We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oxford Inn Yakima

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oxford Inn Yakima
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Yakima
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Stevens, Washington, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This was my first visit. I chose the hotel because of the location near the river and biking trail, and I was not disappointed. I could walk right out my first floor room and onto the trail along the river. Very convenient.

The hotel itself is a little faded. It's not dirty, but shows its age in a couple of places (the halls, the bathroom). However, the rest of the room was terrific. Hardwood floors, tall bed with very comfortable mattress package, leather chair and ottoman, desk with convenient outlets, TV and DVD player, coffee maker and mini fridge were all appreciated.

Free Wi-Fi was a big plus and becoming more uncommon. Despite the date (early October), the pool was still open and clean and the hot tub welcomed.

The breakfast consisted of dry goods (cereal, bagels, etc.) with make-it-yourself Belgian waffles, assorted juices and coffee. The popular and unique item was peeled hard boiled eggs.

The staff was without exception pleasant and friendly. Struck up conversations with even the maintenance staff. The staff appears to take pride in the facility and kept it clean and inviting.

Because of the free breakfast and Wi-Fi, plus the terrific location, I will continue to stay here every year.

Room Tip: Rooms on the river side are best. Four floors, so plenty of opportunity for a river side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    165
    54
    17
    6
See reviews for
124
110
21
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is right on the Yakima river, and next to a paved bike/pedestrian path along the river. It is very convenient for access to downtown Yakima or to the freeway, but feels very relaxing with the sound of the river masking the traffic noise. All the rooms have balconies overlooking the river. Our room, with a king bed, was large and well-furnished. The only negative was the breakfast, which was only served until 9 o'clock, and had few choices - no good muffins or bagels.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Our room was immediately next to the bike path and river. Loved going out on our deck and seeing nothing but the river flowing by. We biked a round trip of about 20 miles on the bike path. The room was spacious and comfortable.

Room Tip: all rooms are overlooking the river. You can't lose
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fensterSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed one night during a move back to the Pac NW.

Nice room on the ground floor, right off the river trail. Comfy bed and good shower, etc. Walls were a bit thin!

We brought our dog and though we knew in advance of the $25 pet fee (per week), I still think it was pretty outrageous. Especially since they don't allow you to leave your dog unattended in the room!

Around 4 am, there were some plumbing issues next door ( which woke us up!) and the pipes backed up into our sink. Not pleasant, but fortunately no smell. We were checking out anyway, so didn't call housekeeping.

All in all, a good place to stop the night, but too expensive to bring Fido!

Room Tip: All the rooms are on the river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GreatLifeCoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We were rained out of a camping trip and needed a place to spend four nights. The Oxford Inn backs on the Yakama River and Greenway and all the rooms face the river. We stayed in a room with two queens and another with a king. All the rooms above the first floor have balconies and are spacious and clean with comfortable beds and good temperature control. The balcony was a great place to dry wet camping gear and store bikes. Breakfasts were very good and there was always coffee or fruit drinks available. The pool was next to the greenway and there were tables and chairs outside where we enjoyed takeaway dinners. The staff was very courteous and helpful

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Followthesons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

First, you need to know there is an Oxford Inn and Oxford Suite and they are nearly next to each other. There is only a fast food place that separates them. So if you get the wrong one the staff will direct you to the right one.

The hotel is next to the Yakima River and each room has a view of it. It is also right next to a walking trail that goes along the river (which may or may not be a good thing depending on any crime in the area). The staff is friendly and helpful.

When we walked into the room there was a smell. I don't know what it was but once I opened up the windows it seem to be better. I didn't bother the staff about it because I was only going to be there for one night.

However, the only restaurant that is within walking distance is a fast food place. If that doesn't suit you then you will have to drive someplace else. The price you pay for the room may not be worth the price you pay in gas for finding a place to eat. There are limited number of places to eat along Yakima Ave especially if you don't know the area well.

Breakfast was okay and choices are limited for the type of buffet it offers.

The room was good and enjoyed sleeping there. It just wasn't my first choice of a place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StickyGlue62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABERDEEN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This is a great place to stay. I stayed here on business and the staff are friendly, everything is clean and the breakfast was good. This Inn is right on the river and you have a walking path or a nice run. It was quiet and I slept really good in the bed. Family friendly and the pool was small and secure. The location is easy to find.

Room Tip: I just asked for a quiet room and I faced the river. It was a nice view and I would recommend it, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CINDY T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yakima hotels
0.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Yakima
Oxford Suites Yakima
#1 of 24 in Yakima
4.5 of 5 stars 626 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Yakima
Holiday Inn Yakima
#5 of 24 in Yakima
4.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Yakima
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ledgestone Hotel Yakima
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Yakima
Days Inn Yakima
#7 of 24 in Yakima
3.5 of 5 stars 376 reviews
3.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#11 of 24 in Yakima
4.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Inn Yakima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Inn Yakima

Property: Oxford Inn Yakima
Address: 1603 E Yakima Ave, Yakima, WA 98901-2179
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Yakima
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Yakima
#3 Family Hotel in Yakima
#4 Business Hotel in Yakima
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yakima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oxford Inn Yakima 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional has never been so affordable! Overlooking the Yakima River, enjoy easy access to Downtown Yakima and the Yakima Greenway Trail. We are pet friendly! Complimentary amenities include Breakfast Buffet featuring Belgian Waffles, High Speed WiFi, Parking, Outdoor Pool & Spa, and Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Oxford Inn Yakima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Hotel Yakima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing