We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very nice . . . but okay for Yakima”
Review of Oxford Inn Yakima

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oxford Inn Yakima
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Yakima
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not very nice . . . but okay for Yakima”
Reviewed May 17, 2010

Small room
Shower was luke warm
Breakfast - waited over 20 minutes to make my waffle. Not much of a selection for breakfast.
Some areas of hotel reeked of cigarette smoke
Keys to room are very hard to use. I think I remember other hotels having this style of room key 20 years ago.
Bed harder than I like.
Hotel could use some major updating.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternTrvlr, Manager at Oxford Inn Yakima, responded to this review, May 19, 2010
Thanks for taking to time to comment on the Oxford Inn in Yakima. We truly apologize for not delivering the stay experience you expected. Did you know that our sister property, the Oxford Suites Yakima is located just east of the Inn? The Oxford Suites may be able to offer you the amenities that you are seeking such as a larger room, a full hot breakfast buffet and evening reception. The Suites also has an indoor swimming pool that your teens may have enjoyed. Perhaps on your next visit to Yakima, you might consider a stay at Oxford Suites Yakima. Thanks again for commenting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    194
    70
    20
    7
See reviews for
153
136
26
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
UTAH
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2009

This was one of th highlights of our 2800 mile trip from So.Utah to Seattle/Bainbridge area! AAA recommended this (via phone consult) and they were right!! We stayed both coming and going on this trip, and we were NOT disappointed! Great location on the river (ask for a 4th floor if you can) and great dining, winetasting and exploring nearby. Beds were the BEST, rooms were nicely appointed, amenities nice. Comp. breakfast was tasty and fast - we had things to do!! The staff was great, even ordered a couple pies from a local bakery for us to take to our next destination, in addition to some great recommends for winetasting. We WILL be back next year - this time with friends in tow. We loved Yakima!!

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank panini2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2008

Great stay, very friendly staff, clean spacious rooms with refrigerator and microwave. Rooms all have balconys that overlook the Yakima River. Nice walk way along the river that is behind the Hotel. We went for a fastpitch tournament in Selah and the girls all had a blast in the pool, the hot tub is a bit small though. Continental breakfast was okay, there was alot of people so it was crowded, but we enjoyed eating out on the patio by the pool. If you stay here you have to eat at the Peking Palace chinese restaurant, excellent chinese food and pretty easy to find also Miner's is a great place to get huge burgers, salads, sandwiches and they give you a huge order of fries. If we ever go back we will definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank hondariders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2008

I looked on expedia first and then called the hotel directly. My travel plans were unclear and they were very accepting of that. They went out of their way to accomodate me both on the phone and after I arrived. It was late at night and I realized I had not brought any milk for my tired toddler they quickly poured me two cups and would not accept payment. They had a small selection of VHS movies, a little something for everyone, and they were FREE. The lobby was nicely decorated, the rooms very clean, the view of the river w/baclcony as promised. The walking trails were busy with couples and families and the pool and hottub were wonderful. Breakfast was nice and warm the next morning. They kept it very well stocked and they were busy that weekend. We had a wonderful time and will definately be back. Why stay anywhere else when you can have everything you need onsite or close by? The staff is great and it was truly a pleasure.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank Notthiscookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2007

This is the Inn, and not the Oxford Suites. They are next door, and they cost more. Yakima is a very icky place, but we wanted a wine tour package, and Oxford Inn is one of the few and affordable, so no complaints there. Very nice package. However, the hotel itself is very old, and obviously, used to allow smoking. Walls are painted over what is probably smoke stained surfaces, without cleaning them first. So, the halls had that funky old stale smell of a back room behind a speak easy. They have Videos, yes, I said videos, for rent in the lobby. Very 1995. The beds were very disappointing, with ruts so deep they are in the cravass section of beautyrest. Very common, run of the mill breakfast provided. Nothing good for you, unless biscuts and gravy and "home made" waffles is an improvement to your diet. Bad coffee. Very bad. There is a Tully's coffee downtown, and a Starbucks in a Safeway about 3 miles away. The worst for me apart from the bed was the bathroom. Bring slippers and ear plugs, and don't examine things too closely. Very nice desk staff, though. They try with what they are given, I suppose.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank myjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2007

We got a good rate from Hotels.com and booked a room onliine.

The room was OK: decent room with good mattresses and a small balcony overlooking the river. We enjoyed the pool and jacuzzi and looked forward to the continental breakfast.

As the night wore on, it got a little warm though so we went to turn on the air conditioner. It sounded like a semi-truck with rocks in the engine so we had to shut it off and sweat all night long.

Checking with the front desk we were charged $1 for toothbrushes which I figured should have been free.

We had to get up early for the continental breakfast which was a bust as it was really only a Belgian waffle stand and the line was out the lobby. Contrast to the motel we stayed at in Astoria which had Belgian waffles AND cereal, hard boiled eggs, juices of several varieties, muffins and bagels and cream cheese, yogurt and fresh fruit and on and on.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank SeattleRafael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2007

We stayed at the Oxford Inn for 2 nights in July. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The rooms were fairly clean, although it looked like they had not been vacuumed.

The rooms have patios or decks that overlook the river and the swimming pool. The pool is fairly small but very enjoyable, especially on a hot, sunny day. The continental breakfast includes make-your-own Belgian waffles!

The Yakima Greenway walking/biking path runs along the river and right alongside the hotel. It is a great place to walk in the morning and evening. A beautiful park is just a short walk from the hotel.

The hotel is a good, value hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

We also visited the Yakima Valley Museum – don’t miss the soda fountain and ice cream parlor. The Yakima Area Arboretum is beautiful. The Windy Point Winery is a short drive from Yakima and has a spectacular setting on a ridge overlooking the valley. The Essencia Artisan bakery has great bread and other treats. The farmer’s market on Sunday mornings has lots of really good local produce and baked goods.

  • Liked — location next to river
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaviesMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yakima hotels
0.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Yakima
Oxford Suites Yakima
#1 of 24 in Yakima
776 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Yakima
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Yakima Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Ahtanum Inn
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Yakima
Holiday Inn Yakima
#9 of 24 in Yakima
183 reviews
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Yakima
Days Inn Yakima
#10 of 24 in Yakima
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Inn Yakima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Inn Yakima

Property: Oxford Inn Yakima
Address: 1603 E Yakima Ave, Yakima, WA 98901-2179
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Yakima
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Yakima
#3 Family Hotel in Yakima
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yakima
#4 Business Hotel in Yakima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oxford Inn Yakima 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional has never been so affordable! Overlooking the Yakima River, enjoy easy access to Downtown Yakima and the Yakima Greenway Trail. We are pet friendly! Complimentary amenities include Breakfast Buffet featuring Belgian Waffles, High Speed WiFi, Parking, Outdoor Pool & Spa, and Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Oxford Inn Yakima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Hotel Yakima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing