exception the the local IHOP, nasty) was great!! We stayed there in the winter, so needless to say, it snowed - a lot!! Praying we never have to go back to Yakima, Washington again, but if we do, we would probably stay at the Quality Inn.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelTheUSA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We booked 2 rooms here for a wedding. The accommodations were what you would expect for the price, but what really impressed me was the staff! The guy that checked us in was very helpful and friendly. When we got home after the trip I realized my sons very special blanket had been left in one of the beds. This was a crises! Really, parents, you understand what I mean! Scott at the front desk found it, and mailed it back to us. Thank you Scott! You were great and deserve some recognition for taking care of us even after our stay!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank OregonLadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yakima hotels
4.4 mi away
Days Inn Yakima
Days Inn Yakima
#10 of 24 in Yakima
522 reviews
3.1 mi away
GuestHouse Inn Yakima
GuestHouse Inn Yakima
#14 of 24 in Yakima
170 reviews
3.6 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#13 of 24 in Yakima
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Sun Country Inn Yakima
Sun Country Inn Yakima
#16 of 24 in Yakima
44 reviews
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Yakima Hotel
5.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Yakima
Comfort Suites Yakima
#5 of 24 in Yakima
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 12 E Valley Mall Blvd, Yakima, WA 98903-1613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Yakima
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 24 Hotels in Yakima
Price Range: $61 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Yakima
Yakima Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing