We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to stay in Yakima” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oxford Inn Yakima

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oxford Inn Yakima
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Yakima
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Yakima”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

My sister and I have travelled to Yakima for the last several summers. We have tried a number hotels, all were okay, but none of which were particularly satisfying. In 2008 we found Oxford Inn and now we won't consider staying anyplace else. The rooms are clean and large, all rooms have a refrigerator (important to keep all that yummy Yakima produce fresh!), the staff is excellent and all rooms overlook the Yakima River. We keep the balconey door open all night and fall asleep to the sound of the river. It's the best place to stay!

Room Tip: We ask for a room on the 3rd or 4th floor so we can keep the balconey door open and listen to the ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    189
    67
    20
    6
See reviews for
146
128
26
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edmonds, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We had a family reunion last weekend with 17 family members renting 7 rooms for 3 days. We held two fun dinners on the patio by the pool and Grace Chin, the person working the front desk at the time, was just wonderful to help us with our dinners - we needed forks and plates, she made them available. On the second night we brought in Costso roasted chicken, but needed a sharp knife to cut them up (the little plastic knife just did not cut it). Grace got us a nice carving knife and even a small cutting board. And best of all, she was always chearful with a big smile to greet our next request for help.

Jim Cook

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newman Lake, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

We have stayed at the Oxford Inn in Yakima several times now. It's wonderful. The staff is friendly, knowledgeable and very accommodating. Our room is clean and comfortable with a balcony off of it where we can see the river going by. A nice breakfast every morning, and a swim in the pool at night. A restaurant within walking distance, a Burger King close by and Wal-Mart across the road. It has made our working trips much easier. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

The moment we walked in Clemncia made us feel welcomed with her smile and sense of humor. Check in was easy and she gave us information on how to get started on our wine tasting trip. We even received a free wine bag, glasses, and bottle opener for our wine tasting adventure. The rooms were clean, comfortabe, and nice. We had a very quiet and restful sleep. The bed was very comfortable. Our window view was of the Yakima River. Continental breakfast was great and the belgin waffles were mighty tasty. Staff was very friendly and smiled and said hi as they walked by. Outdoor pool and hot tub, we did not get to use, but looked very clean, well kept, and inviting. I would hightly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Yakima.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannette N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montesano
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We spent two nights at Oxford Inn when we stayed in Yakima for a wedding. We had room 310. The room was clean and the beds were soft. The air conditioner worked well and kept us cool during the 90 + degree weather. My daughter tried the pool out and liked it. The housekeeping staff was friendly and accommodating. When we noticed an issue with the door, the front desk notified maintenance right away and they repaired it within a half of an hour. The only negative was when we arrived at 10:00 pm we had to wait for the front desk; he was on his break. I guess that is understandable since he was the only one on duty.
Overall, it was a good experience and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Montesanomamajc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Washington
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We pulled in here in the evening without reservations and got a room for $89. I thought the price was good. We had a room on the 3rd floor looking out at the Yakima River and the pool and hot tub. The bed was very comfortable. And had nice updated bedding. The room needed an update, the walls are thin and I could here the people in the room next to us and their TV going. The bathroom had a huge walk in tiled shower, I think it must have been a handi cap room, as it had a shower nozzle on a sliding bar. The front staff was very friendly upon check in. Their complimentary breakfast was sparse. They had bananas, apples, cold cereal, bagels to toast and juice and coffee. Maybe a couple other things, it could be revamped a bit. We grabbed a cup of coffed and headed up the freeway. For the money the place is okay, and I like that it is away from downtown.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed in room 150, it was on the first floor (wood floors in our room) at the end of the building - good room location, close enough to the ice-maker, which is very loud (Rm. 139) and easy parking lot access. All the rooms have sliding glass doors (our screen door was broken/bent and hard to slide) to a patio/balcony (enjoy the yard and pool access and stay on the 1st floor if you have kids). This hotel would be so much better if they replaced the old school drapes, mirrors, shower curtains, etc -- which I think they MIGHT be in the process of.... the hallway carpet was so gross that it left a bad taste in my mouth and gives the hotel a bit of a "smell". The landscaping leaves a lot to be desired and if you want privacy on your back patio, get a room on an upper floor b/c there is no separation on the first level, but no one was out when we were (every morning from 7:30 - 9). My kids enjoyed the pool but said the pool drain was really dirty - gross, and the lounge chairs were uncomfortable. The smoke alarms went off in the hall at 5am one morning - not a nice way to wake up -- no apologies or compensations were offered. The breakfast was okay and the service staff left something to be desired -cranky at night, nice in the daytime. I'm not saying it is a bad option, just don't expect too much!

Room Tip: Stay on the first floor if you want access to the back yard. Stay upstairs if you want more privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LBell206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternTrvlr, Manager at Oxford Inn Yakima, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post a review. We are truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and will follow up with our team on the specific issues you addressed. You are correct that we are in the process of making some improvements. Should you visit Yakima again in the future, you may find that you would be more comfortable at our sister hotel, the Oxford Suites Yakima, which is a 3 diamond hotel with the corresponding levels of amenities. Thanks again for your feedback. We hope to have another opportunity to serve your lodging needs in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yakima hotels
0.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Yakima
Oxford Suites Yakima
#1 of 24 in Yakima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ledgestone Hotel Yakima
Ledgestone Hotel Yakima
#11 of 24 in Yakima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Yakima
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Yakima
Days Inn Yakima
#10 of 24 in Yakima
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yakima Hotel
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Yakima
Holiday Inn Yakima
#8 of 24 in Yakima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Inn Yakima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Inn Yakima

Property: Oxford Inn Yakima
Address: 1603 E Yakima Avenue, Yakima, WA 98901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Yakima
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Yakima
#3 Family Hotel in Yakima
#4 Business Hotel in Yakima
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yakima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oxford Inn Yakima 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional has never been so affordable! Overlooking the Yakima River, enjoy easy access to Downtown Yakima and the Yakima Greenway Trail. We are pet friendly! Complimentary amenities include Breakfast Buffet featuring Belgian Waffles, High Speed WiFi, Parking, Outdoor Pool & Spa, and Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Oxford Inn Yakima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Hotel Yakima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing